We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a view of the Pyramids of Giza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights.

I had emailed the hotel to organise an airport transfer from Cairo airport to the hotel, which was around an hours drive (at 1am) for 5 people. The taxi was there on arrival, and we arrived at the hotel at 2am. Check in was very easy, and we were in our rooms within 10 minutes.
The room was nicely laid out, very clean and tidy. There was a very comfortable queen sized bed, and the bathroom was very clean with a nice shower with good pressure. We had a little patio area outside our room which was really nice, with some relaxing chairs.

Breakfast in the hotel was ok, there's enough choice for anyone's breakfast (the crepes were really good), but the coffee cups could have been bigger.
We had dinner in the Romeo and Juliet restaurant, which was really nice, but they forgot to put 12GBP on our bill for the drinks, and asked us for it the next day, which I didn't particularly like.
The next day, we ate in the cafe above the bar, and had a lovely meal with drinks, and the view was stunning.

You can hear the noise of the traffic at night, but it's not that bad. Wifi is only available in the lobby, but it was a strong fast signal, as well as being free! The swimming pool area is very nice, and the gardens are very well tended and green.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, you can see the pyramids from most places in the hotel, it's amazing!

If I come back to Cairo, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

the only thing was was good in this hotel was the location and the rooms , the service was very poor and the food was normal, the swimming pool is ver small and the spa is not good the water was cold in the jaccuzi even the steam was not working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merihan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression. Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
1  Thank Judyalex12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a great stay at the Mercure Cairo le Sphinx hotel in Giza. We arrived and asked for an upgrade, we ended up in a wonderful room with pyramid view. It is one in a lifetime experience to wake up and see the pyramids right in front of you. Beware, you can hear the horns blaring at night! But it didn't bother us that much. The pool was great, and the rooftop restaurant is really nice for eating with the pyramids just across the street. The only downside was the breakfast which could be improved. Great location and good price.

Room Tip: The Deluxe pyramid view is worth the price! You don't get to wake up to the pyramids every day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_CM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy that our services were up to your expectations.

I will make the team aware of your feedback which will truly serve as an encouragement to develop and progress hence always meet with our valuable guest’s level of expectation they require from Mercure Hotel.

We hope it won't be long to make your next visit as we always long forward to welcoming you to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel.

All our best wishes to your personal and business endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Since we're staying in group, each rooms booked were given extra bed. The beds were comfy and the extra bed was large too. Wi-fi services was available at the hotel lobby only. We enjoyed playing pool together at the first floor of the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was one night when I came back late to the hotel thus I need to get the extra key to enter the room without waking up my sister. The staff helpfully assist me with the key even though it was already near 2 a.m.

The breakfast was superb and I didnt feel like being in a foreign country at all since the food was really suitable to my taste.

At was also easy to get a taxi near the hotel. We crossed the road in front of the hotel to get the taxi to Mall of Arabia in 16 October City. I wish I could go back to Cairo and stay at this hotel. This hotel hold a very memorable memory of me and my family throughout our visit to Egypt

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Raihanah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Your positive review is in fact our reward, in Mercure we always strive to continuesly develop and improve, when reading your comments, we are extremely thrilled that the hotel's team and services met with your entire satisfaction.

I will share your comments with the hotel team so that they are aware of the compliments said about them, certainley it will motivate them to keep progressing and maintain this high spirit.

We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx.

Meantime I wish you all the best in your personal and business endeavours.

Sincerely,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and the second time everything was great. The hotel looked after us very well. The food is good and the service matches. It was especially enjoyable to sit on the roof terrace in the evening enjoy a drink mane look at the pyramids.
Our room was clean and tidy and the bed very comfy so a good nights sleep guaranteed.

Room Tip: Choose a pyramid view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you very for your comments; we are happy that our services were up to your expectations.

I will make the team aware of your feedback which will truly serve as an encouragement to develop and progress hence always meet with our valuable guest’s level of expectation they require from Mercure Hotel.

We hope it won't be long to make your next visit as we always long forward to welcoming you to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel.

All our best wishes to your personal and business endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great hotel.

Room very clean, and with excellent view of pyramids and the gardens.

Breakfast very good, especially the omelettes.

Used Room Service - very prompt response.

Will stay there next time I'm in Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for room with pyramid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avio984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

It is always a thrill to get a feedback, particularly when it is positive as your experience was.

We strive everyday to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and marvelous time at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with everyone. It really means a lot to us and our team members.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.4 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
6.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $57 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing