We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hostel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dahab Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dahab Hostel
Ranked #2 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I live in the hostel now for a few months and Im more than satisfied :) Its really green, clean, quiet and cool. Theyve also arranged my stay in Luxor which is really nice. Nice staff and guests, theres always someone to talk to

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARvgldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    77
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
38
100
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaíso, Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at Dahab Hostel in february and I loved it , is such a beautiful place,Special mention to the staff could not have been more friendly, I'm very thankful of all ; Mahmoud M. ,Abdou, Mahmoud H. and Ahmed .. oasis in the city , inspirational place to write on your trip journal of memories... Lovely few cats , I'm a cat lover! ,very comfortable beds to sleep on it, after a whole day in crazy Cairo. I was feelling like home and also I met many nice and good people ..I will definitely return, Inshallah, and have already recommended the hostel too a number of my friends.
Thank you again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbii_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
344 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault this place. Great backpack vibe. Rooftop location terrific, reached by a quaint Swiss c.1874 lift. The EGP45 room a true bargain shower was always hot. I was not on a short budget and got collected from airport on arrival for day at pyramids. Cost EGP300 car and driver, well organised. Very honest helpful people. Let me check-in and print boarding pass no charge. Free excellent Wi-Fi

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DahabHostel, Owner at Dahab Hostel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Glyn,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very cheap with friendly helpful staff, great location and beautiful hostel, lovely rooms.

This is a great travellers hang out. All rooms open out onto a roof top terrace absolutely full of plants (and a few friendly cats).
There are two sets of bathrooms, one with lovely hot water.
A kitchen service provides breakfast (very good, very cheap) plus teas/coffees/flasks of water and many other things throughout the day (from about eight am to five pm).
Above the roof top terrace is another terrace level, which is shaded and gets a cool breeze - perfect to cool off and escape the heat, even at mid-day.

Free wi-fi (the fastest we've had in Egypt so far).

We stayed twelve nights and enjoyed lounging around on all the compfy chairs.

The staff here are very friendly, and more importantly phenomenally helpful.

Met some great interesting people here, total traveller nexus.

Central location 2 mins from subway, nile, egyptian museam, and supermarkets.

Mosque nearby and Cairo itself provide a bit of noise.

Room Tip: Three are three wifi routers, if you want to browse the web from your room ask to get a room near on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samt_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at Dahab hostel for a week in February. This is an amazing place and the best choice if you want to stay in Cairo. Cairo is crazy :) and can be really overwhelming. That's why it is so important to find a good place. After an intense day, trying not to die while crossing the street it is amazing feeling to come back to the hostel, talk with great people, watch stars (yes, this hostel is on the roof!) and just take a breath before another exciting day.
Location of Dahab hostel is perfect - the heart of Cairo. It's easy to get everywhere. Someone wrote here about going to Giza for 30 pounds by taxi - it's true. But if you want to do it even cheaper, much cheaper (4 pounds) and try some other kinds of transport, it is also possible and not difficult. First metro (metro station is 5 min from the hostel, the ticket costs 1 pound) then small bus (3 pounds). You can just ask at the reception, staff knows everything and is really willing to help!
This place is just perfect. Next time I'm n Cairo I'm going to stay at Dahab hostel for sure!

P.s. There is not so many cats. Only 4 :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaAn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab, Egypt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

has a backpackers feel...very authentic
tenants are interesting, mostly well travelled travellors that are sophisticated, eccentric sometimes...makes for great conversation
staff is welcoming, service is nice
located in the heart of cairo, so EVERYTHING is accessable
had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice place to sleep and meet people!!! Next to the egiptian museum and downtown! Seventh floor with great roof where you can enjoy té at anytime! If you take a taxi to the piramids dont pay more than £30 egiptians! One way!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlmo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.3 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#8 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahab Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Hostel

Property: Dahab Hostel
Address: 26 Mahmoud Bassiony | Talat Harb Sq., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab Hostel, Your Oasis in the City... It has been open since 1998. It has been registered in all the major guidebooks and has consistently received positive reviews. Dabab Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Cairo. It is just a 3-minute-walking distance to the Egyptian Museum in Tahrir Sq., and within easy reach to the main train and bus stations. Dabab Hostel has its own special charm. It is a collection of whitewashed huts on the rooftop attempting to recreate the feel of Sinai beach camp in an unremittingly urban Downtown Cairo. Once you get inside, you will definitely sense the totally laid-back, chilled out and cozy atmosphere. The outdoor garden area is just superb for lounging around and catching up with other travelers in the evening. The breeze is refreshing and the vibe is incontestable. It is an ideal place for artistic travellers as well. Enjoy the fantastic reggae music played, laying back in the sun, smoking Shisha 'Water pipe' on the rooftop at the Bedwin corner. Sit back & relax, plan your itineraries & catch up with your family & friends by logging onto our new optimized FREE WiFi Broadband Internet coverage for the entire hostel. Our rooms are equipped withprivate facilities and A/C. We have single, double and private dorms available and there are 39 rooms in total. Airport Pickup Service Once you have made your booking, you will be contacted by a staff member to organize it with you. At the airport, you will find our representative waiting for you holding a sign of your name and Dahab hostel, after you finish passport checking and custom clearance. Things to see in the local area Shopping Bazars. Khan El-Khalili Market. Al Azhar Mosque. Old Cairo /Islamic Cairo. Coptic Area. The Citadel. Cairo Tower. Cairo Opera House. In the evenings, the local area has a wide variety of restaurants and lively nightspots. Thank you for choosing Dahab Hostel ... See you soon in Cairo... ...::: NEW :::... Check out our new Deluxe rooms with private facilities and A/C ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dahab Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing