We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, great location, fantastic breakfasts, fast and free internet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Giza
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great views, great location, fantastic breakfasts, fast and free internet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

This Sheraton overlooks the Nile and is just over the bridge (walking) from downtown Cairo, very near the Cairo Tower. Modern, clean, with great rooms and great restaurants. It is walking distance to many Cairo sites, and easy walk across the street to the corniche - very important!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino for your latest stay in Cairo.

It is a great honor that you have enjoyed our Nile View location, the cleanliness, the rooms standard, and Restaurants.

Awaiting to welcome you once again at our property and rest assured that we will do our utmost to make your coming stays even more enjoyable.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    138
    65
    25
    21
See reviews for
51
112
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed at the Cairo Sheraton from the 4th to the 7th November on holiday from London. We arrived around 1:30am on the first night, were checked in quickly and given a room on the 18th floor, which was spacious, reasonably clean and had a nice view of the Nile.

However, around 9am the next morning we were woken by the sound of construction going on within the building, apparently above us. After complaining, we were (a couple of hours later) moved to a room on the 15th floor, where we were assured that we would not hear the construction. You can see where this is going, right? So the next morning, we were woken again by the construction, so quickly departed the room and got on with breakfast/sightseeing. We returned to the room around 6pm that evening then, a short while later, this awful screeching, metallic noise started, seemingly in the hallway, which was pretty unbearable. We left the room and found that maintenance was going on in one of the lift shafts, so again, more complaining to the Duty Manager, who gave us free breakfast as compensation.

While the service was very friendly it wasn't overly efficient. We were also told by several different memebers of staff that there was no construction taking place within the building, which was blatantly untrue.

The location is pretty good - its very close to Cairo Tower and Opera House, as well as the Zamalek area with lots of nice restaurants, shops, bars etc.

A personal gripe - the swimming pool, while big, has been designed in a way where, at least at this time of year, sunlight reaches only a very small portion of it throughout the day. The women's jacuzzi was empty (under maintenance) and my partner was told that he could not use the men's jacuzzi without paying a surcharge, which we later found out shouldn't be charged to the hotel guests.

Overall, the hotel is nowhere near '5 star' status, which wouldn't be so bad, if the construction noise hadn't been so intrusive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

I have just returned from Egypt and I must record here my dissatisfaction with this hotel. It was too bad! This is a Sheraton hotel?

It makes no sense that a rundown and in bad condition hotel practice prices as 5 star hotel!

ROOMS: The room was apparently clean but when I’ve decided to use a glass to drink some water, it was covered with dust! As for sleeping in this hotel is almost impossible! The doors and windows do not close properly and therefore do not properly isolate the sound of the infernal traffic in Cairo by night. To complicate things at 9am some workers began pounding in an area near the room. When I communicated this situation to the reception they said that would solve the problems but I did not see any results.

RESTAURANTS: too weak for a 5-star hotel. At one dinner the pasta was not completely cooked and the rice seemed gum.

It was too bad and will never return to this Sheraton! I know the Sheraton hotels in Portugal and they are 100 times better and 50% cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisOthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giza hotels

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton Cairo for four nights with our 8-year old (2 nights at the start of our trip, then 2 more nights a week later). Our arrival was a little unnerving because our van had to stop outside of the hotel while a bomb-sniffing dog inspected it, then we had to walk through metal detectors to get in. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel provided a roll-away bed for our son. We were given a room on the 3rd floor of the Nefertiti Tower. I had read reviews about requesting a higher floor, so I did. But, the hotel said they wanted to keep us in the Nefertiti Tower since it had been recently renovated and they didn't have any more of the same room type higher up. Our room had a side view of the Nile and overlooked a traffic circle. We heard a constant stream of horn honking the entire stay. We had brought a sound machine and turned up the fan in the room to try to drown out the noise, but it was very difficult. When we checked out the first time, I had asked them to note on our reservation in a week to put us on a higher floor. When we returned, we were given the exact same room (303) and since we arrived around 2:30 in the morning, they didn't have anything else to give us. It turns out no note was made on our second reservation. So, we dealt with the noise for 2 more nights. The hotel breakfast buffet was very large and had a good sampling of food. We ordered room service a few times and that was good, although twice my husband ordered a burger plan and clarified just meat and bread (making sure the person fully understood the request), and it still arrived with mayo and lettuce and tomato. We went to the hotel pool once, but there was so much street noise and construction noise, it wasn't very relaxing. My son is a good swimmer, but the person at the pool would not allow him to go out of the 3-foot area of the pool. He was frustrated, so we only stayed about 15 minutes because he wasn't having any fun. The internet service was expensive, so we waited until we were in other parts of the country to access the internet. Overall, it's a nice hotel to stay for the night. The food is good, but be careful of making any special requests. And be sure to insist on a room on a high floor to avoid the street noise if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glopeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Glad to learn that your family & good self enjoyed your recent stay at the Sheraton Cairo.

We appreciate your feedback on the quality of food, however, with regards to your other comments please be informed that we have taken the necessary corrective measures to avoid the repetition of such shortfalls in the future.

Concerning your comment about the internet; I would like to highlight that we have a new program “Link@ Sheraton”, which allows the guest to stay connected with his family and friends for 45 Minutes free of charge by using an access code through the reception desk. “Link @ Sheraton” area is located in the Lobby where the guest can use this facility in case he needs to use the internet for a short duration.

Moreover, I would like to clarify that we have 2 Pools; one for Adults, whereby children under 16Years are not allowed to use this pool unless they are accompanied by their parents into the pool, however, the other pool is assigned for children. Please rest assured that these procedures are strictly applied for the safety & well being of our Guests.

Hoping that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you once again, where we will do our utmost to make your coming stay up to your expectations.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

The Sheraton offers everything you'd expect from a world-class hotel - big room with nice balcony, very clean, king-size bed, efficient staff. We felt safe and comfortable here during out stay in Cairo.

Note that some rooms permit smoking, so make sure to reserve a non-smoking room if that's what you want.

The breakfast buffet left a little to be desired (stale pastries, mushy apples, bland eggs, etc), especially for the price ($22).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino for your recent stay in Cairo.

It is a great pleasure to know that the Room Standards and performance of our staff were up to your expectations.

As to the Breakfast Buffet; I would like to assure you that all items are always fresh and in a good condition as our buffet is regularly checked by our Director of Hygiene. However, we have put your comments into our consideration in order to better our services.

We assure you that on your next visit you will find a vast difference.

Awaiting to welcome you once more at the Sheraton Cairo.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here for the last four days of an eight day trip. We booked a special rate online before our visit and when we checked in we were happy to be given an upgrade to a non-smoking club floor. The room was nicely appointed, clean and had a partial view of the Nile. Although our first impression was that it was a bit cold and impersonal I find that in all the five star hotels. You know the kind of place; lots of marble, large open and impersonal spaces, staff wearing fancy uniforms and a feeling that the place is just not very personable.

At the front desk the staff was, however, very helpful and even though we arrived at 10:00 am hoping we could just store our suitcases and go exploring the front desk person called housekeeping and put a rush on our room. We were in our room in about half an hour and the bellman delivered our luggage almost as soon as we walked into the room.

Although we didn't get water the first day we did get two bottles of water and an English language newspaper delivered to our room every day.

Our only problem was that we ate in the restaurant on the first floor the first evening and we both got sick from the Mezzeh. While it wasn't debilitating we did suffer from stomach cramps and other effects for the next couple of days. Fortunately we had brought Imodium which helped. We had hoped to hire a limo or cab for an all day trip to Saqqara or other locations outside the city but our stomach ailments prevented us from straying too far from clean washrooms and similar amenities.

The hotel is on the bank of the Nile and it is an easy walk, once you've become used to crossing the streets in Cairo and walking on the streets instead of the sidewalks, to Zamalek, the Egyptian Museum, downtown, Garden City, the Cairo Zoo and other attractions.

The hotel has two towers and one is being completely gutted and renovated. It is noisy but all of Cairo is noisy. The in room safe is too small for a large laptop and there are no storage facilities at the front desk. There is free Internet at kiosks on the first floor. Guests get 45 minutes free each day. Internet access is available in your room but it is expensive. There is a cafe in the ground floor lobby of the Nefertiti tower (the tower not being renovated) that serves coffee, desserts and baked goods. As with all major hotels there is a bank in the lobby and the exchange rates are much better than Canadian banks and way better than at the airport. The king size bed was comfortable and the flat screen TV offered a decent selection of channels. We could see the pyramids from our room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the performance of our staff as well as the Hotel aspects.

We are very happy to know that you like the location of our Hotel. We are definitely lucky that our Hotel is located in a distinguished central area in down town that gives our guest the chance to visit all sight seeing areas.

With regards to the other comments, please feel free to contact us via the following e-mail address customerservice00386@sheraton.com to discuss your experience in details.

Hoping that you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino during your next visit to Egypt.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

After reading various reviews of this hotel, I was not particularly looking forward to staying there, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were very friendly and obliging.We ate in the Sapphoro Restaurant on our first night and it was so good that we returned on our second night.Breakfast was also very good, with a varied selection of foods, although some were not always to our tastes(beef bacon, for example).We were given bottles of water for every day of our stay, which saved us having to pay mini-bar prices. All in all, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_parkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

It is a great delight that your stay at the Sheraton Cairo was a most pleasant one.

Nothing is more rewarding than learning that all Hotel aspects; cleanliness, food quality, service and staff performance were up to standard and met with your entire satisfaction.

Thanking you for recommending our hotel to your friends and acquaintances and looking forward to welcoming you once again to the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
1.1 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 El Galaa Sq. Dokki, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Giza
#12 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Closed For Renovations Until April 30, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers Hotel Giza
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers And Casino
Cairo Sheraton
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing