We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Cairo”

The Revolving Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 4,161 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $173
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best view in Cairo”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This restaurant is a must try, not for the food but for the view and the experience itself. Being at the 40th floor this is, I think, the highest spot in Cairo you can dine at (after Al Gezeera Tower). The restaurant revolves one complete round in 60 minutes. The internal decoration is very cool, the lights are dim so it gives a romantic essence. The French menu is very nice and extremely expensive as well, a dinner for two can easily cost you a 1000LE. It is a must try for romantic dinner for two, but not a place to go their often. Take care they don't serve alcohols, so if you are a wine man, look for another place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AkmalMagdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Forget the booze - enjoy the views!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

So the place doesn't serve alcohol - get over it and move on!

A group of six of us (4 'westerners', 2 Egyptians - all alcohol drinkers) dined here earlier this month. We knew in advance that alcohol wasn't served - did it spoil our evening? Not one bit!

This is a fine-dining experience with, unusually for Egypt, unobtrusive waiter service to match.

I had an excellent crab bisque (although the onion soup was also, apparently, very good) followed by a melt-in-the-mouth ribeye steak with a wide selection of veg.

It's not a place I would go to frequently but, having lived/worked in Egypt for 17 years, I can safely say its one of the better restaurants in Cairo (as evidenced by it being placed in the top 1% of TA reviews).

It's worth at least one visit in your life.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Brit_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No alcohol, bland food, great view”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Come for the view, but eat beforehand. We were shocked and disappointed not to be able to enjoy a glass of wine at a fancy restaurant. Our starter was good, but it went downhill after that. The soups were barely average and the mains almost inedible. Do not order the dorade if you do not like codfish; the Egyptian version, which is served here, is a poor substitute for the Mediterranean classic. They offered us fresh fruit to make up for the dorade. Despite this, come for the view, just choose your food wisely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very disappointed with this - was tempted to give it one blob but I could imagine worse I suppose.
First thing to point out is that since the revolution they no longer serve alcohol. I guess they can't use it in cooking either which may explain some of the disappointing sauces.
Starters were pretty good, main courses bland and just average, and in one case (duck) very tough.
You've got to remember that this is a properly pricey restaurant for Cairo - think GBP 20 for a main course. The food doesn't in any way justify this. You'd think the view might make up for it, and indeed it is good, but really one side is way better than the other. The issue we had is that despite telling us that it took 1.45 hours to do a full revolution, after 90 mins we had finished dinner and weren't even half way around. And of course we'd been stuck looking at the less good view.
The way they dealt with this was very disappointing - again just a complete lack of apology / customer service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious & Elegant”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Restuarant is at the 40th floor, The View is stunning, the restuarant is well furnished, the food quality is fine & staff are very polite and helpful, i really enjoyed the night

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Revolving Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to The Revolving Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing