We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for the Giza pyramids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx for two nights. It's a good and functional hotel, though I would not call our stay a memorable one. Clean and comfortable rooms, decent selection of food for breakfast, fast room service. The traffic noise is a big problem in Cairo, but once we closed the terrace/balcony door it didn't bother us at all. AC is quiet. Very convenient location if you are visiting the Giza pyramids, as you can walk there. They offer a competitively priced taxi service, though we had our own driver so didn't use theirs. Staff were generally helpful and friendly.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LanaH_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your businesss and personal endeavours.

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just checked out of the Mercure Le Sphinx, having stayed 3 nights before carrying on to Luxor. On the whole, a pleasant visit; it's location out of the city centre and close to the Giza pyramids making it a good place to explore the plateau and not too far to visit Memphis as well.

We stayed in a pyramid view room, very spacious with decent furnishings and a balcony revealing views towards the pyramids. However, the view was obstructed somewhat due to the major road junction between the hotel and the pyramids. The noise at all times of the day was incessant, even at 3am, the horns of trucks, minivans, buses pierced through the doors to the balcony; people constantly shouting and engines revving as the lights change from red to green. There is obviously nothing much the hotel can do about this, but it serves to show just how close the city is to this world wonder, and consequently, how much 'awe' is taken away by being able to see it from your window, flanked by a multi-lane junction.

The quality of sleep was greatly reduced because of noise, quite frankly we've never stayed anywhere quite like it. Walking around the grounds of the hotel, I do not expect that any other room does not experience the same level of noise. Whilst the room was very nice, the shower seemed to have a hole in its base, every shower therefore creating a flood edging towards the bedroom and leaving the bath mat saturated.

The pool was pleasant enough, but this is clearly a hotel for people passing through, wanting a quick visit to Giza; and this is apparent in the buffet restaurant, particularly at breakfast which is chaotic. Food was ok, but of a very 'express' nature, the show chef cooking omelettes could easily win the Saturday Kitchen omelette challenge as it left the pan so quickly!

Check-in and check-out were fine, although we had booked on a B&B basis; on check-out the member of staff told us they had us down as Half Board, so we could have eaten in the buffet restaurant each night, instead we had opted for the Italian restaurant which was actually very nice indeed. Staff were very friendly, the lobby area comfortable. However, despite the hotel being fine in most areas, on the whole we have to rate it poorly as the point of a hotel is somewhere to sleep...this was not possible here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Four of us stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a Nile cruise, Red Sea, Cairo holiday. The initial impression of the hotel is a little disconcerting, but once inside it was fine.
Bear in mind Egypt is suffering from the results of the Revolution, so some things are in short supply. For instance, my husband found a particular beer he liked but after four cans, they had run out. Next day they had more, but only a few cans. It does seem as if there is not the money spare to put in large orders of anything, or the supplies are not available.
Similarly the part of the pool in the bar area was empty. The saxophonist needed more light as he was difficult to see. Also the terrace has an amazing view of the Pyramids but is very tatty and needs a bit of TLC.
Our room was fine, a little short on floor space. Nowhere to put the suitcases once unpacked.
Kept very clean. I noticed the ashtray but no residual cigarette smell.
Breakfast was fine with lots of choice. Similarly the buffet for dinner. The Romeo and Juliet restaurant was disappointing. Very soulless and food not particularly good. I had a mushroom and tomato risotto. No tomato and hunt for the mushrooms.
This is a well situated hotel for a trip to the Pyramids and Sphinx. Our guide also took us to the Egyptian Museum which didn't seem to take long.
All the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
BUT please bear in mind Egypt is in the middle of a politically unstable period. Consequently I'm sure things are not as good as they were pre-Revolution. But we felt very safe and very welcomed.
I'd recommend this hotel to people visiting Cairo to do the Pyramids etc.

Room Tip: A Pyramid facing room also faces the extremely busy road. A garden view is quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HighAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. I am so glad that we were able to meet your expectation .

In Mercure we aim to provide the highest quality of service to our guests as they deserve the very best.

I will share your comment with the whole team which certainly will boost and encourage them to always give their utmost efforts that might reward them with such happiness and beautiful words.

We look forward for your next visit, wishing you all the best.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It is a long and harrowing trip from the busy airport to this hotel. It is not distance so much as traffic and road condition. It is a relief to finally arrive at the curb, though the driveway is blocked off for security, so one must alight on the busy street. The initial impression is questionable as there is airport security type screening at the entrance though we observed it frequently by-passed while we had our luggage scanned.
Our check-in was mishandled and the rooms assigned did not match our request. Fortunately, the fellow in charge of assisting us to our room took the matter in hand and diligently pursued the issue until it was resolved. He did this in a positive and friendly manner and every day thereafter greeted us cheerfully and inquired as to our satisfaction. On his own, he made up for many of the deficiencies we encountered in this hotel.
The rooms are not being cleaned sufficiently (we stayed multiple nights) and the furnishings and carpets are in need of replacement. The bathrooms are adequate but need updating.
The breakfast buffet is very good with selections that should satisfy international tastes. The Romeo and Juliet restaurant was underwhelming with service and selection disappointing. The bar was staffed with very positive individuals though with limited choices. Do not expect complex cocktails though the basics are provided available.
Outside areas of the hotel are very well groomed and the pool area quite relaxing. A highlight is the balcony area that overlooks the pool. From this vantage point, the traffice and commerce of the busy intersection directly outside the hotel can be observed. This is fascinating for those who are not used to the organised mayhem of Egyptian transportation. As a bonus, the pyramids provide a poignant background.
Proximity to the pyramids is a bonus, with some rooms having a "glimpse" of these monuments from their ample balconies. For those visiting this area, would suggest that one full day may be enough in Giza, then move downtown to explore the historical sites in Cairo.
Our hope is that Mercure will recognise the potential of this property and take the appropriate measures to update and rectify the deficiencies. Our thanks to the bellman who assisted us and our hope that Mercure recognises the value of this employee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank flytdeckB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed here from 25 till 28 of March. The hotel is old but good maintained. Staff was very friendly. Our room was also very good for this price. Food was not good at all. From the beginning we have tried to book with HB but without success and we were lucky. For dinner they want something like 20 eur per person and for this price you could have a thousand time better food in local restaurants and if you want something more conservative you can go across the street to Le Meredien where for the same price dinner is at completely different level. Also a poor place is a swimming pool, they declare that it is heated, but it is not true, both our children became ill after swimming there because it was really cold. Also there is an opening hours from 9 AM but in reality they have cleaned it every morning and opened it not earlier then at 10:30 which caused a problems to go for a tours in the morning. Also egyptian beer in bottles for USD 5 in a bar is funny. This is not for sure a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: No sence of having pyramid view rooms. We have got a garden view and that was quite. The pyramid vie...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. Seemingly we were unable to meet with your expectation this time. Rest assure we are taking all steps to improve the quality of service.

Hopefully you give us another chance to better serve you in the future and restore your regard to our hotel.

Meantime, we wish you all the best in your personal and business endeavours.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our first stop in Cairo. Beds were extremely comfortable. I believe all rooms are potentially smoking and thus was a little stinky to my finicky Canadian nose. However, spotless and well maintained. The free buffet breakfast was good value, lots of tasty things to choose from. The restaurants were good, sadly almost empty due to the lack of tourism. This did not affect the options, though, the full menu was available. View of the Pyramids amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gypsygrrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your businesss and personal endeavours.

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the Hotel. The Team from the reception was super friendly , especially Hana and Sarah. This Hotel is a very nice tip for everybody for vacation and for Business. Had during my stay my Engagment in Cairo and as Hana getting knowledge from this they organized a small engagment surprise. And presentet us a delicious cake. Thanks again for this.Will come again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank hans_reil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. I am so glad that we were able to meet your expectation .

In Mercure we aim to provide the highest quality of service to our guests as they deserve the very best.

I will share your comment with the whole team which certainly will boost and encourage them to always give their utmost efforts that might reward them with such happiness and beautiful words.

We look forward for your next visit, wishing you all the best.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.4 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
6.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
#8 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $50 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing