We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No alcohol, bland food, great view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Revolving Restaurant

The Revolving Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 4,143 Restaurants in Cairo
Price range: $0 - $173
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No alcohol, bland food, great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Come for the view, but eat beforehand. We were shocked and disappointed not to be able to enjoy a glass of wine at a fancy restaurant. Our starter was good, but it went downhill after that. The soups were barely average and the mains almost inedible. Do not order the dorade if you do not like codfish; the Egyptian version, which is served here, is a poor substitute for the Mediterranean classic. They offered us fresh fruit to make up for the dorade. Despite this, come for the view, just choose your food wisely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very disappointed with this - was tempted to give it one blob but I could imagine worse I suppose.
First thing to point out is that since the revolution they no longer serve alcohol. I guess they can't use it in cooking either which may explain some of the disappointing sauces.
Starters were pretty good, main courses bland and just average, and in one case (duck) very tough.
You've got to remember that this is a properly pricey restaurant for Cairo - think GBP 20 for a main course. The food doesn't in any way justify this. You'd think the view might make up for it, and indeed it is good, but really one side is way better than the other. The issue we had is that despite telling us that it took 1.45 hours to do a full revolution, after 90 mins we had finished dinner and weren't even half way around. And of course we'd been stuck looking at the less good view.
The way they dealt with this was very disappointing - again just a complete lack of apology / customer service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious & Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Restuarant is at the 40th floor, The View is stunning, the restuarant is well furnished, the food quality is fine & staff are very polite and helpful, i really enjoyed the night

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views of Cairo's Skyline as the floor slowly revolves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Been to this restaurant twice now whilst in Cairo for special occasion -Wedding Anniversary.
Very Romantic and a lovely setting.
Take a private elevator up to the 42nd floor ( If I remeber correctly )
Would advise to make a reservation we have always done so.
Lovely views of the Cairo Skyline, and great to be so high up and away from the hustle and bustle of the city!.
Its so quiet up there you feel like you are somewhere else.
The floor slowly revolves so you get a full 360 degree panoramic view.
Food was fine, quite a few choices to choose from and you can see the main Chef area as you revolve around.
Would reccomend a visit here, of course much more expensive than most other restuarants in Cairo but by most countries standards its still not too expensive.
There is an entry cost per person and a min charge.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Couples-One time visit maximum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nothing negative except the value...
It is too much expensive for no reason, it's around $100 per person.

Tip: You can ask them to get you a couch. I like it more.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank FSourour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Revolving Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to The Revolving Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing