We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building.. OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Giza
wassenaar
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great building.. OK hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For the first time, I arrived Cairo without a hotel reservation. At the airport, I made a reservation from a tourist office at Shephard Hotel for $120 per night. I proceeded to the hotel with the office representative in their car and when we arrived, he surprised me with asking for the total cost of the hotel in cash which I didn't have. Therefor, the whole thing was cancelled and the hotel wanted $230 per night which I found a bit crazy. I entered the business center and made a reservation at Cairo Sheraton Hotel and Tower from their web site.
The Hotel is two large towers with over 30 story each. It is a huge hotel with several restaurants and there are shops and duty free in the same building. It was a good hotel but the service wasn't good and thought that the potential of the hotel is more than it is now. I also was bothered by the security people who are at the main entrance because they were asking for tips all the time. I found out that using the side entrance was much better either to avoid the annoying security people or also to walk by the nile river or to get a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback you were so kind to give on your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel and it is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please rest assured that all your comments have been put into our consideration for improvement in the future, knowing that the Hotel is actually closed for complete renovation which will be finalized by the 4th quarter of 2013.

Hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel after the completion of the renovation and I am sure you will notice a vast difference.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    140
    66
    25
    21
See reviews for
53
113
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I was there last Jan, really nice hotel, heart of cairo, all what you want near you, nile near you and you lucky if your room nile view, and new tower bulding, breckfast 1st floor near nile :) but he should to be better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you after completing the renovation project and the re-opening of the Hotel by the 4th quarter.

Please rest assured of our care and attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Cairo is a city full of history and turmoil. Although we had booked a return stay on our way back thru, we elected to stay somewhere else. As a Starwood's guest, we were both upgraded which was nice, but not nice enough. Interesting architecture, but not as up to date or clean as we would like. The concierge room was great, but small. There was a great deal of renovation and I would confirm that it was all completed.

Room Tip: Choose the Nile side. You can see the two photos. Hopefully, they have renovated the rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruces4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino. With regards to the other comments, please be informed that the Hotel is actually under renovation which will be completed by the end of the 3rd quarter. We will be more than happy to welcome you at our Hotel after the completion of the renovation and you will perceive the difference in all Hotel aspects.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the third time but i have to admit that our first stay was much much better that last one, We booked a special offer - stay 2 night get the third one free which is non refundable . By the time taxes had been added we had paid the same for 3 nights anyway - check this out if you come across similar offer. A whole series of catastrophes ensued. After booking I noticed that my booking had been cancelled. I had to make a number of phone calls from the UK to Cairo to find out why. Apparently the hotel's system would not accept my card yet this was the same card used to book the flights. Mr Ahmed Amr finally resolved the matter for us but only after racking up a hefty phone bill.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were disappointed not to get a Nile view room but a side nile view overlooking the traffic. We were also on the 17th floor but this gave us some good views over the city and removed us from the noise of the traffic (which is relentless). We then noticed they no longer provided a kettle in the room which we had had on previous 2 visits. Not a biggy but inconvenient to have to phone room service everytime you want a cup of tea.

The room was nice - the balcony was very dirty but with the amount of pollution eminating from the city not surprising. Breakfast was not included in this offer which again was a shame but the prices to eat breakfast in the hotel was very expensive so we ate out.

The real trouble came after we left Cairo to travel back to Luxor. I noticed my iPhone charger was missing and thought i may have left it in the hotel. However, I remeber checking every corner of the room before leaving. My wife then noticed other items missing such as a Flip video camera, spare batteries for the Flip and some cables. We phoned the hotel to see if the items had been found in the room. We were told the duty manager wasn't in work so we had to phone back. We phoned back to be told that the housekeeprs had found them but the housekeeping manager was off duty and he had the keys to the safe - we were asked to phone back again later. We phoned again and then we were asked to send a fax stating that we would be sending someone to pick up the items for us (luckily we had friends who were in Cairo and returning to Luxor a few days later).

Upon reflection and also looking at photo's we took in the room, our items had gone missing at some point prior to us checking out. We have been told by Egyptian friends working in the hotel business that it is common practice for housekeeping staff to take items and keep them in the hope that they aren't noticed as missing - once they have been in the hotel for 3 months the items become the property of those that find them.

As a night manager in a hotel in England I was shockedd to be told that the duty manager would take keys for the safe away with him and that no other staff have access to the safe. The expectation was for us to work around their convenience and not the other way around. Really shoddy customer service and a very very different experience to my 2 previous visits.

We were later told that the Sheraton was about to close for refurbishment and was n the process of being closed down. The hotel is so well located - that being the main reason why we were return visitors. However next time we will be looking at somewhere else to stay in Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view room and higher floor room far from the traffice noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peternagy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have reviewed with great concern your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel and I am really distressed to learn about this misfortune. In this concern, we need more information about your stay i.e. date of your stay, room number, your name… in order to be able to conduct an investigation with all concerned and take the necessary action accordingly.

Please feel free to contact me via my e-mail address sameh.abdelwahab@sheraton.com to tackle your experience in details.

Waiting your reply.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giza hotels

virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is the first international brand hotel I've stayed at where we actually lost power! For some unexplainable reason, the power would cut on and off in the entire hotel the few nights we stayed here. Never would have expected this to happen in a Sheraton. The hotel facility itself and the rooms and showers were fine. (November 2009)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VALovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have read with great concern your review regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino and would like to apologize for any inconvenience encountered. Meanwhile, I would like to clarify to you that the electricity cut off was due to a cut in the main cable of the Electricity Authority which is totally beyond our control.

Thank you for your positive comment on the Hotel Facility.

Hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino after completing the renovation and re-opening the Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tula, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Overall a good location,pleasant staff,good choice of food and value for money,will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel and looking forward to welcoming you once again after the completion of the renovation which will be finalized by the 4th quarter of 2013.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ive been to many Sheraton, but I think this was the worst. Everything looks old, it felt like an abandoned building even... dusty, dilapidated, worn out.

Room was ok, as we got upgraded into the suite. The view was spectacular (we got a corner suite which faces the nile river and the city).

Theres probably better hotels in the area...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have read with great concern your comments related to your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel and would like to inform you that the Hotel is actually closed for complete renovation which will be finalized by the 4th quarter of 2013. We have taken this decision for the well fare of our guests and their satisfaction.

Hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you at the Hotel after the completion of the renovation and I am sure you will notice a great difference.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 El Galaa Sq. Dokki, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Giza
#11 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Closed For Renovations Until April 30, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers And Casino
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers Hotel Giza
Cairo Sheraton
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing