We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and near the pyramids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent service and near the pyramids.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our trip to Egypt in November 2012.
It is beautiful and their service is top class. The bathroom had a strange "drain" smell when you shower, but Egypt's water being what it is, you are going to get that anywhere.
It is a welcome haven to come back to after the hustle and bustle and irritating "salesmen" of Cairo. It is situated in Giza, therefore not so near to the busy city centre, but nearer to the pyramids, which is the main thing to see anyway. To get to the National Museum of Cairo, it is quite a long taxi ride, so make sure you get the right price.
They have excellent restaurants and in Egypt it is better to eat at your hotel than a restaurant you don't know. The food was delicious and filling.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting the Great Pyramids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. it is our pleasure and honor that you are choosing us as a destination for your stay and we do appreciate mentioning all these positive points about the hotel and we are very happy to know that you didn’t face any obstacles during your stay.
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids.
Looking forward to welcome you once again at our hotel or at any of the 185 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 17 different destinations.
Sincerely,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    259
    139
    46
    35
See reviews for
146
221
93
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Although this is in a very busy street on way to pyramids, and there is traffic noise (I dont think you would get a hotel without traffic noise in Cairo. Service was excellent and we were given a complimentary fruit platter and water. Clean with all the amenities. Although we did not use much of this as we were out all day. A local "flea market" is right next door selling to locals, so prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bucketlist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Client,
We really appreciate very much the time spent on writing the review about your stay at our hotel and we would like to thank you for all the comments because they help us to continuously improve ourselves.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world.

Best regards,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice hotel, luxurious reception area and lounge, piano bar, although nobody was playing? we had a meal in the Horus restaurant on top floor, very nice meal, reasonable, bottle wine starts at 150.00 E£ Main with dessert and wine around 200.00 E£.
good facilities, Spa not tried yet but reasonable prices and looks a nice area, pool looks great, with a little bar and plenty of beach beds.
Only gripe, In our room, one of the bedside tables and the room lamp did not work, we discovered it was the electric socket at fault, reported it to the reception around 5pm, still not fixed at 11am next day. other than that nicely appointed room, plenty of nice towels and bathroom luxuries.
Staff very pleasant and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room, then ask for an upgrade, make sure you ask for a room with a view a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 356lynn1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all, let me seize this opportunity to thank you for sharing your unique experience with us. It is really helpful to know the feedback of our guests as well as understand their needs.

Comments such us yours considers our standard satisfaction indicator that makes us move on continuously improvement in order to offer only the best to our guests.

Really there`s no word enough to express how we do appreciate your kind comments and thanks for bringing the weak points to our attention and of course we will take it in consideration as a matter of improvement.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel or at any of the 185 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 17 different destinations.
Sincerely
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

On a very busy street fairly close to pyramids - not an inviting place to go for a walk.
Horus restaurant on top floor is good and Aymen provided very good service.
Nefertari restaurant on main floor is poor.
Can see pyramids in distance from top floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCHinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, let me thank you for sharing with us your opinion about the hotel.
The negative comments you brought to our attention as well as the positive comments are very essential and vital for us, as they encourage us to work hardly to improve all the services provided at the hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you once again at our hotel and hopping that the next stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids will be more enjoyable.
Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The experience depended heavily on what staff shift was present. The morning shift was ok while the evening shift is in need of serious help. As an example, the night shift had one waiter, one cook, and one server for three separate on site restaurants. This equated to dinner orders that were wrong and waiting for nearly an hour (after conversation and drinks) for the proper bill to be presented. The manager "remediated" the issue but ultimately charging us for the water he brought to the table while apologizing for his staff's error. When questioned about the water on the bill (assuming it to be gratis) he remarked that nothing is free and walked away. Throughout my travels this was the most abrasive staff I've encountered.

Outside of the staff issues, the hotel is in a convenient location to get to the Giza pyramids (by taxi) and the day shift seemingly has a good understanding of service/basic english. The evening shift falls short though, on both accounts-seriously, and I wouldn't recommend basing my Cairo experience from this hotel unless you're getting the room for a price that justifies very poor service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my apology for any annoyance that may be caused during your stay and to thank you for sharing your experience with us and mentioning all the weak points that you faced, as this enables us to work on keep improving our services.

While the lacking atmosphere you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, we will check with all our team to make sure that any negative situation will not happen again to any of our valuable clients..
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world

Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

From some of the other reviews, and from looking at the website photos this seemed like a good hotel for our 4 night stay in Giza. What a let down!!

First our little, tiny, dark (zero day light) is NOTHING like what is shown in the photos. In fact, when you look out the window you see what seems to be a pitch black elevator shaft. It felt like we were staying in a dungeon.

After mentioning this to the reception they did ofter to move us, and we looked at another room. This was actually supposed to be an 'upgrade' she said. This room was just as bad. NOTHING like the photos! I don't know where they got those from that they post on this site.

Its also very very noise here, and the wi fi is very poor.

The bathroom was dirty, and some staff was fairly rude during out stay.

See the photos I uploaded of our dark dungeon room and 'view'

Stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iansurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your previous stays. And to take this opportunity to thank you for writing your comments .

As a hospitality institution, we do respect the other opinions and point of view, in order to lead us to present better services.

With regards to the comments concerning the rooms and their location, and as it’s obvious on our website, other clients reviews and photos posted by them at tripadvisor, that we do have a variety of room types which distributed through the building.

Unfortunately, due to the high occupancy during the period of your stay, we didn’t have the opportunity to allocate you to a better room with a front view to the street or to the pyramids and it was subject to the hotel’s availability.

I would like to apologize again for the inconvenience and I just want to ensure you that it was unintended and that your comments are very essential for us and were passed on to the entire team as inspiration for best behavior towards our valuable guests.

Looking forward welcoming you back at your second home in Cairo and Looking forward meeting you personally.
Sincerely
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

this is a 4 star hotel , which could easily be a 5 star, the staff are good , the hotel has a gym , massage pool , a choice of resturants, an ATM .a good breakfast selection, a taxi service , and tour office....i liked this location because it is situated in an area where the local people live and shop, yes you will see some poverty , but you will come across a lot of egyptian people ,who will wecome you ,. There is a nice coffee shop in the left ally where you could enjoy a coffee , tea or a smoke.....and free wifi [ note wifi is expensive in hotels] ....further down the road is cairo square, where you can buy soveniers cheap, macdonalds, pasta, and egyptian style food from MOMENS [an egptian food chain].....this is where the locals hangout , it is quite safe to walk around at night ....just crossing the main road is a nightmare.If you would like a good hotel and experience the culture this is a great place.

Room Tip: higher floors , as smoking is allowed in the foyer .the rooms near the pool area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hermanmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Client,
First of all, let me seize this opportunity to thank you for sharing your unique experience with us. It is really helpful to know the feedback of our guests as well as understand their needs.

Comments such us yours considers our standard satisfaction indicator that makes us move on continuously improvement in order to offer only the best to our guests.

Really there`s no word enough to express how we do appreciate your kind comments .

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel or at any of the 185 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 17 different destinations.

Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#24 of 41 in Giza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cairo Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cairo Pyramids

Property: Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Address: 229 Al Ahram St., Giza 12111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
#4 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#5 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cairo Pyramids 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Cairo Pyramids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids Hotel Giza
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing