We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hang on in there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Giza
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“hang on in there!”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Staying as one of the first groups after the Revolution we were a bit apprehensive but all was well.
Cairo is noticeably quiet at the moment but all the better to see the sights and get a sun bed!!
This is an elegant, clean and friendly hotel. We had a shady terrace with relaxing chairs which led into pretty gardens and a room which seemed huge after the cruise ship cabin.
The food was really good. tea and coffee in the room.
Everyone was cheerful and helpful despite the fact that they must be anxious for their jobs and I truly wish them well in the coming months and hope that the travellers come back. This is an excellent place to stay for the pyramids and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    476
    317
    131
    83
See reviews for
333
483
148
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was staying at this hotel with a tour group to finish up our one-week trip of ancient Egypt when the protests started to escalate after Friday noon prayers. For two days we were advised not to leave the hotel, and for one day were sent to our rooms when the hotel was surrounded by looters.

Not only did much of the hotel staff stay on-site during this period, but actually armed themselves with pool cues and butcher knives to protect the hotel entrance against looters and robbers trying to hide from the Army, something which I don't think I'd see back home in the U.S.. At no time during this tense situation was the staff anything other than cheerful and helpful -- at a time when their entire country was being convulsed by a sometimes-violent revolution.

Sure, there are parts of the hotel that could use more refurbishing, but they're doing it one wing at a time. And the lobby is nice -- free Wifi, spacious, pool tables upstairs, a business center with computers for rent and a well-equipped but small gym.

I was holed up in this hotel from Thursday through Sunday during one of the most tumultuous times in the country's history. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

It is about 40-60 min by taxi to/from airport. The hotel is good. It is another hotel called Movenpick just few metres away. I used to stay in both of them. Personally, I would prefer Movenpick but the price of Mercury this time was better. So, check the price of both hotels and make your choice. I would not recommend to stay in Cairo more than 1-3 days. It is very dangerous, dirty and unfriendly City.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I visited this hotel for two nights whilst sight-seeing in Egypt. Firstly, I was travelling alone which i would not recommend for this neck of the woods!
I was a little surprised to find you have to go through airport style security to enter the hotel, but after travelling around more of Cairo found this to be the norm. When I went to check in the staff were not hugely welcoming. I was given my room key but no one showed me where my room was. It did infact turn out to be through the main hotel into the back section with the gardens! Instead a Pilot (another guest possibly!) pointed me in the right direction! Eventually when a porter noticed me wandering around looking for a lift he did offer to help! I had a garden view room which was clean but slightly dark! The highlight was the bed which was very comfortable! The breakfast buffet offered a good selection and the evening meal was tasty but not amazing! I took advantage of the free wifi available in the lobby but was a little saddened it didn't stretch to the rooms!
If you merely want a clean, safe hotel to rest your head and be close to the Pyramids this is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbacon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Lovely reception area when you come in but this impression didn't last. The first night we had a pyramid view room but it was on the edge of a busy roundabout, so we asked to be moved to a garden room the next day which was less noisy. The view of the pyramids is good apart from when there is smog, but this normally clears by midday. The rooms were not very clean, and needed repairs doing to them, broken lamp shades don't look great! No wi-fi in rooms, had to pay for lead connection. The garden and pool area were well kept and it was quite nice having a balcony above the garden. The staff were friendly apart from the ones at the breakfast buffet who seemed more interested in getting rid of people just before 10.30 when the breakfast finished. The food at the breakfast buffet was pretty poor as well, and the donuts were just bread rolls covered in icing sugar, beware!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Pez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, and just looked at it as a place to sleep. The hotel is located very close to the pyramids (can see the pyramids tops from some of the rooms). The rooms itself are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is very good with quite a bit of choice. However, the hotel is pretty far from central Cairo. It can take close to an hour to get to central Cairo in a taxi (or a combination of taxi and Metro). There isn't much to do around the hotel except visit the Pyramids.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed here for Christmas this year and thought the location was very nice for touring the pyramids. It's about a 1/2 drive from Cairo depending on traffic which can be very bad. We had a driver for the duration of our time, which I would highly recommend. The breakfast buffet was nice, they offer made to order eggs and have a good assortment of fruit and pastries.

There is also a good/inexpensive shoarma/falafal restaurant stand close by, just a few blocks down the main street. The fitness center and other ammeneties are not free.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameSame13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,542 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
6.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Property: Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
#8 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing