We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filthy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pyramids View Hotel
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel is the dirtiest place I've ever stayed in, all the furniture was tatty, the net curtains on the windows were black, all in all it needed cleaning, the place was thick with dust and the paint work needed a good wash. When we got into our room the front door had a 2" gap at the bottom and we could not lock it, all the cupboard doors were hanging off, so were the switches and sockets, our bathroom sink was blocked but eventually cleared and poured out of the U bend onto the floor along with brown muck that looked disgusting, water constantly poured out of the top of the tap, the walls in the room were dirty. The worst thing was the restaurant , dirty seats, place mats were disgusting and still had old food stuck to them , we were served raw chicken to eat, along with a limp salad that looked like it had been hanging around all day, filthy, disgusting place do not go there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 43 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

We only stayed here because our tour package with Kumuka put us there, which I am still very upset about. Let's start from most disgusting to annoying:
1) cockroach on the breakfast buffet bread plate
2) filthy placemats in the restaurant, along with filthy/dusty carpet, curtains and bed cover in the rooms
3) location is completely isolated: no restaurant or grocery stores within walking distance, there is nothing nearby the hotel. We were told to have dinner at the hotel restaurant, but after the cockroach incident, I just could not trust the restaurant.
4) the hotel is right opposite of the mosque as well; light sleeper like myself, with ear plugs, will still wake up by the first call for prayer each morning (at time of stay, it was around 4:30am)
5) the hallway of the rooms smelled bad; and there was 2 huge spots of water on the carpet from water dripping from the outside of the building
6) the a/c in our last room (we had 3 different ones during our stay) was not cold enough; we also heard other travellers asked for room change because their a/c did not work
7) the inside of the refrigerators in the rooms were hotter than the rooms themselves
8) stone-cold "hot" breakfast buffet food every morning

All the above with other minor issues such as busted lamp in the room, elevators that did not work all the time, sink with no plug (bad for contact lens wearer).

The hotel really dampened our stay in Egypt, we absolutely did not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weectravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I was travelling with my kids and wife it was so secured to leave your family there and go for shopping , friendly staff and nice managers arround you to give a good smile to your kids, I was so happy with my kids and my wife told me to come back in our next vacation we had a nice honey moon again during our visit. The management promised us to give us first night free of charge of our next visit to pyramid's View Hotel.

Roland Bibo

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biborol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the end of April. Although you can actually see the Pyramids from this hotel, it is SO not worth it. When we got into our room we found it to be dirty, un-kept, and really pretty disgusting. For a 4 star hotel, this does not mean any of the conditions you would expect to find in a 4 star within the U.S. The walls had scuff marks across them, were beginning to fade, and didn't look very clean. The bed linens appeared to be out of date and old. The grout around the tub/shower was start to crumble away. And there was a hole in the wall with what appeared to be an opening to some type of shaft. There was a "door" to this shaft. But it would not close and looked beat up.

The hotel's pool is nothing great at all, i went in once and never again because the water felt slimey.. the best i can describe it. At night around the hotel there were packs of dogs that would bark and fight. Nothing was ever done to shoo them away. Also i read in an above post that there is a night club on the top floor? We were able to hear that wonderful noise pretty much every night. It was annoyingly loud and unreasonable for a hotel to have.

Breakfast was the same and not always warm. Some of the food was ok, but there was little to no variety.

Last but not least we killed a cockroach in our room on one of the nights. The following day when we reported it to the reception they asked if we were the ones that had already reported it. We weren't. Also a 10 minute call to the US using their phone (they only allow you to call from the reception) would cost $40+. Buying a SIM card and some time was cheaper then that and we had a working cell for the rest of the trip.

Overall it was a crappy hotel, but apparently most 4 star hotels are like this in Cairo? I hope that isn't true. At any rate, I advise staying in Cairo for only one day. Its enough time for a trip to the pyramids, the sphinx, the museum, and another spot if you make a busy day. Take a 7 day Nile cruise, the Temples and the Nile are far more enjoyable than Cairo.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willcarrybags4hugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I have read a few of the reviews of this hotel and I can only assume that the hotel have changed their policy on the nightclub, noise etc.
We found this hotel was good value for money. The rooms and restaurant were clean and acceptable. The pool and service great. Staff very friendly.
There was no night club and we slept very well. Room service was efficient and dirty plates always taken away (I've stayed nin other Cairo hotels where plates of food are left to lie in corridors for days).
I'd stay in the hotel again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annehaidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Our room was satisfactory but we arrived with a group several of whom could not sleep due to the 'nightclub' on the top floor which played loud music from 1am to 6ish only stopping at the morning call to prayer. It has a slightly seedy atmosphere. The food was not good, the breakfast was disappointing and sometimes cold. The service at the bar was very expensive for what it was. You should be able to get better value for your money. If you get the wrong room you won't sleep a wink!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in November 2008.

Positives:
- Nice pool;
- Good rooms (mostly - see below!);
- Close to the Giza pyramids (and views of them if you're on the right side of the building).

Negatives:
- Beware all rooms ending in 07... they are tiny, and are next to the main lifts, the service lifts and the service areas - if you get one of these rooms ask for it to be changed immediately;
- Beware rooms on the upper floors as there is a nightclub on the top floor and it can get pretty noisey (ask for a room on floors 1-3);
- Don't expect much of a lie-in... they play loud music in the corridors and lobby which will wake you up by about 8.30am!

Also be aware that:
- The hotel is not centrally located, so if you want to get into the city centre then do a bit of planning beforehand;
- The hotel recommends the hotel taxis (significantly more expensive than the normal beaten-up taxis on the street, but still cheap compared to European prices);
- The hotel is mostly a transit hotel for tour groups that arrive in the evening and depart in the morning, and therefore can be very quiet during the day;
- If you're heading out for a flight, be aware that prices at the food hall at Cairo airport are about the same as European prices (and they only serve sandwiches and snacks) - it's cheaper to fill up with a good meal at the hotel or one of the good local restaurants within 10min walk from the hotel.

Stayed: November 2008
4  Thank JoeBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
11.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#86 of 138 in Cairo
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#68 of 138 in Cairo
81 reviews
16.5 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
597 reviews
19.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
687 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#1 of 138 in Cairo
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramids View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramids View Hotel

Address: 10 El Sadat Street | Hadaek El Ahram Zone, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pyramids View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pyramids View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing