We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sham Five Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sham Five Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent three nights at the mercure le Sphinx - its location is perfect to visit the Pyramids but a nightmare when we had to visit Cairo. Room was okay & we appreciated the fact that a electrical kettle was provided but no view at all save a blank wall & a glimpse of the Pyramid if one really craned one's neck. No market closeby & no restaurants. We had a half board plan - we had pre-paid for dinner, breakfast was complimentary. However due to lack of communication between the front desk & restaurant staff we were subjected to being frog marched to front desk by the waiter to check our package. Overall service was very lacklustre & cold. We went to check out the spa a couple of times but the attendant was missing on both occasions. We certainly will not like to repeat this experience.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rash86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Again , we are deeply sorry that you experience did not meet your expectation

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    466
    309
    129
    78
See reviews for
308
471
144
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sorry to say about their poor service right from the begining. We as a team of 10 persons stayed in 5 rooms for 3 nights; all the rooms were worn out and ill maintained; the bathrooms in 2 rooms (specially room no. 3050) were dirty with water coming out from the shower cubicle keeping the floor always wet. House keeping was pathetic; floor carpets were unclean and even the corridors were not properly maintained. Little response even after written complaint to the front desk for changing the room. No complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. The only good point is the complimentary breakfast which had a lot of choices. Its services, amenities and ambience are far from five star. My worst experience regarding stay in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calcutta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx.

We are deeply sorry that you experience did not meet your expectation , Needles to say what occurred does not adhere with our service and standards and we regret that you left the hotel with a negative impression , these occasions are far from our typical daily practices.

Please rest assured that all your comments have been shared within our top management to take the corrective actions to avoide such staff responses and handling in the future.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mercure le Sphinx during my visit to Cairo. While it sounds great to be next to the pyramids, it is not since there is nothing at all going on outside the hotel in that area since it is residential. The lack of any nightlife or food options was exasperated by the hotel closing all restaurants except one during my stay. Roof top bar closed at 8:30pm despite being supposed to stay open until 11pm. So much for that post dinner drink overlooking the pyramids that we had wanted, and also paid top dollars for.

Room was dirty with lots of dust in the corner, plus hairs stuck to the tiles in the bath room from a previous room occupant. Cleaned them all myself except one since that was disgusting. Needless to say, the one hair I didn't clean stayed on the wall for the full three nights of my stay...

Needed some help getting my bags downstairs when leaving. Called the front desk thrice, no pick up, called the duty manager twice, no pick up, called guest services, no pick up. Called front desk again, someone could finally be asked to pick up, but naturally felt it a nuisance to help a guest, but after sighing heavily could finally be convinced to send a porter.

I would discourage fellow travellers from using this hotel unless you get a heavily discounted rate.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx.

I am very concerned by the elements of your TripAdvisor review. I deelpy regret that the hotel services at the restaurant, the room condition and the luggage service were not up to your expectation.

In order for us to understand your experience further, we will be sending you a private message to obtain more details from you as for us to better address the issues of your review.

I would be very grateful if you could provide me the details of your stay, such as the name used during the booking, arrival and departure dates, as the username “Eric_Lemon" is not allowing me to recover these information. Upon receiving these information, I will be able to review and understand the elements which have created such an unsatisfactory experience for you.

At the Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

My contact details is h1789-fo@accor.com

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was good value for the price including breakfast. Free wifi in the lobby. The room was spacious and clean. Just a bit old. I had the best mango juice here. But the restaurant food was so so. Beware of the overpriced Egyptian souvenir shop in the lobby by the elevator! We inquired the price of a museum replica item, and the shop keeper asked for 10 times the price of what we paid for in the official museum store with listed prices! So even if you haggle and get 50% off, you would still be paying too much. It's a tourist trap! The prices in the papayas shop seemed more reasonable comparable to outside stores.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our rates including buffet breakfast and our restaurants' services. I was also glad to read that the room had met with your admiration and I can't ignore your liking to the Mango juice taste which the country is distinguished by.

I was concerned about the elements related to the souvenir shop in terms of overpricing, rest assure we will communicate this message to them in order to survey and stabilize their prices according to the market although the shop is not manged by the hotel but we will spare no effort to review your message with them.

We strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests.

Wishing you all the best in your personal and business endeavors.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

All things considered, the Mercure Le Sphinx is a good value. The hotel is worn, but clean. The rooms are a good size with small but comfortable beds. Bath & shower roomy but with low grade towels. I chose a garden view being concerned about the street noise. My room was very quiet & I did have a view of the Pyramids. albeit only the very top. Internet is available in the room via LAN for a charge. The free wifi in the lobby was spotty and weak in certain locations. Fortunately, the lobby has copious amounts of comfortable seating and you can get service from the bar whilst you surf.
Breakfast buffet was included in our rate. The food was good but the staff was overwhelmed: dirty tables, no glasses, empty coffee machines. Only small plates are available so plan on making several trips to the buffet. I also dined at R & J, the a la carte restaurant. It is Italian fare, but the pasta will not make them famous. I ate the filet and it was excellent and only 95 LE. Wine & beer are available and are fairly priced. Staff was friendly and usually attentive.

The pool area is nice, though you are next the the road, so expect some noise. As far as the noise, I didn't think it was any worse than Rome or other large cities. Travel time to & from the airport is about 45-90 minutes depending on the time of day.

There is a bank on premises that can change money, but only to Egyptian pounds. They will not buy back your pounds at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heisenberg787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your businesss and personal endeavours.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I took a quick trip to Egypt and fould the Mercure hotel in Giza to be an excellent choice for location, the amenities offered and the service. The hotel is very nice inside, and the restaurant, bar and pool areas very well situated, always clean and well staffed.
The breakfast buffet is very good with a wide selection and very good service. The rooms are very nice and the bed (king) was extremely comfortable.
Of particular note was the service extended to us by the assistant bar manager, Hany - an extremely friendly and outgoing man, he went out of his way to make our experience a relaxing, informative and thoroughly enjoyable one. We enjoyed friendly and courteous staff throughout the hotel, but Hany went beyond the norm to make our stay great.
The only thing I think that could improve the hotel would be wi-fi available in the rooms - and if it was included in the room price it would be all that much better. (I was told by the reception staff that free in-room internet - wired - is planned, but they were not sure about the Wi-fi).

Room Tip: The Garden view rooms (and patios) are a bit further away from the main road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 630MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We are very happy that Mercue Cairo Le Sphinx hotel and the team members were able to accommodate to your expectations.

Your beautiful words are a motiviation gear to every team member of the hotel and will encourage us to always improve and develop the quality of service we offer to our precious trusting guests.

We looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With all our best wishes to you and your family.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Of all the hotels we have stayed at in Cairo, this one was one of the best. While the pool is on the smaller side it is very deep and has an aquarium feel to it. There is a great little playground for young ones to play and the food is pretty good. It is very clean and the service is great. The view of the pyramids is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It is always a thrill to get a feedback, particularly when it is positive as your experience was.

We strive everyday to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and marvelous time at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with everyone. It really means a lot to us and our team members.

If you have a chance, please ask for myself or the manager on duty the next time you visit us so we may thank you personally.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.4 mi away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#26 of 41 in Giza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Property: Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
#10 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing