We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely skip this.”
Review of Arabesque Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arabesque Hotel
Ranked #48 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely skip this.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

For the price we paid, you'd think the walls wouldn't have unidentifyable crap smudged on the walls, or really dirty bathrooms, but yup! They did. We ended up moving Hotels a few times before realizing downtown Cairo - a mere few blocks away- offered cheaper, cleaner, better locations. Skip the hassle of this area by going to a more bustling street - the noise is actually less there, people will nag you to go into their stores less, and you have a slightly more authentic view of Cairo.

Make sure if you do stay here to negotiate a lower price for no breakfast - plain bread and a boiled egg can hardly be considered food of any quality.

Room Tip: Make sure to haggle for the price, as well as get it lower once you've agreed on something less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Breeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
14
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel picked us from the airport even though our flight was delayed for over an hour, they were still waiting for us when we finally arrived. The facility itself is big, comfortable, and clean. They provided free wireless for us as well. Overall, it was a good place to stay after a busy time exploring Cairo...and Cairo is SAFE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I drived for a bussiness trip to Cairo, I stayed to that awsome hostel. Services, rooms everything is excellent. It's really worth money spend on to stay there. The food is outstanding, I was never hungry at mornings or any other meal time because there was so many food. Beds are cleaned everyday comming service and changing the sheets.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patryk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The hotel would have been alright had it not been for the strong desire of the staff to make a few extra bucks by lying at every possible situation.

In our case, we were scammed when buying bus tickets Cairo-Dahab and a tour to Gyza. We arrived with our two children late in the evening and decided to make a reservation for a tour to Gyza with the hotel driver. The price for such a tour was 250 pounds, which is a normal price with the entrance to the pyramids being inclusive (which was CLEARLY stated during reservation). In the morning, when we were going to Gyza with our two children, it turned out that for the 250 pounds, the driver will drive us to the gates of the pyramids and will wait for us there. A taxi to the pyramids costs no more than 20 pounds. We gave the driver 25 pounds and asked him to leave. We ended up doing the pyramids on foot in the high heat, which was a bit difficult considering our two small children.

That aside, upon our return to the hotel, we notified the staff that we will go to the bus station and buy our OWN tickets for the bus to Dahab. The young man at the reception desk insisted that he will do that for us free of charge. We weren't so sure that it was going to be free ( we were prepared to pay for the service due to the convenience) and asked several times if there was a service charge. There was only one response "YOU WILL SEE THE PRICE ON THE TICKETS AND WILL PAY ME WHAT THE TICKETS STATE" (he even mimicked having the ticket in his hand, showing it to us on his palm and running his finger as if underlining the price of the ticket, implying that we are looking at the cost).

The next day, the woman at the reception who gave us our tickets asked for an extra 60 pounds. When we complained, saying that THAT'S not how things should be done, and that we were willing to pay extra, but this should have been mentioned initially, she said she's double check. In the end, she was finding out the information until the last minute, at which point we were on our way out of the hotel and had no choice but to pay extra for the supposed service fees. Finally, when I mentioned that I will certainly write a negative review on booking.com, she dropped the price of the service to a whooping 50 pounds.

Advice to hotel guests: Get everything in writing.

To staff: Get used to not lying to the cutomers. People will gladly pay for the services w/out lies and tricks from you.

Room Tip: 7-th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okka_dva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Excellent location in downtown Cairo, super friendly staff who gave us their number if we needed anything. Good breakfast, great food (and cheap) did I mention great location. Definitely the best value for money hostel I have ever stayed in. Even if it is slightly expensive for egypt. No hesitation in recommending arabesque to anyone visiting Cairo.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is right next to a motorway so it was very noisy however, I think that just might be Cairo reality. The beds had piping on the mattress cover and the small pillows were lumpy so it wasn't a very good nights sleep. The room was a bit dated but had all the basics you need. The location is the best... almost across the road from the museum and close to the main street shopping. I was very annoyed that we were charged extra because we chose Nescafe instead of tea at breakfast. Breakfast was pretty poor. The first day just bread rolls with jam and cheese and the next day we had a boiled egg with the rolls. The staff were helpful and allowed us to store our bags on the last day. Free internet was good!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce and Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

After reading reviews for this hotel, I booked 2 rooms, one for me & my wife and our 4 years old son, and one for my three daughters ages 22,21 & 16. Was shocked to see it. My wife and kids refused to stay there. Went to other much better(and expensive) hotel. It might be good for back packers, but if you want some standard, than stay away from this place. Its "you get what you pay for". If travelling with family, stay as far away from here as you can.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malik786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.0 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#63 of 138 in Cairo
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Museum House Hotel
Museum House Hotel
#43 of 138 in Cairo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#93 of 138 in Cairo
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabesque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabesque Hotel

Property: Arabesque Hotel
Address: 11 Ramsis | From Abdel Moneam Riyad Sqr, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arabesque Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabesque Hotel provide excellent big airy sunny rooms with bathroom inside TV / AC. The hotel itself located in the most magical spot of Cairo Egypt meters away from the museum, River and the main bus Station... Arabesque Hotel pride itself for cleanness, value, safety and staff eager to happily help our guest see you soon in Arabesque Hotel Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Arabesque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing