We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Horus House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horus House Hotel
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Pros: Very friendly and kind staff at the entry desk. Quiet hotel/area. Very clean bathroom.
Cons: Despite the clean bathroom, the room did not look clean, and I am used to staying in youth hostels. There were bugs. We were overcharged $10 after I tried to decline breakfast, but the man said it was included (for $5/person), which was not part of my online booking. We didn't even eat breakfast because it did not look good at all.
Conclusion: Fine for one night if you do not mind a couple of bugs; get your breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elena4vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
10
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel is in the same building as Longchamps; and i must say that Longchamps is a better bet. Both cost the same.

Place/Location: You can find my review of Longchamps and the same applies here. There is absolutely no problem about the location of this hotel.

Room : The room that we got was BIG, almost double the size of the that we got at Longchamps; but it was slightly dingy and the lights were not bright. The bed was normal with no added cushion. Since we hardly stayed in the room, i think it was a okay; though we kept mentioning about Longchamps.

Food: We did not get a chance to eat breakfast here; so I am not sure whether they serve, if at all.

Value for Money : I would not rate this very high, as there was almost no ventilation in the room and the lights were also not very bright. But if you want to stay in this location and did not get a reservation at Longchamps, then this is the next best bet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Excellent hotel in a very quiet area, rooms are sparsely furnished but clean and cool. Staff are friendly and helpful. Hot water from shower takes a while.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, test the connection quality before accepting the room - it varies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Friendly staff. At least adequate breakfast. And some of the rooms have fast Wifi (make sure you ask for that). Lots of things don't work here but they are always willing to help you. The location is prime, and this is a friendly, helpful place. Much better than other budget options in Zamalek.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Ridiculous price for what you get. Best I can say is that the rooms are clean and the sitting room has a bit of old Colonial charm. Otherwise it's a dank, oppressive place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccssgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Located in a relatively calm street of Zamalek, this small "hotel", located on the 4th floor of the same building where Longchamps hotel is (!), offers clean simple rooms and a warm welcome despite the cold entrance of the building. Old but clean furniture, nice bar, very kind personnel, and some interesting people living there for years! Breakfast poor. Good shower, internet free access from rooms. It reminded me of "Yaacoubian Building" novel. Make sure to meet Nabil,one adorable resident. Will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed at both the Horus Hotel and, upstairs in the same building, the Longchamps hotel. If you like modern plastic hotels, they are not for you. If you like big hotels, they are not for you. But, if you like an inexpensive hotel that is cozy and familiar, you can't beat these two hotels, their meals, the service or friendly atmosphere in the common areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankhlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Beirut Hotel
Beirut Hotel
#60 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#55 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#33 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
4.9 mi away
Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horus House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horus House Hotel

Property: Horus House Hotel
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horus House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horus House Hotel, a 3 stars hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Buffet breakfast, an outdoor terrace and ticket service are available.Horus House Hotel’s rooms each have satellite TV and a work desk. A minibar is also provided, and guests can order in-room breakfast and room service.The staff at Horus House’s 24-hour front desk are available to assist with currency exchange or airport shuttle arrangements. Express check-in/check-out is also offered.Hot buffet breakfast is available each day, and guests can enjoy a drink on hotel Horus House’s outdoor terrace.Located in Cairo’s quiet Zamalek district, Horus House Hotel is 1 mile from both Ramses Train Station and Gezira subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horus House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing