We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed December 25, 2010

the hotel is good for leisure but business people. the conference facilities are not up to what is required.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fezaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your feedback. We will be more than happy to discuss with you your experience in order to be able to upgrade our services. Therefore, would appreciate contacting us via the following e-mail address : customerservice00386@sheraton.com

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards.

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

My main complaint about the Sheraton in Cairo is that the service was either a little lacking or much too aggressive.
1) The reception barely let us finish a sentence the moment he found out we weren't checking and referred us to the concierge when the concierge had people in line (and the receptionist did not).
2) We ordered breakfast boxes to take with us in the morning, requesting no dairy, and asked for a cup of coffee to drink at the hotel before we left. This was all done by our guide, in Arabic, so I have trouble understanding why 1) there was cheese and yogurt in the breakfast) and 2) we had to pester then for the coffee. A word of advice: breakfasts at the hotel are very nice, but the breakfast box is rather dinky so given any choice, eat at the hotel!
3) Maybe the bellhop was being friendly/excited, but he barged straight into our rooms and proceeded to show us around and wouldn't leave until we paid him. Seriously, we would've rather paid him in not to barge in.

We had a suite, which was nice and big and had a great view of the Nile and city outside both of the balconies. The furnishings are maintained, but clearly old and in need of an upgrade.

The best part of our very brief stay was the Sapporo Teppanyaki restaurant. I didn't know what to expect, but the portions were much larger than I would've expected, the service was good, and definitely a good meal.

Overall, I would not the hotel because of the problems with the service.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalikoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

First, let me thank you for your positive feedback on the suite view as well as the Sapporo Restaurant. It is really a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your meal at the Teppanyaki restaurant.

With regards to your comments on the other services, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience encountered and would appreciate contacting us on the following e-mail address customerservice00386@sheraton.com as we are very keen to discuss with you your experience in details.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your feedback.

Best regards.

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

One thing about Sheraton is its location. It is right along the nile river and walking distance (10-15 min.) to egypt museum. The pyramids of giza are 30 min taxi ride from hotel. Citadel is about 20 min taxi ride from hotel.

Regarding the hotel, the rooms and washrooms are very big and clean. THe rooms are kind of old, but then again, the entire city is! The rooms come with a big balcony with a stunning view of the nile. Each guest gets a complementary tea or coffee per day, but they will charge you a delivery fee of 5 pounds (less than a buck american). But, its well worth it becuase its cheaper than going out and buying a coffee or tea from another store. The food in the hotel is very expensive. Well, for me it was. But, there are many restaurants walking distance. You will always find taxis outside all day and night. One thing to remember is that The hotel's taxi service to the airport is too expensive. You can taxi it from the airport to the hotel anywhere between 75-100 egypt pounds. The airport shuttle is around 90 pounds. From the hotel to the airport, there are many taxis outside that will take you for 100 pounds. Negotiate with the taxi guys!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taro_baap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

It is really a great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino and that you liked the central location of the Hotel overlooking the Nile.

May I seize this chance to thank you for sharing with us your valuable experience and hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you at our Hotel.

Best regards.

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

After a full day of sightseeing it was nice to come back to a clean, warm (went there in winter) and spacious room with a nice view of Zamalek island. The room was cleaned daily & tea as well as coffee was replenished however, it would have been nice if the hotel could have provided complimentary bottles of water. Double glazing or sound proofing of windows would have helped as traffic in Cairo is very noisy. This hotel is in a good location just a short taxi ride to the Egyptian museum. Staff were very helpful, in particular the concierge who was able to book first class train tickets to Alexandria for us on such a short notice. Also, Egypt Air ticketing office in this hotel were very efficient in booking & issuing our tickets to Luxor. Buffet breakfast was awesome they always had something different on the hot buffet each morning. The pastry buffet was amazing there were at least 20 different types of pastries, danishes and croissants with all kinds of fillings.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers &Casino came to your liking.

We appreciate that the Central Location of our Hotel in down town Cairo, came to your expectations, also we have put into our utmost concern all the comments you provided on your review on Trip Advisor; about our Staff in general, and our Concierge Department Team, who were taking care of your travel plan to Alexandria.

With regards, to our Pastry Buffet we really take pride of your positive comments, and we assure your good self that on your next visit it is definitely going to be even more better.

Awaiting to welcoming you once more at Sheraton Cairo.

Thank you & best regards,

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Sheraton! The service was great and everyone was so friendly. Rooms were nice and very quiet. We enjoyed the large balcony overlooking the Nile and the swimming pool. Whenever we needed to go somewhere the bellman was so helpful in finding us a driver and negotiating the price for us. He also went above and beyond to go to the bank for us to change money so that we didn't have to go back in. The Japaneses restaurant near the lobby (I forget the name) was so good. The chicken was the best I've tasted in a long time!

Overall, good hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino met your expectations with regards to; the location on the Nile, the positive attitude of our staff, especially the Bellmen.

Moreover, it is a great pleasure to learn that the quality & taste of our food and the great cuisine & atmosphere of our Japanese Restaurant “Sapporo” came up to your entire satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again to the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed at the hotel on a short trip with my Father during a tour of the ancient sites. Very good spacious room with all the amenaties one would expect in a five star city centre hotel. Clean and well maintained with a spacious balcony overlooking the Nile and a view of the Pyramids in the distance.

The breakfast buffet was poor by any reasonable international standard. Probably because one tower of the hotel was closed for refurbishment and I suspect that breakfast was being served in a temporary location. Overall the public rooms, though clean and reasonably appointed were lifeless and uninspiring.

We ate one evening meal in the hotel and that was equally underwhelming.

As a base for a one or two night business trip this hotel would be fine but did not represent good value for money for a three night leisure stay and fell well short of the standard one would expect of the Sheraton group

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahitche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino for your recent stay in Cairo where you had the opportunity to explore the ancient sites of Egypt. It is a pleasure that the location & spaciousness of our hotel came to your liking.

With regards to your comment on the buffet breakfast, I would like to clarify to you that our buffet breakfast is an international buffet distinguished by special varieties of food items; American, continental and oriental, that can fulfill all tastes.

Also, I would like to assure you that we have taken all other comments into our consideration to better our services.

Waiting to welcoming you once again at the Sheraton Cairo and rest assured that our property is a great venue for both business & leisure travelers.

Best regards.

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights when visiting a friend getting married in Egypt. Overall I was satisfied with my stay since I booked this hotel on a prepaid, no-cancellation promotion, so I paid about $130 usd per night per room which I considered a good deal after looking at other hotels in the same area for that time.

Hotel has two towers: cleopatra and nafertiti. Stayed in the nafertiti tower in the 16th or 24th floor (??? now I dont recall for sure the exact floor, stayed in too many hotels, but it is the one reserved for Starwod Members) with a view of the Nile river....great view especially at night with all the lights and less pollution. Given that we were in a high floor, never heard any noise....

LOCATION:
- Very good location if you want to be close to the Nile River and the Giza area (drive to the pyramids was about 30-40 minutes).
- Hotel is right by the Nile river and you can get a nice view of the river and area if on higher floor.
- However, if you want to be close to downtown Cairo, Heliapolis, or airport, it is quite far and the only way to get around is by car, with the drive being close to one hour. Keep in mind that Cairo is extremely traffic jammed and driving for one hour can be very stressful not to say unpleasant....

SERVICE:
- have no complaints about service....check-in and check-out were very fast and concierge was very helpful on all three times that we approached them for info

ROOM SERVICE:
- no issues with the service itself but the food was quite bland, overpriced and not sure very authentic....
- stay away from the mini-bar....water was priced at 16 egyption pounds and on our first night we were too tired to go outside to buy from outside.....turns out it sells for around 1 egyption pound accross the street...same size and brand

ROOM:
- This is what made our stay....room was large and clean, well appointed, washroom was clean and large....beds were amazing!!! Had the best sleep ever and they had different options in pillows and bedding was of good quality


OTHER:
- Hotel is quite big and decorated in a bit old-fashioned, but everything looked well kept.
- Hotel has a pool and gym but never used them so cannot comment
- Hotel has a salon where my friends and I had a manicure and pedicure....STAY AWAY from the salon.....terrible mani pedi for 200 egyption pounts each person.....terrible, both individuals doing work clearly did not know how to apply polish and I'm not sure how clean the instruments were.....took three different people to do the work...and they were being stingy with acetone....had only one small bottle to be shared between the two individuals doing work.....stay away!
NOTE: also saw two different guests doing their hair and could tell they were neither impressed or happy with the final job
- Lots of security when coming in and out of hotel....your belongins have to be scanned everytime but I supposed that is common in cairo and many hotels. Felt very safe once inside.
- Always cabs outside of hotel waiting for guests.....some are actualy very annoying and will honk at you until you get in or follow you for a block.....overpriced, suggest you hire a driver ahead of time or walk to next block and get a cab or insist on turning on the meter....taxis in cairo are extremely cheap and if you ask for a metered ride, should be very reasonable.....dont let them try to convince you to take a flat rate (unless you hired a driver and guide , but if it is simply for a short ride, ask for meter)

- Hired a driver for 2 days to take us to pyramids, Khall Allilli (sp?) market, Egyption museum, pyramids...etc, Went with a company called BlueCab....search it in the forums, you will find it....was very happy with it....professional and punctual....too bad the driver was not fluent in english but otherwise was okay with service

OVERALL, I was satisfied with the hotel,....mostly because the beds were so comfortable and got great night sleep....If I ever went back, not sure if I would stay again in this hotel mostly because it is not very close to downtown cairo...(it is very close to pyramids and egyption museum and right by the nile river)....perhaps if I got a good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSRESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure that you have had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino.

We really appreciate your positive comments about the location, service, & rooms. Nothing is more rewarding than learning that we have succeeded in reaching our Guests’ utmost satisfaction.

With reference to the Beauty Salon; it is not managed by the hotel, but leased as a second party, but rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the Salon’s Manager to be remedied.

Hoping that you will give us another opportunity to host at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, we remain,

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
6.4 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,645 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 El Galaa Sq. Dokki, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Giza
#10 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $122 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Closed For Renovations Until April 30, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers Hotel Giza
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers And Casino
Cairo Sheraton
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing