We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Cairo”
Review of Dahab Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dahab Hostel
Ranked #1 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Cairo”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice place to sleep and meet people!!! Next to the egiptian museum and downtown! Seventh floor with great roof where you can enjoy té at anytime! If you take a taxi to the piramids dont pay more than £30 egiptians! One way!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlmo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    108
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
43
150
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Dahab for three nights in October. It's clean, there are numerous shared bathrooms kept spotless, the wifi is free, there's no shortage of fellow travelers to talk to, a friendly staff, and the location is just a couple blocks walk from Tahrir Square, the Egyptian Museum, the Nile River, and countless good koshery or shwarma restaurants.

Our complaints would include the price (we've since found much nicer rooms nearby at the Sun Hotel for 40 pounds less per night), the lack of privacy in the bathrooms (you're usually sharing them with at least one other person...eww), the fact all the bathrooms are unisex, rooms that were surprisingly ratty compared to the rest of the hostel (really tiny and the beds were just too spongy to be comfortable), cats everywhere you turn meant a lot of fights and torn up kitties, and frequent walks up the seven flights of stairs due to someone inevitably not closing the door all the way. Not a bad hostel, but not that comfortable either.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

In downtown Cairo, located on the roof of a multi-storey building. Great contrast to the noisy dirty city. The most rooms were very simple, they have just two beds. The toilets were OK for Backpacker. There were many nice people and we had great evenings on the rooftop. But the incredible number (we counted more than 30)and therefore bad-looking cats were really shocking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The very basic Dahab Hostel is located in downtown Cairo and offers affordable accommodation in a nice spartan rooftop atmosphere. Rooms and bathrooms were not very convincing, but the nice rooftop helped to relax after a strenuous visit to the streets of Cairo. I would recommended because of the location and the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjnaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Cairo can be a very overwhelming place for newcomers, especially those who travel alone, so it's so important to meet great people and stay in a relaxing hostel. Dahab is the place! I have come here for my year abroad without knowing anyone and speaking the wrong dialect of Arabic, but the staff and guests of Dahab have become my friends and the hostel itself a great base to work, eat, relax and chat. If you want to enjoy the company of others while on holiday, there is not a better place.

Details on the facilities: The rooms are simple but perfect. I slept well on the beds despite some street noise, and the fans are all effective. The showers I have found to be clean and the wifi works very well everywhere.

No more on the details, because I just feel that this place is perfect. The staff are welcoming and genuinely care about their guests. And the other guests are the same, treating each other like family. We order food together and eat it on the terrace (with the cats!) most nights and every time I dread the day that I have to move on. Perfect! Thank you, Dahab!

Room Tip: I moved rooms a couple of times because I stayed longer than I had planned, and each one was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We chose this hostel because it was the cheapest we could findin downtown! It's on the 7th floor and it has a very relaxed, 'outdoor' feel. The only disappointing thing is the shower are very dirty!
The staff are the friendliest people we have met with so much truthful advice!
and if you love cats there are plenty that hang around all day and night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hostel's in an old building which located in the local downtown center and just walk distance to Tahir Square, Museum and metro station as well.
The single room's small but OK, and the staff have been helpful with most of the information for local transportation but lack of accomodation info in other cities.
One of the staff likes to be joking often, it's funny.
The rooftop's super great, I bathed in the sunlight and enjoy drinking and chatting.
the negative thing is the shower, it got NO hot water right after couple seconds I started shower.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethan-on-earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cairo
0.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahab Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Hostel

Property: Dahab Hostel
Address: 26 Mahmoud Bassiony | Talat Harb Sq., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab Hostel, Your Oasis in the City... It has been open since 1998. It has been registered in all the major guidebooks and has consistently received positive reviews. Dabab Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Cairo. It is just a 3-minute-walking distance to the Egyptian Museum in Tahrir Sq., and within easy reach to the main train and bus stations. Dabab Hostel has its own special charm. It is a collection of whitewashed huts on the rooftop attempting to recreate the feel of Sinai beach camp in an unremittingly urban Downtown Cairo. Once you get inside, you will definitely sense the totally laid-back, chilled out and cozy atmosphere. The outdoor garden area is just superb for lounging around and catching up with other travelers in the evening. The breeze is refreshing and the vibe is incontestable. It is an ideal place for artistic travellers as well. Enjoy the fantastic reggae music played, laying back in the sun, smoking Shisha 'Water pipe' on the rooftop at the Bedwin corner. Sit back & relax, plan your itineraries & catch up with your family & friends by logging onto our new optimized FREE WiFi Broadband Internet coverage for the entire hostel. Our rooms are equipped withprivate facilities and A/C. We have single, double and private dorms available and there are 39 rooms in total. Airport Pickup Service Once you have made your booking, you will be contacted by a staff member to organize it with you. At the airport, you will find our representative waiting for you holding a sign of your name and Dahab hostel, after you finish passport checking and custom clearance. Things to see in the local area Shopping Bazars. Khan El-Khalili Market. Al Azhar Mosque. Old Cairo /Islamic Cairo. Coptic Area. The Citadel. Cairo Tower. Cairo Opera House. In the evenings, the local area has a wide variety of restaurants and lively nightspots. Thank you for choosing Dahab Hostel ... See you soon in Cairo... ...::: NEW :::... Check out our new Deluxe rooms with private facilities and A/C ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dahab Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing