We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very chilled out & professional staff, good place to stay for backpackers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Hostel
Ranked #45 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very chilled out & professional staff, good place to stay for backpackers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Jimmy, Mohammad, Medhat & Mido makes up a brilliant team with Jimmy being a very patient, helpful and an understanding manager. Nearly all my trip in Cairo was planned with the help of the staff. The rooms are clean and the location is super as it is very close to Tahrir Square. The entrance of the building is a little messy but the condition of the hotel is good! The staff speaks english well so you can easily coordinate. There is only 1 suggestion that i would like to give you, I feel the tours by Canadian Hostel are a little expensive so in case you are looking to get a tour, first make a research with the nearby agents (There are plenty in that area!) and then take your call accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other half of the hostel (the one which is opposite to the reception desk) has a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angad_Solo_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
7
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The canadian is very nice to stay, the have a amazing staff, who tried to help you to have a nice time at Egypt. The building is horrible, but the room is very good! There shower is not good, but you can have a shower if you have patience... BUT NOT BELIEVE IN THE TOURS! ARE EXPENSIVE AND THEY DONT GIVE YOU WHAT THEY SAY!!! If you are travelling alone and need somebody tho pic you up at airport, bus station, etc, they are expensive but really goods! But the tours they said that you gonna have a tour guide but its never is true!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diegomaldonado10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Jimmy, Mohammad, Medhat and all of the other staff at the Canadian Hostel were absolutely impeccable. They not only gave us a great night in Cairo, but effectively made the rest of our trip to Egypt. They offered service which gave us other hotels in Aswan and Luxor, they gave us tour guides, transportation, and even bought our train tickets for us. You will never get better service in your life. These guys know how to run a business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanSmeenk1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Canadian Hostel for 5 days when we first arrived in Cairo and loved it so much that after travelling around Egypt we came back and stayed the rest of our time here before leaving. The staff is very friendly and helpful-always willing to help you get train tickets or even take you to Coptic Cairo themselves! Perfect staff, perfect location!
Next time I return to Egypt I will definitely stay at Canadian Hostel. I only have good memories and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are so cheap as it is, choose one with air conditioning. My friend and I paid a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavanau3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanta, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

After experiencing lots of disasters, I finally found that Canadian Hostel is the best hostels in Cairo. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the price is acceptable, and the most important thing is that there are hot water! To those who don't speak Arabic, in Canadian Hostel, you can communicate with the staff without any problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ririrurud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is perfect, near Egyptian Museum and the metro, convenient to reach other sights and easy to grab simple and delicious Egyptian food around. The staff are friendly and full of energy. They are willing to answer any question and speak good English. I've stayed in three hostels in Cairo and this is the best one with reasonable prices. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and WIFI is fast and stable. Canadian is the only hostel that provides hair dryer among all the hostels i stayed in Egypt. I felt they are thoughtful and care about details. It is definitely a nice choice when you visit Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShurouqHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent value for money. Very central location in Downtown Cairo,2 minutes to the Egyptian Museum, Midam Tahrir and the metro station. Although the building looks a bit old but it's french designed. They have a door man 24 hours, that makes me feel safe. The common spaces and the rooms are very clean and spacious. Choose room number 115, it has shower inside. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they speak very well english, they have organized a wonderful falucca trip in the south, thanks jimmy. very recommend this hostel.
see you guys next time :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#38 of 127 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 50 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#3 of 127 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel Cairo
Blue Bird Hotel Cairo
#21 of 127 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hostel

Property: Canadian Hostel
Address: 5 Talaat Harb Street 1st florr | Tahrir Squire- Down Town - Cairo, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Canadian Hostel is the Best Hostel in Cairo, Egypt, and perhaps the best in Africa!" We are located right in the centre of downtown Cairo, across the street from the subway and with a 5 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum it makes us hard to beat as the best place to stay.Please enjoy our friendly atmosphere, great service and hospitality. Breakfast is included (Egyptian & Continental) and our staff will exert each and every effort to make your stay a comfortable one.Almost all our rooms have air conditioning, including our dorm room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Canadian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing