We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful palce to stay next to Tahrir” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paris Hotel
Ranked #14 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful palce to stay next to Tahrir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is superb clean and tidy accommodation with own WC with a good shower, free reliable wifi, breakfast, and a great host, Walid - what more could you ask for?

I left bags for Walid to keep while I travelled elsewhere and came back - without hesitation. There is no hassle staying in this hotel unlike in other places in Egypt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    49
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
65
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights, the host was very friendly and helpful. The place was clean, comfy and well decorated. The location was perfect, right in the center of town and near the main attractions, but far enough away from Tahir to avoid any trouble. I heartily recommend it to anyone who goes to Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silospen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I go to Cairo on regular basis and I have lived in different hotels every time because I never found anyone that I really liked until now..This is the third time I stay at Paris hotel. It has a central location, free Wifi, the rooms are simple but really nice and clean. But the thing that does it is the owner Walid who is really welcoming, friendly and thrustworthy and he will help you in anyway he can. You will get stories about life in Egypt served with a cup of tea or coffee. You get much more than what you pay for in this really nice hotel.
And it´s safe to go to Cairo allthough you will get another impression from media. As long as you don´t wander in to a demonstration and get caught in the middle there is nothing to be afraid of.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Velho, RO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rooms are quite big, have a high ceiling and are clean "enough" (by egyptian standards). Beds weren't great, but weren't bad also. Probably the mattresses were just worn out.
In out room, the shower was almost "over" the WC and there was no shower curtain or any isolation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. That meant the bathroom was completely flooded every time we used the shower. And, as there was no extra towel on the floor to dry our feet when we left the bathroom, the water on our feet combined with the dirt we brought from the street into the room in order to make our room feel quite dirty quite fast. And, although the room was reasonably clean when we arrived, it wasn't cleaned until we clearly asked the staff to do it (on our third day there).
The bathrooms are not original to the building, being added afterwards. As such, its walls do not reach the ceiling, meaning there's absolutely no insulation whatsoever between the toilet and the room (that can be an "interesting" experience for a shyer couple or if you are staying with a friend).
The whole hotel smells like cigarette. That's a problem throughout the whole country, but the fact that the hotel's common area is relatively small and dark makes it a bigger issue. Being a non smoker, it wasn't nice to have cigarette smoke (lots of it!) for breakfast.
Location is a highlight. The hotel is near the Egyptian Museum (and the adjoining bus stop for the Pyramids) and just two blocks away from the metro. There are good restaurants and cheap eateries nearby (the pizza joint right beside the hotel building's entrance being one of them). Nevertheless, although the hotel is really well located for sightseeing and services, it's extremely noisy (24/7!), which can be a major problem for light sleepers. If you're staying for just a few days in Cairo, as 99% of travelers do, staying near a metro station anywhere else in the city will probably provide you the same benefits of staying in this area, albeit with a better quality of sleep.
The hotel is on the third floor of an old building. The elevator wasn't working when we were there (january, 2013) and our bags weren't as light as we wished they were. That can be a problem for older people, for people with mobility impairment or for people with heavy bags.
Breakfast is the egyptian standard for foreigners: bread, butter, jelly, honey, processed cheese and coffe or tea (it's not much of a choice; that's what you'll get all over the country).
Walid, the owner of the hotel, is its biggest asset. He's very helpful and not at all pushy about tours (and you'll learn how pushy egyptians can be!). He will offer you the usual fair (pyramids tour, etc) but he'll be straight. It's up to you to accept it (or refuse it).
All in all, this is a good egyptian budget hotel. But you have to keep in mind it's an egyptian hotel (regarding cleanliness, cigarette smell and street noise) and it's a budget hotel (regarding the lack of amenities), otherwise you'll be misled by its clearly overrated rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is perfect place for travellers who do not want to spend amounts of money for 5-star hotel. Paris hotel is located in Taalat Harb street, one of the main shopping street near Tahrir Square what makes it very noisy surrounding. But inside, there is calm and very very friendly. It's very basic place but owner, Wali, will share with you everything he has, offering you coffee couple of times a day and chat :) There are only couple of rooms and internet is only working in lobby (would rather call it common space since Paris Hotel is one floor in a building) but is working very well. Beds are comfortable. You cannot complain - for this very cheap price you've got a lot, including social-home atmosphere you cannot have in big hotel. Don't be scary at the entrance to the building - there are some street shops, but inside Paris, there is another world

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wojciechce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Positive: Paris Hostel is in a excellent location, close to Tahrir Square, on a main shopping street with plenty of nearby eating places (including the excellent Egyptian fast food chain Falafela's downstairs). The hotelier, Walid, is genuinely friendly, welcoming and trustworthy, and will provide ample free and good advice for your stay in Cairo, something which is quite hard to find in this city. The rooms are spacious, basically furnished (with single beds, not doubles) but perfectly adequate with a high ceiling and outside balconies. Excellent value for money. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and were serviced on request. Soap and towels were provided. Wifi was good in the common area (none in the room). Free and continuous teas and coffees were available, breakfast was very simple but fine (its not like you're paying much!) and spending some time talking with the hosts Walid and Islam was time well spent. The hotel recommended driver, Ashaf, was good although watch out for hidden extra costs during the day tour - he is straight up but it is up to you to negotiate with tour providers he takes you to. Talk about where you want to go if you do a tour with him. The Hostel were happy to let us use their washing machine which was great.
Negative: Its on about the fourth level and we never found out if the lift worked, but they will happily come and carry your bags if you ask, so less mobile travellers be aware. Its quite noisy, but good luck finding anywhere that isn't - this is Cairo! If you don't like people smoking around you, you will also struggle here - once again - good luck avoiding cigarette smoke anywhere in Cairo! The rooms have a small open topped bathroom / toilet added later and there is no sound privacy within the room when somebody is using the toilet, which is not unusual for budget hotels but something to consider. The shower is over the toilet and makes the bathroom a wet mess for the rest of the day but they do have separate shower cubicles available elsewhere in the Hostel so consider using those. We felt a bit ripped off by the pyramid horse riding tour we were taken to by Ashaf as we had to negotiate this ourselves - this is not the Hostel or even Ashaf's fault but just to warn you to know what you are getting into and consider other options. The Hostel, and indeed all of Egypt, is suffering hugely from tourists staying away due to reports of violent protests. Be aware these are in no way directed at tourists and Cairo appears quite safe for visitors as long as you don't wander into the middle of a full blown demonstration and get accidentally caught between opposing sides. Even then - nobody is mad with foreigners here - you will not be targeted by anyone other than the usual touts and (allegedly) pickpockets! This Hostel is on the outskirts of Tahrir Square itself and we never saw anything that concerned us. Paris Hostel is a great little budget hotel providing truly superior service at rock bottom prices, and an oasis of escape from frenetic Cairo. You won't be disappointed staying here. Oh - it could be bit difficult to find - previous reviewers have given good directions - its at 15 Talaat Harb Street, on the east side of the road, second block north-north-west from Tahrir Square itself (which appears as a roundabout on maps!), right beside a pizza shop and only a few doors away from Cafe Riche (a landmark apparently). My GPS gave it the coordinates Lat: 30° 02' 47" N, Lon: 31° 14' 17" E.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visit in Cairo in 11 15 2012 and stayed here for two night in a private room. Absolutely nothing to argue about considering the price. the hotel is like its name Paris, beautiful and romantic. the host of it is a great man , he its warm heart and nice . and the price is good . u will have a good rest here .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#26 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#11 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Hotel

Property: Paris Hotel
Address: 15 Talaat Harb Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has an excellent central Downtown location, minutes from the Egyptian museum, Tahrir Square, subway station and Nile. From the moment you walk into the lobby you sense the laid-back with a great atmosphere and friendly staff that make you feel at home. We offer clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, spacious rooms with bathrooms and dormitories with shared bathroom facilities. A balcony, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi are available in each room. We have a 24 hour reception desk where our friendly and professional staff can provide you with travel and tourist information. Room service also is available 24 hours a day. An automatic-teller machine is located nearby our hotel. We provide free airport pickup if you're staying longer than three nights. We can arrange custom made tours for you to Giza, Sakkara, Memphis or any other place in Cairo. Trips can be arranged to Aswan and Luxor and also to the Western Desert, Red Sea, and more. price includes: tea/coffee, breakfast, flexible check-out, local and international phone calls, Wi-Fi, kitchen facilities for use, language store. Laundry service and nternet room are available. Credit cards are accepted.If you have some special requirements that are not mentioned just let us know what they are and we will get back to you with an offer. All staff of our hotel tries hard to keep guests happy and we hope that we are succeeding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing