We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be a good experience, given you are careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Giza
India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can be a good experience, given you are careful”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here with my wife in Feb 2012 for two days, one in the beginning and one at the end of my 9 days journey. The hotel has beautiful and elegant interiors for its cost. The staff is friendly and the Italian restaurant in the ground floor makes nice pizzas.

I got all the things which I expected from the hotel, except on my second stay, I was given a very small room, which was dusty everywhere and the toilet fittings were damaged. As we stayed here 8 days ago, we knew that there are better rooms for same fare. So we registered a complaint at the reception, and they promptly changed our room to a much bigger and better one.

Had it been our first day, I would have taken that as their standard and would have rated it as "Poor".

The breakfast was not a great experience for us, not because of any quality compromise, but instead because there was not many fresh-hot options for strict vegetarians like me. There were breads and there were fruits, but I personally would have liked something hot and more wholesome.

Room Tip: Register a complaint in case you didn't like what you got. It might help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vardhankoshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, G.M.Personal Assistant at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
First off all, let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your opinion about the hotel with us,
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay,
We also take in consideration all the weak points to work on them, in order to improve ourselves and offer the best service to our valuable guests.
We certainly enjoyed reading your valuable review and would like to thank you once again for your kind words. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon at the hotel or at any of the 185 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 17 different destinations..
Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    265
    140
    46
    35
See reviews for
149
225
96
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

It was a pleasure to try residence in such 4-star hotel that was a place of restfulness provided with efficient service, staff & commitment to make the guest feel comfort.
Cleanliness was great considering everyday room service and fidelity.
The buffet breakfast was excellent on behalf of mr. Hani Alasaly who try his best to provide quality species everymorning and everymeal time.

Thanks to Barcelo hotels and resorts group to give me the chance to be their guest for the last 26 days.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usama_ismaeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, G.M.Personal Assistant at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate very much the time spent on sharing your experience with us and we would like to thank you for the positive comments.

We also take in consideration all the weak points, in order to improve ourselves and offer the best service to our valuable guests.

Again, thank you so much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world.

Best regards,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

After reading a multitude of mixed reviews for almost every hotel in Cairo we decided to go with the Barcelo for our week stay and we are both very glad we did,
The staff are friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The rooms are clean and have everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a very comfortable and enormous bed!! yes there is quite a bit of noise from car horns,but certainly not enough to keep us awake, and i'm a very light sleeper.
You should ignore the negative comments from others, if your thinking of going to cairo, then i would recommend this hotel.Read up on cairo before going, so as to avoid any dissapointments, but really the only way is to experience it for yourself,don't expect it to be like london,or new york, it's cairo egypt, a very busy vibrant city,you either love it or hate it, we love it.
I have been to egypt twice and my partner has been eight times, and we both agree this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The only minor problem we encountered is that the pool bar area closes too early for us, approximately 8pm, although the indoor bars do stay open, personally we would have preferred to stay outside. That said we would definitely stay here again should we return to Cairo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, G.M.Personal Assistant at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate very much the time spent on writing the review about your stay at our hotel and we would like to thank you for all the comments because they help us to continuously improve ourselves.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world.

Best regards,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at Barceló Pyramids for five nights with my fiancée to do our pre-wedding photo shoot in and around Cairo and I have to say it was a pleasant stay. I booked this hotel because it’s pretty convenient to get to the pyramids ( One straight road) and it’s easy to get out of Cairo but be warned that its quite busy during the peak hours and if you're making your way to the city, your journey will take around 45 minutes.

I wouldn't recommend you to get those pyramid view room as my photographer and his wife took one of those room and the view is not that appealing and they complained about the traffic noise as their room was facing the main road. There is a mall nearby and you could grab yourself some fast food (Mo'men, Egypt's answer to BK) or pizza after a long day in the city or at the pyramids. Don't bother checking out any other shops in the mall as they're not amusing at all. Keep walking down the mall you'll find many decent restaurants along the way. There is a nice cafe to chill (I can't remember the name) right above a Prego fast food outlet.

We took a junior suite, which had a living room with a two seat sofa, one single seat sofa and a mini bar. The bedroom was quite spacious with a dressing table/ vanity mirror and built-in wardrobe and a digital safe. The wall mounted 32-inch LCD TV in front of the bed added a nice touch to the room. The bathroom was clean and well maintained. The main drawback is that there is not any view from this room and you can’t open the windows as they were sealed with mosquito net. With the curtains drawn, I think you could overlook that issue.

As for the buffet breakfast, they had a wide variety of bread selections but rest of the dishes were just average. Same goes for the dinner. Free Wi-Fi is one of the plus points but only one device can be used at a time. In order to use two devices (that’s the maximum!), you need to give your Wi-Fi ID at the reception and ask them to open one more port.

As for the guest relation service, nothing was exceptional. On the whole it was a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There is pharmacy right next to the hotel. Get your bottled water and juices from stalls along the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laksh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, G.M.Personal Assistant at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments . it is our pleasure and honor that you are choosing us as a destination for your stay.
The negative comments you brought to our attention as well as the positive comments are very essential and vital for us, as they encourage us to work hardly to improve all the services provided at the hotel.
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Looking forward to welcome you once again at our hotel and hopping that the next stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids will be more enjoyable.
Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent 3 night here, the room was fine and we spent the majority of our time out at the sights. I did not have noise as an issue in my room. The folks at the front desk were nice enough, however since we had a guide we did not have to really ask them much. Internet was expensive and could only be used by one device at a time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyroneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, G.M.Personal Assistant at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate very much the time spent on sharing your experience with us and we would like to thank you for the positive comments.

We also take in consideration all the weak points, in order to improve ourselves and offer the best service to our valuable guests.

Again, thank you so much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world.

Best regards,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I arrived at 10PM, dinner was scheduled to run until 11PM. After a long day of traveling, I was advised that the hotel had stopped serving food when I arrived -- no other explanation, no compensation. I was not listed as an arriving guest on the hotel's manifest -- not sure where the breakdown occurred. It was not until I continued to press my tour guide that compensation was offered -- not sure if this was from the travel company or the hotel. the hotel is located on a major street which makes it convenient to get to, however, that also means you are subject to noise from the street. Egyptians drive with one hand on the steering wheel and one hand on the horn. I was here for two nights and up until 1:30AM the first night and 1PM the second night because of the continuous honking. With itineraries that started at 6:15AM, this was not a good value.

Room Tip: Not a bad location to get to the pyramids the folowing day, but terrible for getting any sleep and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaDiverRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

i am here for 12 days and will stay for another week.. the hotel was so clean and the service was wonderful EXCEPT that they surprisingly charge for the wi fi internet service.. it is important for the traveler to use the internet service and the free wi fi is available even at cheap hotels and coffee shops.. The swimming pool and the gym add a benefit.. the room is very good and housekeeping is great.. If u need any thing u will find the guest relations staff listening and at your service.. I was so happy with the Italian rest. The service was good and the waitress was so kind, friendly and helpful.. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.. the only 2 bad things is the place of the hotel which is not safe so u should be careful walking around and also the high cost of the internet service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mu_Sa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, G.M.Personal Assistant at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest
We really appreciate very much the time spent on sharing your experience with us and we would like to thank you for all the comments as the opinions and suggestions of our valuable clients are considered as a real indicator of the standard of service that we present.
Regarding the Wi Fi internet service,i would like to mention that, in fact the hotel offers the highest speed and lowest prices comparing to the 4 and 5 star hotels at the pyramids area, however your comments will be considered as matter of improvement.
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids.
Looking forward to welcome you once again at our hotel or at any of the 185 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 17 different destinations.
Sincerely,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
1.7 mi away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#25 of 41 in Giza
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cairo Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cairo Pyramids

Property: Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Address: 229 Al Ahram St., Giza 12111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
#5 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#5 Spa Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cairo Pyramids 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Cairo Pyramids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids Hotel Giza
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing