We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a view of the Pyramids.. WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a view of the Pyramids.. WOW!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by g adventures as a 2 night stay for us. Its was in a great location near the pyramids. When you walked outside you could see them from the front doors. The hotel was clean and bright. We had a nice room with 2 queen sized comfortable beds. There was a patio door that led out to a nice balcony.
The bathroom was newer with lots of hot water and great water pressure.

I liked that the hotel had pool tables, I just wish we had the time to play while we were there.

There is not much selection for restaurants inside the hotel. Italian or buffet. I thought both were a bit pricey and lacking in Egyptian food. When I travel to other countries I want to eat the local food. There was no selection of Egyptian food. Leaving the hotel at night during the recent issues was not an option for us.
The Breakfasts were GREAT!! The Buffet was hot fresh and varied in selection. Really enjoyed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are very happy that Mercue Cairo Le Sphinx hotel and the team members were able to accommodate to your expectations.

Your beautiful words are a motiviation gear to every team member of the hotel and will encourage us to always improve and develop the quality of service we offer to our precious trusting guests.

We exert the effort to understand and identify the diversity of guest needs on daily basis to enable us to provide the best for the best.

We looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With all our best wishes to you and your family.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    473
    316
    131
    82
See reviews for
325
481
147
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wonderful view of Pyramids from our room. Hotel very clean. Our room had the most comfortable beds EVER and was kept very clean. Food was very good on the whole especially the breakfast. We were there just before Christmas and were surprised to see a Christmas tree in the lobby. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We can sleep anywhere so road noise was no problem. Most large cities have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We did not start off well at this hotel, but some if the staff did make it better a few days into the stay. My reservation could not be found, and when it finally was, I was told that I did not have a reservation. The hotel was clearly not full, however, one of the accounting staff came out to help, and then insisted that the mistake was mine when I booked online. I book travel for a living, and as such, know that these things can happen, however, I had been meticulous with this booking, and knew that I had the proper total for my entire stay, and the details, but was still told that "the mistake was yours." At that point, I asked if they had room, and if we could check in as I felt the discussion was leading no where. After some Arabic debate, they decided they would check me in, and I was told that it was a nice quiet room, and I would be very happy. This took over an hour, and then when we arrived at our room, I found that the "nice, quiet room" actually faced the street and the roof overlooking the front entrance. No view, but we didn't expect one. The room was filthy. There were stains on the carpet, hair in the bathrub and sink, no towels, floors were not washed, and the balcony had footprints on it, and since they were barefoot, I would assume from the previous guest who had the misfortune to be there before us.

The staf in the Italian Restaurant were wonderful though!!! They were very kind to my son, and they were very concerned about whether he liked the food, and if they could change it to his taste. A wonderful experience in there....

There were issues with one particuar staff member at the lounge area, but other staff members made up for this man's complete rude and arrogant attitude. I believe that he was a supervisor, however, he was condescending to staff and guests alike, which made me very uncomfortable. I don't like to see people who work hard be micromanaged, as they really were doing the best they could.

As a travel consultant, would I recommend this hotel??? Not at this point. I would however, like to applaud most the of the restaurant staff, as they were great hosts for Egypt!! Desk staff and cleaning staff though, should be a little more concerned about where they are putting their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your contructive feedback. We deeply regret the incident of your reservation matter, no doubt it could be handled in a professional way which unfortuntely did not happen.

We never encountered such trouble with reservations upon arrival although we thank you once again for taking the trouble to help us better understand your expectations.

I will convey your positive comment to Romeo & Juliet restaurant's team members for the quality of service they were able to provide that certainly will encourage them to develop and do their best.

Please be assured of our constant commitment to win your regard for our hotel and we look forward for your next visit where you may see a progession that would meet with your expecation.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

the location is good , but onsite parking is not included , you have to pay for the parking.
the staff need serious training , specially house keepers and restaurant staff.
some rooms are very small, no place for your loggage, and the rooms are lacking alot of facility for 5 stars hotel.
the price was acceptable and this is the only advantage beside its location.
I emailed to the general hotels manager and the reply was fast and productive.
this hotel needs to be refurnished seriously.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best, deeming what they expect from Mercure hotel. Therefore an intensive training plan is undergoing for the hotel team to elevate the quality of service provided in order to meet with our guests expectations.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This building was known as Sofitel Cairo in 2009. standard lobby with fast free wi-fi. Breakfast serve western food and local food with quite many selection. The pasties are excellent. Coffee machine are over capacity, the queue is long. Good value for 4 star.
Room and bathroom is quite huge, good mattress, but the interior design pretty standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying in Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel. We are glad to read your satisfaction throughout your positive feedback.

Hopefully it won't take long to see and welcome you once again where next time you may feel the difference in our hotel facilities.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thank god we did not stay here for more than one night. The only reason for the 3 stars is the location. You can see the pyramids from the roof top, but that's the only good bit.
The hotel is seriously dated and needs to renovated badly. Carpets are torn, rooms are small, stuffy and dingy. The noise is horrific. Don't count a good nights sleep.
I can see this once was a very nice hotel, but it really needs to be shut down and renovated soon.
Breakfast was good however.

Room Tip: Have no advice to help you have a better stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter please feel free to contact me

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Mercure Cairo is a great place to stay, particularly if you are a tourist in Egypt. It is far from the madding crowd of Cairo and at a breath taking distance from the great Giza Pyramids and the Sphinx. The rooms are well appointed and clean and the ones facing the pyramids gives you an aweinspiring of the pyramids. The complementary breakfast had lots to offer, the service was perfect and the lobby worth lazying around where you can use the internet for free as well.

Room Tip: Chose a room that overlooks the mighty Giza Pyramids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments, it was a pleasure serving you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
1.4 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Property: Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
#9 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing