We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in Cairo”
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in Cairo”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Booking our first two nights in Cairo at the Hotel Osiris was the best decision we could have made. We had planned an itinery in our minds and our first two nights and decided to figure out the rest once we arrived. The hotel was clean and quiet and a lovely place to relax after days out, especially on the roof terrace. We asked Nabil for help to organise train tickets and from there on he helped to organise our entire trip. We visited the pyramids, took the night train to Aswan, trip to Abu Simbel, 2 nights on a felucca, hotels in Luxor and a trip to Alexandria. He recommended and booked hotels for us, guides, felucca captain and even spoke with us mid trip to make sure everything was going well. It made the entire holiday stress free and relaxed. All of the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamYork_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    121
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
166
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

What a great and surprising location. This hotel is small but worth staying in while in Cairo. It is at the top (12th floor) of a business/residential building with great views. We stayed here for three nights and loved the haven it provided. We easily got around the east side attractions from the hotel (museum, coptic cairo, islamic cairo, and market). Food was great. Only wifi from the lobby. No credit cards, just cash. Be mindful, the showers are very small and water pressure is weak (i think this is due to the fact that there was a 3ft x 3ft shower with no curtain around it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWHATSOUTTHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

First of all, I'd totally recommend that you fly into Cairo, and the hotel will send a car to pick you up. But if you must arrive by bus, the way we did - from Eilat to Taba to Cairo, write to me and I will give you all the info you need.
The Osiris is a family hotel, wonderfully managed by Nabil and his lovely wife Josiane, and by their daughter, Nadine. And they are fluent in Arabic, French, English, Spanish and a cpl of more languages. The service is cozy, welcoming and attentive. Upon arrival we were received by Nabil who in 5 min arranged our tour for the next morning. We left at 7.30 am with our guide Hamada, and without any doubts I can say that he is the best of all the guides we have ever used, in any country that we have had the fortune to visit. Hamada was knowledgeable, friendly, funny, and he tailored the tour to our particular taste. I love history so he told us all the little tidbits that you can't find in books, and also colorful anecdotes of life in present day Egypt. We visited the pyramids and the Sphinx of course, also Djoser, Dahshur and Saqqara, then stopped in Memphis for lunch at a country side restaurant, surrounded by date trees over 30 ft tall. We also learned how to make papyrus the way ancient Egyptians made it, and discovered that carpet making is Egypt is a huge family tradition in the area, with generations of people that learn this art. Needless to say that we were DELIGHTED with our guide Hamada, touring amazing sites in a chauffered van with a/c, that was promptly waiting for us at the end of every tour.
Regarding the hotel, I have read that some guests were displeased by the facilities, particularly the bathrooms. Personally, I thought that the hotel was accurately described by the photos and its website, and I found everything very comfortable, clean and pleasant. The shower may be tricky to use the first time but my husband and I decided to have fun and bathed each other like children, it was actually pretty nice :)
The room rate includes breakfast, which consists of freshly made crepes by Josiane - I miss them every day still!-, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, jam, butter, cheese, coffee or tea and orange juice. Delicious and more than enough to start a day exploring the city!
And the terrace with a view of Cairo is also wonderful. We went up there after touring to rest and have a drink, with Josiane's puppies always coming to welcome us, wagging their tails and asking for a belly rub.
And what about Nabil? Well the man rocks! If you have ever stayed at a 5 star hotel with a 5 star Concierge, you know what I'm talking about. Whatever you need, whenever you want it, he will manage to get it. We decided to leave one day earlier because we figured that we wouldn't have enough time to go to Luxor anyway, and Nabil said that he would get us a private car to drive us back to Taba. An hour later, there it was, a new sedan with a personable, cute driver named Sharif who took us from Cairo to the border in 4 hours, it was waaay better than riding on a van like we did when we arrived, let me tell you! Nabil even took the time to mail my post cards to my friends, and entertained us with stories about Egypt while we waited. Just the type of guy you want taking care of your needs in a foreign country.
In sum, a charming, cozy hotel, that makes you feel like you are staying at your favorite's aunt home. There is nothing that I didn't like. Nabil, Josiane, Nadine, Hamada, they are the ones who made this trip unforgettable. And we will return and look for Hamada to guide us in a trip to Luxor and Asswan, hopefully soon. And we will stay at the Osiris again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This was a great place to stay, we found a variety of people from all cultures & backgrounds and all ages staying there. The owners are friendly & helpful, though it would be to your advantage if you could speak French, we did feel it to be a bit of a disadvantage that we unfortunately couldn't when it came to general conversation with the owners, aside from that it is a gem. The rooms are spotless, the staff & food available are good & the views & location is incredible! Don't be put off by the tiny lift in what seems to be a regular office building, or the journey to the top (where the hotel is located)....it's worth every second to get there & is like a pandora's box once there~!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotcurry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I left my MP3 player at the Hotel Osiris whille there in the spring. When they found the player Nadine kept it at the hotel in the hopes of sending it on with someone returning to Canada. Unable to connect with someone returning here, she instead took the player with her on a trip to France and mailed it to me from there! Personal service at its' best. Thank you Nadine

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This place was a bit odd - on the 12th floor of an office block, which seemed off when we arrived but actually the location is brilliant, walking distance to Zamalek and a couple of metro stations. We found the owners to be a bit grumpy, there was an odd dynamic between them I think. The breakfast was good, but the room we had - 124, 'the best room' - was quite expensive for what it was. The views from the balcony were incredible, however. A good place to stay in Cairo, but try and get a cheaper room...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbdrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelosiris, Owner at Osiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
hello everybody

this post will give me the opportunity to give you prices for 2010-2011 as they are not always up to date in travel books

we have 16 rooms in total so we are a small hotel
our cheapest room is a small single with private balcony and shared bathroom (only shared with 1 other room) for 38 usd
the small single with private bathroom (no view) is 45 usd
the rooms with double bed and private bathroom are 60 usd (for the room not per person)
the rooms with double bed private bathroom and balcony are 68 usd
we have a few triple rooms for 75 usd
and the room mentionned in this post (large triple; 1 double bed + 1 single bed) large balcony and private bathroom is 90 usd
prices include taxes and breakfast

unfortunately we dont always have double rooms available so some people who want to stay with us prefer to book a triple rather than stay elsewhere, which was the case here
price is a subjective notion and depends on the budget of the traveller; some people think we are cheap for our standard (clean; good location... as mentionned in other posts) others like this one think it is pricey; in any case there are no surprises with us;
guests know the price before they arrive; they can check the photos of the rooms on our website, they know exactly what we have and what we dont have (no tv; no fridge or coffee machine in the room....) so in the end it is your decision; if the price is right for you or not...
so hopefully we'll see some of you in the near future, and to the others we wish you an excellent stay in cairo

nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here in September of 2010 on two occasions and it was an excellent experience! Located in the heart of Cairo within walking distance of the Egyptian Museum, the staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms spotlessly clean and simple,yet somehow full of character. There is a great terrace on which breakfast is served looking out across Cairo, and as the hotel is located on the top floor of a building it also has a beautiful roof top area where you can relax in the evening and during the heat of the afternoon. Again the views are great towards Cairo tower on one side and the Citadel on the other. Breakfast was included in our stay and was simple but filling. The proprietors are able to arrange airport transfers for you and can also do other trips if you require. You can also bring back takeaway food to eat on the roof, or you can have a meal prepared at the hotel if you wish.
I'd highly recommend the Osiris to anyone looking for a hotel full of character in the super location in the middle of a great city!I'll be coming back for certain next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#42 of 137 in Cairo
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
232 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing