We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Wonderful 4 days with a wonderful room overlooking a pyramid. Real plus is room service prices are the same prices as the bar prices. If you want soft drinks go out of the hotel turn down the first road on the right, first road on the right again and there is a little stall selling bottles of soft drinks for 10£E about £1.00

Food very palatable;view of the pyramids from the bar fantastic. They do do a happy hour in the bar but they don't advertise it well so do investigate.

Wi fi in the lobby very good. All in all fantastic location. This is not Cairo per se so should be safe even if there are troubles in Tahrir Square or at the presidential palace

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank offonmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truely a pleasure to serve you.

In Mercure we strive to provide our best quality of service to our guests and we are delighted that the time you spend with us was an enjoyable one.

The whole team of Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel would love to see again and again and become a regular guest.

We wish all the best in your personal and business endeavours with our best wishes of happy Christmas and new year.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very luxurious lobby with free wifi, lovely clean rooms with everything you could need. This was the first stop for our honeymoon so they gave us the best room in the place with gorgeous views of the pool and pyramids. There is a lot of traffic noise on that side but it was worth it to be so close to the pyramids. Lovely breakfast, didn't try the dinner. The Italian restaurant was lovely too. We used the hotel taxi for outings and it was great, nice clean safe cars with knowledgable drivers. Did the Memphis, Sakkarah and Giza pyramids day tour with a guide which was brilliant.
Thank you for great service!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miss_Nixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you staying in Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel. We are extremely happy to read your satisfaction throughout your positive feedback.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We take the chance to wish you and your family a new year full of happiness and may all your wishes come true.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at the Mercure Cairo. The hotel is close to the Sphinx and Giza Pyramids and far enough away from Tahrir Square for those who prefer to avoid political demonstrations. Keep in mind, though, that Giza is not Cairo and allow travel time to where ever you are going. This hotel is sorely in need of renovation. The carpets in the three rooms I stayed in are worn and, in one room, I found significant dirt on the carpet when the bed was moved a bit. It is obvious that tourism is down significantly. There were only two restaurants operating when I visited. The buffet was tolerable for breakfast but outrageously overpriced at dinner. The Italian restaurant was decent and reasonably priced.
Don't bother with the rooms with a view of the pyramids. The noise is incredible. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for a pyramid view. They are not lighted at night and the rooms are very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidATL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay.

Please be rest assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

I will convey your comment about team helpfulness to the team members, certainly it will motivate and stimulate them to always give the best service to attain guests satisfation.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice Hotel in a very good Location in front of the Pyramids
Luxurious Reception
Wide Room
The whole Hotel is overlooking the well known great Pyramids
Well coked Food
Nice Swimming Pool
Hospitality
Great Atmosphere

Room Tip: Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun Joy Travel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you staying in Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel. We are extremely happy to read your satisfaction throughout your positive feedback.

Hopefully it won't take long to see and welcome you once again.

We take the chance to wish you and your family a new year full of happiness and may all your wishes come true.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place is really family friendly! I am a real life mother of 6...ooh wee and let me tell you it was amazing with the 7th babie on its way life is hard. But come relax here at this hotel! The famous pyramids of Giza is a walking distance from the hotel and its really amazing!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise not for a loud family such as mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeytonLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We are very happy that Mercue Cairo Le Sphinx hotel and the team members were able to accommodate to your expectations.

Your beautiful words are a motiviation gear to every team member of the hotel and will encourage us to always improve and develop the quality of service we offer to our precious trusting guests.

We exert the effort to understand and identify the diversity of guest needs on daily basis to enable us to provide the best for the best.

We looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With all our best wishes to you and your family.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed there for two separate days.
One while coming from Alexandria and second while coming back from Luxor and moving towards Alexandria.
The wifi is available and it's free in the lounge not anywhere else.
The hotel is just a stone throw away from the great pyramid.
You can simply walk there from the hotel.
This means the light and sound show in the evening just opposite sphinx is also walkable.
The breakfast offers you a lot of variety.
Filafil was too good there.
I will surely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunilpmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are happy to read that your stay at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel was a pleasant one.

Despite your comment was concised however it reflects how far we were able to meet with all your requirements.

Your comment is really valuable that we do highly appreciate.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and again...

All the best

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My experience in this hotel was fairly good. The best thing about it in my opinion is that it's near the world famous Giza pyramids within a walking distance for those who like to walk. The security was too strict for my liking but is understandable in such a country like Egypt to keep away those troublemakers. The only thing I was disappointed about is the reception which was very slow and the staff were seemed a little inexperienced. I was tired and not feeling o.k. otherwise I would not have complained. Also there were trainees at the reception counter which was not helping. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Egyptians are nice people and Egypt is a great counrty, richest in the world in terms of civilization and heritage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sonofsun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience with us. Your contructive feedback is valuable to us since we merge it with our continuous keeness to provide the best quality of service to our guests.

We hope we were at the line of your expectation as we are committed to always develop and improve our services cause our guests deserve the very best.

Meantime we look forward for your next visit and certainly you will feel the value of progression.

All the best for you and your family

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 43 in Giza
1,606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 43 in Giza
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.4 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
6.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
#8 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $58 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing