We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charismatic and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Osiris Hotel
Ranked #34 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charismatic and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights upon our arrival in Cairo. This is a very basic hotel, but is clean, with friendly staff and a safe and inviting interior.

The hotel is on a dead end street (meaning you have at least a few metres before having to dodge Cairo's traffic) and is located close to the museum and Tahrir Square.

We organised a day tour of Giza, Saqqara and Dashur through the hotel and found both the driver and the guide to be fantastic. We also booked airport transfers through the hotel which were cheap (100 EGP) and so much safer than the taxi that we flagged down ourselves.

We found the breakfast very enjoyable. It was a simple, but tasty, continental breakfast which included freshly squeezed orange juice.

The bed that we had was average, but it did the job.

The most off putting thing about this hotel is the lift that is required to access it. There is no door, it's small and as it ascends it grinds noisily past the 11 other floors. Not fun! I would, however, risk it again to stay at Osiris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    119
    38
    14
    9
See reviews for
60
162
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a welcoming 12th floor hotel in central Cairo just a few minutes walk from Tahrir Sqaure and conveniently close to the shopping district, museum and metro station. We came into Cairo by train and it was very easy to use the metro to get to Osiris. The staff are caring, welcoming and helped organize transport to the pyramids etc at a reasonable price. The breakfast was simple but generous. The rooftop was lovely in the evenings with a great view over the city to the Citadel. The room was a generous size and we had a balcony with table and chairs which was nice too. It was quiet, easy to sleep. The wifi worked well and was free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlisAquilae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The best aspect of this hotel is the great view of downtown Cairo if you happen to have a room with a balcony which we had. Breakfeasts were truly mediocre; very slow service and very poor fare, coffee was especially bad. Wifi in the common area only which was surprising as we paid 40 euros a night for the room. Each time we asked for service, we had the impression of disturbing the staff; very unpleasant feeling. No smiles from the staff and we heard some comments of other customers who told us they had the same feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

It is hard to know where to begin describing what a wonderful time we had staying at the Osiris Hotel when we visited Cairo. It might be best to start with the staff. They were always genuinely cheerful and helpful.

When we planned our trip, we purposely picked small family run hotels for our stay. The hope was that we would get a more personal experience and contact with the Egyptian people. Osiris did not disappoint on that score.

We are a family of four (two girls ages 11 and 15) and we shared one large, comfortable room with bath. The room and the hotel are kept very clean. Perched 12 stories above the street, there was a sense of quiet that was a welcome refuge from the clamor of the Cairo traffic.

In the morning, a nice breakfast was served. While having breakfast, It was fun to watch the children assemble at the school below and sing what sounded like a patriotic song before classes. The call to prayer was a little earlier and added to the charming atmosphere. We had two delicious chicken dinners at the hotel as well. You need to request dinner in advance.

We also found the shop keepers in the surrounding neighborhood to be quite friendly. In particular, we enjoyed the staff and food at a little corner shwerma shop called Salsa. It is about one block down the street (same side) from the well known restaurant Felfela. Not only was the staff a pleasure to deal with, we could feed our whole family for 40 pounds (including tip). That is about $9.

We did avail ourselves of Osiris' tour services. Having the hotel take care of the taxi to and from the airport cost more than hiring one off the street, but it was well worth the money to be freed from that hassle and unreliabiltiy. We also got a very good driver to take us to the pyramids at Dashur, Saqqara, and Giza. Best of all, Nabil (the owner) chose to drive us himself to Faiyum. That trip was one of the highlights of our stay. While we were there, Nabil took us to Evelyn Porret's pottery school, which was a special treat. I had known her family many decades ago and was a pleasure to make that connection again. We did have a bit of buyer's remorse about the pottery we bought. When we got home we discovered we really should have purchased much more. The designs of her students are truly lovely. The natural wonder and beauty of the desert south of Faiyum was very impressive as well. We had a memorable lunch at a pavilion beside the lakes in the national park there.

I could write much more, but in the end, it would only be to add to our very strong recommendation of this pleasant hotel. This was my 3rd trip to Egypt spanning 40 years and in many ways it was the best. Certainly our time at Osiris is a part of that impression.

Thomas Laxar
March 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A quick stopover for a night in Cairo took us to the Osiris in January 2013. It's pretty much in the middle of a bustling intersection about 400 yards from Tahir Square, but being on the twelfth floor, it's a good escape from the hustle and bustle below (just be prepared for the lift with a mind of its own - we regularly stopped at Floor 3-1/2 on the way up!!)

Once you get to the top floor, you get clean rooms, decent facilities, good service, and a lovely breakfast on the twelfth floor terrace.

Just to add that we were arriving in Cairo on the overnight sleeper train from Luxor - due to arrive at 8.30am, delays meant we didn't actually pitch up until early afternoon. Despite not being able to let them know we would be late, Mr Nasir the proprietor took it all in his stride and there were no hassles whatsoever.

If you're looking for a budget hotel for a short stay, I would recommend the Osiris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Smudgeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

So good to see a clean room and bathroom with no insects and mosquitoes in cairo... at last a large bathroom with a shower curtain around the stall and good hot water pressure... i liked the location ... agree with most that the night staff lacks enthusiasm but they are only two teenage kids who i think don't speak a lot of english.. just two things to keep in mind...in the room i had there were only two electrical outlets so make sure u have an outlet tree and the hotel is quite small; so if u keep very late hours or your neighbor does, you will hear it... otherwise, enjoyed getting clean towels everyday and bed made everyday.. would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel2findoneself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Osiris with my family (total 5) on basis of recommendation from the Lonely Planet and recommendations here on TripAdvisor. We returned from Aswan and Luxor to spend an additional day here.

We found the place conveniently located, clean and attractive but not a good value for money and we had to constantly stay on top of our bill calculations (stressful).

We were quoted a rate of 70 euros/night for the family room. At the time of checkout the first time, the owner Nabil was calculating on basis of 75 euros a night. He said that the rates had changed and Sophie did not know it. I pulled out the email from Sophie and Nabil changed the rate back to 70 euros.

After travelling to Aswan (place on the Nile for 5, $28/night) and Luxor (West Bank, on the Nile for $59/night, 2 bedroom apartment), I concluded that this place was way too expensive but we had left some luggage with Nabil and thought it would be too disruptive to ourselves to switch hotels.

In prep for the second checkout, I was equipped with the exchange rates. Nabil was charging the room at 700 L.E. for the night. I told him the LE to Euro rate was 8.43, not 10. He recalculated at 8.50 and I was too tired to ask for another recalculation. We paid what we could with LE, and the rest in dollars. Again, Nabil came up with $165 for the balance but agreed when I showed him that it should be $149. He agreed. My point, the difference between $165 and $149 is not minor.

Bottom line, I felt I had to stay on top of every calculation Nabil was making and this is not pleasant for me.

Also I felt that the 340 LE charged for the airport pickup and half day of sight seeing was too much, given all the microbusses we rented the entire trip.

Today on trip advisor, I tried a mock booking and found that the same room I booked for 70 euros per night can be had for 60 dollars per night (it.s been 2 days since we checked out). So definately I overpaid a lot for my 4 nights there.

On the positive side, I did find the staff helpful and responsive but shy. Nabil was nice to talk to on many topics (other than billing) and he gave me insight into Egypt. I walked to Tahrir and Egyptian museum. The rooftop provides good views but needs a thorough cleaning. And my family made dinner out of the lentil soup they serve, on several nights.

Overall, I would recommend this place, on the condition you clearly know in advance you are getting the best price, and you stay on top of every billing calculation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoydeepChakravarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#26 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#46 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nile Season Hotel
Nile Season Hotel
#59 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Property: Osiris Hotel
Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#24 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing