We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say very good...can be improved.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pyramids View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pyramids View Hotel
Ranked #70 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Muscat
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Can't say very good...can be improved.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The time we spent in the hotel can not be called excellent. We were expecting far better. Cleanliness in the Hotel, it's room and specially the Restaurant which is being used for breakfast needs to be renovated immediately.

Room Tip: Select a room facing Pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soumya_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    6
    12
    12
See reviews for
6
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

At this time (March 2011) there is still a lot of building work going on - constant noise of drills grinders and welding. Thre are no shops, hairdressers, no gym or spa and the pool is NOT heated. Fantastic views of pyramids from the pool area but few rooms can see them. Very few rooms have balconies though they are spacious and clean. We were constantly being interupted by staff wanting to make up the room or carry out work. Lots of friendly staff but the service was slow and I thought prices were on the high side (eg £20 for bottle of local wine). Food was adequate but lacked imagination in the presentation. In short as a tourist I was disappointed.

Room Tip: good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

After arriving in Cairo to discover our origional hotel had closed, spent first night in a 'no star' dump organized by Tour Company. Next 2 nights at Pyramid's View courtesy of Accomodation booking company, as this was all they could organize. Room was spacious, but ordinary. Staff were'nt particularly helpful, except the ones looking for tips. Wouldn't swim in the pool as it had little bubbles floating on top from what, who knows. Breakfast was very average, consisting of breads and not much else unless one is happy guessing at what it is you are eating. Generally, the place looked the worse for wear. We were warned by our travel agent to deduct at least 2 stars from advertised rating, and not to believe the pictures of rooms etc. Reading other reviews, this seems to be the norm with Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kerryandnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I spent one night in this hotel that is claiming to have 4 stars, but could be categorized as a 3 star if not even 2 star-hotel. According to what we have read before going there -the hotel biggest advantage is that it has Pyramids view in 45 out of its 75 rooms but as usual we got one of the other 30 rooms that have swimming pool view. We can't say that we enjoyed our stay - the looking old furniture of the room and bathroom that needed to be reconditioned years ago plus the noisy old air-conditioner didn't give us a warm welcome. When we tried to go on the room terrace it turned out that it's a big one shared with several other rooms.The nearby mosque woke up very early in the morning and only the relatively good breakfast and the affordable price would make me say that you can spend there not more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed here as part of an Explore holiday and found it to be as bad as previous reviews suggested. We did have a view of the pyramids but this didn't make up for the building site outside where the machinery seemed to be going into the early hours. In the room the carpet was dirty, a light fitting was hanging from the wall in the bathroom and the paint was peeling from the bath. Not a good start to a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed here as part of a group on an Explore trip. It was terrible. It was our first night in Egypt and not a great way to start. Our room was so noisy luckily we were exhausted from the flight and that's probably the only reason we slept. Some of the group did have a view of the pyramids but all we got was the road and the pool. We didn't have to spend much time in the hotel because of all the trips we were on. It was a long walk to find somewhere to eat and the breakfast was not good. The lift broke down on some of the people in our group and the safe also broke with someone's stuff in. Apparently the staff were not very happy at having to break their own safe because they couldn't find the master key!
On our return to Cairo we stayed in a much nicer hotel so avoid this one if you can.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

This has got to be one of the worst hotels that i have stayed in and I have travelled widely.
We had no choice as our tour group Explore had booked this hotel and I cannot beleive that anyone from there has ever stayed there.
The experience was like stepping into an episode of Fawlty Towers with lots of staff around all telling each other what to do but with no one doing anything.
The hotel was old and crumbling with stained and mouldy carpets in the bedrooms and corridors. Bedlinen had cigarette burns and the dirty and shabby curtains were falling off the tracks.
We awoke to find we had no water and the shower mixer tap was hanging off the wall.
Catching a glimpse of the kitchen was enough to ensure that we did not eat anything for the two days we were there.
An experience I would not want to repeat.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Totnesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.4 mi away
Le Riad Hotel de charme
Le Riad Hotel de charme
#45 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#42 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy City Hotel
Happy City Hotel
#69 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#21 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramids View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramids View Hotel

Property: Pyramids View Hotel
Address: 10 El Sadat Street | Hadaek El Ahram Zone, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pyramids View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing