We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cairo downtown NEW PALACE”
Review of New Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cairo downtown NEW PALACE”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

hello,

i want to thank the staff of this place. They are really very friendly and want to help you always. Also the place is very close to almost everything what you imagine. Very nice and well for a good price . Keep on doing good in the future !

Room Tip: you have to look good to find it, but once you find it..it is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    3
    3
    15
See reviews for
7
10
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Like the other patrons have said, from the airport to your departure, the staff, especially the owner sees to it that you are taken care of... of course, it is no palace but very strategically located in downtown especially if you want to go to the Egyptian museum, etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2findoneself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aswarby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

New Palace is in the heart of Cairo, close to the Metro , 26 of July, Talat Harb etc, Despite the Hotel is in " downtown" you don't suffer under Cairo's awful noise.The hotel is not a palace but a good and quite place to get new power for new adventures

Room Tip: Take any room towards the side street or on the rear of the hotel and you enjoy a calm night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited 21 countries and stayed at stayed at hundreds of hostels and budget hotels. I can definitely say that The New Palace Hotel was over the top with customer care and service. I was picked at at the airport upon arrival, after an excursion to Sharm El Sheikh I was picked up again at the airport free of charge. The staff ensure your stay is a positive experience, and assisted me with other travel plans in Egypt while staying on my budget. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. I highly recommend The New Palace Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 614, its a corner room and has a nice balcony overlooking Cairo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

In this hotel you get what you pay for and much more. Do not forget you are booking a budget hotel, if you want luxury things, you should pay 200€/night and go to another place in Cairo but you won't have what was the best experience of the three hotels i've been in Egypt.

All the staff is really friendly and make you feel like home, e.g. when I arrived early in the morning i did not have enough L.E. to pay the 2 nights and no problems, they told me 'you can pay whenever you want' so I do not understand he bad comments about the money.

When I asked for the tour to Giza they put me in contact with Mr. Ahmed Essan. I explained that I was traveling alone he explained to me step by step how to reach the pyramids and other tourist attractions in Cario. Also that evening I shared tee, olives and cheese with him in the terrace.

About the hotel:

- Location: the 6th floor of an old building in the center, once you open the door of the elevator if you had bad feeling all of them will go away, it is like entering in the egyptian museum, all the big momuments of the ancient Egypt are decorating the walls

- Rooms: Big room with air conditioning and bathroom, the only reason why I'm not giving a 100% is because the furniture is old but they are renovating the rooms in the main floor so prob. that will change soon.

- Staff: The best, Mahmud and Mr Ahmed helped me a lot and we had very nice conversations during the evening in the terrace. They ask you if everything is ok every time you cross them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBERTO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Is been so lovely and great lodging at New Palace Hotel. This is not ”Never" a wrong bargain staying here. These guys will help you out, in any kind of need both personal is you allow them.
Great Environment, Nice location and excellent hospitality skills. Dr Ahmed and his staffs are down to earth to provide all you need to make your trip/ stay in New Palace a memorable stay always ready to help and assist.

I have been in New Palace for seven weeks now, am a student on transit to Latvia but needed to pick my documents from Cairo to school but due to some delays, I had to exceed my expected stay in Cairo. To my surprise, when I told Dr Ahmed the situation of things " That I have exceeded my accommodation budget and I have only my flight money to school and a small money for my feeding left for the remaining weeks/days to stay". To my surprise he offered me a free accommodation in the hotel for the remaining weeks left for my documents to be approved. I was really surprise to have such an offer.

New Palace is more like a home. At night the "Roof" coffee shop is open for everyone and you have the opportunity to relate with other guests and Dr Ahmad, to share your experiences.

Room Tip: Excellent environment, rooms, services, nice location is at the heart of the downtown Cairo and a sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimble O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you want a home away from home when you're travelling, with the most wonderful, funny and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, great location and to meet the best man in Egypt (the hotel manager), then look no further than New Palace hotel. We arrived at 3am, just 4 girls and the staff made us feel immediately safe, secure and excited to be there, wasting no time to get our holiday going and helped us arrange everything from travel to food. Honestly, this hotel has everything you could wish for and more, especially with the budget prices. The rooftop terrace is a great place to socialize, unwind and eat food. Will definitely book this place again and recommend it to anyone from families to backpackers, its AMAZING!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#65 of 127 in Cairo
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miami Cairo Hostel
Miami Cairo Hostel
#7 of 127 in Cairo
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#13 of 127 in Cairo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
0.3 mi away
The Australian Hostel
The Australian Hostel
#3 of 127 in Cairo
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meramees Hostel
Meramees Hostel
#10 of 127 in Cairo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palace Hotel

Property: New Palace Hotel
Address: 17, Suleiman Al-Halaby, Cairo 1000, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The open air roof garden is only one of the attractive features of this budget hotel. It's a legend among budget travelers and is still one of the cheapest places available in Cairo. The nice roof garden is divided into different parts. Every part resembles different culture of Egyptian life. The restaurant, open 24 hours, has an oriental sitting area, a water fountain and a billiard table free for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your New Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing