We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chill spot in busy Cairo.”
Review of Dahab Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dahab Hostel
Ranked #1 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chill spot in busy Cairo.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a great choice of hostel for Cairo. The rooms are basic and clean so are the communal bathrooms. I love that it is on a rooftop. It has a great chill out area and the staff are super friendly. If you have extra luggage you can store it there while you travel around the rest of Egypt. The staff were trustworthy and friendly. You can't ask for anything more for the dirt cheap price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daneexxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    107
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
43
146
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012 for a week before moving into an apartment. A friend recommended this place and because of the political situation in the country, I didn't expect to find the place full on arrival. A staff brought me to one of the downstairs hotels and i stayed in a depressing enormous room for one night before getting a single at Dahab. The single room was tiny but good enough for one person and it's reasonably clean. Being on top floor, I love the open terrace that was decorated with green plants, albeit very dusty. Great atmosphere for meeting travelers and interesting people. The only problem for me was the shower, the floor was quite dirty most of the time and I try not to look when I had my shower.
It is on one of the side streets on Midan Talat Harb, short walk to Midn Taharir, metros station and Egyptian museum but surprisingly quiet for the location. Lot of local places to eat a good meal nearby, For a sit down place, try "Gad"-everything is delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Dahab is a lovely place. Very clean, nice private rooms but also plenty of hang out room to chill with other travelers. Since the hostel is on the roof, the noise of traffic isn't so bad and due to all the lush green plants it really is "your oasis in the city." Plus the staff are super cool and knowledgeable of any Cairo info you might need. They even loaned me a sleeping bag for my visit to the desert.
You might want to bring bug spray along or you may suffer a few sleepless nights, other than that- what's not to like about this place!!

Room Tip: The nicest rug is in room #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I found the staff always courteous, never had any security problemsm and the place is very clean, as cleaning staff labours for hours. The owner is young and dynamic - and a cool guy. it is really cool to have a "country" feel on top of a building inside deep cairo. You are close to all the major things to do in Cairo, and right at the steps of the Egyptian Museum. Lots of food shops all along the street - so you won't get hungry. I just wish the Dahab had room service, hmmmmmmm

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsieur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Dahab Hostel has the perfect location in Tahir Square and is close to shops and cafes. I met some awesome people who I travelled into the White Desert with. Room did not have A/C but the fan was better than nothing on a 40 degree Celsius day. Don't be alarmed by the many friendly cats they have around the reception. Great staff and accom was priced so cheap!

Room Tip: There was one heckler who tried to get me to stay at his hotel on a lower level, but just say no and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location, the people were friendly and very helpful.

We didn't book when we went but managed to get the last three bedroom room, which unfortunately had no working fan so was pretty hot at night!

However we got what we paid for, was dirt cheap but clean and showers very communal but nice, sort of like lido showers.

Has a really nice outside area, at night it's lovely and cool.

There's a crazy English woman that work's in the kitchen, God knows why she works there but she serves up a range of things for breakfast, but is a little slow.

All in all very happy with this place.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a working fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph93047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed in Dahab Hostel for about 2 weeks. The staff is very friendly. They can give you directions to any place in cairo, and if you wan't to order food they'll do that for you aswell.

I can guarantee that you are going to meet nice and interesting people here. In the 2 weeks i stayed there I made alot of friends.

They also have a kitchen where you can buy breakfast which is very good. The rooftop is beautiful and good for tanning.

You won't regret staying here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphaël L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahab Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Hostel

Property: Dahab Hostel
Address: 26 Mahmoud Bassiony | Talat Harb Sq., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab Hostel, Your Oasis in the City... It has been open since 1998. It has been registered in all the major guidebooks and has consistently received positive reviews. Dabab Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Cairo. It is just a 3-minute-walking distance to the Egyptian Museum in Tahrir Sq., and within easy reach to the main train and bus stations. Dabab Hostel has its own special charm. It is a collection of whitewashed huts on the rooftop attempting to recreate the feel of Sinai beach camp in an unremittingly urban Downtown Cairo. Once you get inside, you will definitely sense the totally laid-back, chilled out and cozy atmosphere. The outdoor garden area is just superb for lounging around and catching up with other travelers in the evening. The breeze is refreshing and the vibe is incontestable. It is an ideal place for artistic travellers as well. Enjoy the fantastic reggae music played, laying back in the sun, smoking Shisha 'Water pipe' on the rooftop at the Bedwin corner. Sit back & relax, plan your itineraries & catch up with your family & friends by logging onto our new optimized FREE WiFi Broadband Internet coverage for the entire hostel. Our rooms are equipped withprivate facilities and A/C. We have single, double and private dorms available and there are 39 rooms in total. Airport Pickup Service Once you have made your booking, you will be contacted by a staff member to organize it with you. At the airport, you will find our representative waiting for you holding a sign of your name and Dahab hostel, after you finish passport checking and custom clearance. Things to see in the local area Shopping Bazars. Khan El-Khalili Market. Al Azhar Mosque. Old Cairo /Islamic Cairo. Coptic Area. The Citadel. Cairo Tower. Cairo Opera House. In the evenings, the local area has a wide variety of restaurants and lively nightspots. Thank you for choosing Dahab Hostel ... See you soon in Cairo... ...::: NEW :::... Check out our new Deluxe rooms with private facilities and A/C ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dahab Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing