We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for visiting the Pyramids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October with my husband and 2 children. The best bit about this hotel is the location as we could see the Pyramids from our room and you can have a meal outside on the rooftop restaurant at night and watch the Pyramids being lit up. We also loved watching the traffic just outside the hotel.

The hotel has a nice pool area for relaxing after sight-seeing. No complaints from us, however if we were staying longer the 1 room for 4 of us would seem too small as there is very little storage. Perfectly fine for a few nights though.

Some of the soft furnishings could do with being replaced as some of the chairs are starting to look a bit grubby but then it cant be easy to keep them clean as Giza is quite dusty and sandy.

Room Tip: Request a Pyramid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EH4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

It is always a thrill to get a feedback, particularly when it is positive as your experience was.

We strive everyday to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and marvelous time at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with everyone. It really means a lot to us and our team members.

While compliments are always appreciated, we also hope that you would tell us if we ever disappointed you. If you have a chance, please ask for myself or the manager on duty the next time you visit us so we may thank you personally.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We picked this hotel as it's close to the Pyramids, probably 10-15min walk to the main entrance. We (me and my girlfriend) were advised (hassled) numerous times in the hotel to hire an over-priced guide or book a tour, but there is no need, and it was no problem at all. We were also hassled inside and outside the Pyramids, but that happens in Egypt. Everyone was polite once you'd said no and walked on. It's much better, in my opinion, to do it yourself, with no time constraints, or "guide" following you around, or being tied to a larger group. The road outside the hotel is very busy and noisy (horn central), but easily crossed a bit further down towards the Pyramids. The hotel rooms are comfortable and more than adequate, and much cheaper than the Mena Hotel, which is right next to the entrance to the Pyramids. If you've got money to burn and don't fancy the walk, stay there. The roof-top restaurant at the Mercure overlooks the Pyramids, but as they're not lit up at night, all you see is the endless traffic and roundabout. It's definitely not the most romantic of places. I would return to this hotel if I was going to revisit the Pyramids. I just wouldn't get a hotel transfer from the Airport. Half the price with a local taxi. All in all, a pleasant stay, and walking around the Pyramids was a fantastic experience, especially just the two of us wandering through the desert dunes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andypr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for spending your recent vacation at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel. We are glad that your experience was satisfactory and that your vacation was a happy one.

In Mercure we do our best to enure the convenience to our guest along with the highest service quality.

I and the hotel team would love to see you once again in the near future.

All the best in your personal and professional life.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I stayed 4 nights at this place and it was an excellent base for discovering the pyramids of Gizeh, Saqqara and Memphis. We enjoyed the large pool area with the nice garden a lot and the service was very friendly at all times. Before choosing this hotel I noticed various comments regarding bad food. We've eaten twice in the restaurant 'Romeo & Juliette' and the food was very tasty. This hotel is really recommendable, however If you expect a luxury 5 stars hotel you should rather go to Mena House Oberoi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truely a pleasure to serve you.

In Mercure we strive to provide our best quality of service to our guests and we are delighted that the time you spend with us was an enjoyable one.

The whole team of Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel would love to see again and again and become a regular guest.

We wish all the best in your personal and business endeavours.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

On our recent trip to Cairo, arriving 9/11/2012 - the same day protests began at the American Consulate's Offices, we felt safe and well cared for at this lovely hotel. The staff members we encountered were very kind and helpful people.

The grounds were impeccably manicured and the hotel was clean, modern, and grand. The gym and spa area were being remodeled while we were there, so they were closed; but the pool was inviting.


There is an open area on the second level with seating on one side and a billiard table on the other.

There are restaurants on site serving a variety of foods (from hamburgers to an international buffet). We enjoyed room service the most! That could have had something to do with the amount of traveling we had been doing and were were just tired by the time we had seen what we wanted to see during the days. We enjoyed the room service and lounging in our comfortable room/sitting on the balcony.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, safe place to stay in Giza. We had a lovely view of the pyramids from our suite's balcony.

Room Tip: Unless you "long" (as we did) to have a view of the pyramids, you may want to request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cabowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We are extremely happy to read that your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx was an enjoyable and delightful one.

Entire guest satisfaction is our main objective, therefore we are glad that the accommodation and quality of service had met with your expectations.

I will convey your comments to the hotel team members so they are aware of their contribution in attaining your satisfaction.

We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you once again and become a regular guest.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavours.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Doing Cairo is an experience not to be missed and this hotel is a good base. However the staff are a little off hand - this may be because of the high turnover of guests but it can marr your stay. If you are looking to be independent use the Taxi service opposite the main reception. For the cost of one person doing the guided tours offered by holiday firms four of you can be taken to the sights of Cairo. The drivers are with you and will help you find what you want to see. They also take you through the nightmare that is Cairo traffic! If in doubt shut your eyes!!!

The breakfasts were good but the restaurants a little over priced. It is much better to find somewhere local and eat out if you can. We felt that the rooms were rather tired and in need of refurbishing. The seals on the shower doors was ineffective.

If your guides ask to take credit card authorisation for the hotel be aware that the transaction can remain pending after you leave. Make sure you get the hotel to cancel it before you leave. Also several of the party we ere with were aske to pay twice for phone calls or bar bills - so take care - it was better to pay by cash as you go along.

Room Tip: Try and get a pyramid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Cairo Le Sphinx twice during our tour of Egypt, once for 3 nights at the beginning of the trip and then for 2 nights at the end. Unfortunately, the two experiences were very contrasting.

The first 3 nights were great, we got a nice spacious room, good quality fixtures and fittings, balcony and it was close to the upstairs common area where the pool tables are. Service was good throughout, not to mention the excellent breakfast buffet and live music in the evenings at the restaurant. The only blot on the experience came right at the very end when we requested breakfast boxes to be provided to us as we were checking out very early for a flight. Nobody seemed to arrange these and when we eventually did get them (from a hurried member of staff from the restaurant) it was obvious they had been rushed as there were no eggs, jam or even a spoon for the yoghurt! Anyway, overall it was a good stay.

For our second visit however, everything seemed to go wrong. The room we were given had two big beds rather than one double (which just made the room feel smaller) and apparently there were no other rooms available for us to move into. The shower leaked so badly after 10 minutes most of the floor would be wet and the sink plughole couldn't be controlled so had to be taken out to prevent the sink filling up. We were moved to another room on the second night but it had the same leaking shower problem and fixtures just didn't seem as in good a condition as the room we stayed in for our first stay.

I don't think there are major issues with this hotel but I do feel like some rooms need modernisation and that was the crux of our issues, so I hope they go ahead and do that. Apart from that, location is fantastic if you want to be close to the pyramids (you can even have a view if you go to the roof) but not great if you want to be close to Cairo city centre (about an hour and half drive) so be sure you know what you want location wise. Sehraya Cafe and Abou Zeid restaurant are both walking distance with the former an especially nice outdoor place to eat. The restaurant dinner buffet isn't bad either and reasonably priced so worth a try at least once.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are nice but not that much better than the normal ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CTheWorld84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel itself is really nice, clean lobby, clean pool wonderful gardens with rare plants and trees, and most important of all amazing view of the pyramids at night. The room was very modern and stylish with a complementary fruit basket, however at night we started seeing tiny cockroaches coming out of the creases of the walls. It was absolutely disgusting. Next day we mentioned it to the reception, they were very apologetic and embarrassed, and they promised they would use a repellent. I really wish they did because this place is awesome and only this incident was the negative aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the garden are more quiet as they are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kitty11228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.4 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
6.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $58 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing