We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!!”
Review of Meramees Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meramees Hostel
Ranked #7 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and Meramees is the best I've ever found. It was clean, comfortable, had good atmosphere, was in a good location, and had a fantastic staff that made our stay even better. I traveled to Cairo with 3 friends, and we were all extremely happy with our experience at Meramees. We met other friendly travelers in the common room (which is super cute and comfy to hang out in) - including a female traveling by herself who felt completely at home there. The staff gave us great suggestions and directions to where we wanted to go, and were also fun to hang out with especially Ahmed and Mustafa!! One night we cooked dinner in the small kitchen and had a quiet and enjoyable night in the hostel. Just a couple things to know - its very easy to get yourself to the pyramids, don't need to book any drivers or guides (just haggle with the cabs!!) and the "breakfast" at the hostel is just tea/coffee and bread with butter and jam. Overall the comfort of the hostel and the friendliness of the staff made this the best place to stay though!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeb483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

Okay, you decided to stay in a hostel, to be thrifty, and meet new people. That being said, know that you get what you pay for. Some of the rooms smell odd, but that is easily overlooked. If you are an early riser, you will not mind the mosque next door. First prayer starts at sunrise, so roughly plan on either bringing ear plugs or waking up at 5:30 every morning.

We were picked up from the airport by a very talkative driver, Sayid, and he provided a good introduction even for it being past midnight and us being extremely jet-lagged.

The bed was comfortable, and the staff are really very nice. They will go out of their way to help you, but be careful, they might try to scam you on overpaying for taxis and tours, etc. But this is really just the nature of the beast for Egypt. The internet is also very cheap (5 pounds per hour).

The breakfast is simple but filling: 3 big pieces of bread and an assortment of jams and jellies along with your choice of coffee or tea (the coffee was amazing).

The location is amazing and you can basically walk to anywhere in central downtown Cairo from here. Do not get freaked out upon arriving at the hostel, it looks like it's been through a couple wars and the elevator is from pre-World War I, but it still works. This is honestly how most Cairo hostels look.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odysseus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

All hostels in Cairo are below average. I stayed at the Meramees which was rated well online but it was pretty dirty and the building looked like it was completely falling apart with deseased cats all over the place plus it was literally right next door to a mosque which shouted prayer round ups 5 times a day through the loud speakers. I thought this hostel was particularly bad but then I poked my head into 2 others and they are actually all the same. Other than the pyramids and the Egyptian museum, Cairo has the least to offer of all the Egyptian cities. 2 days max is all you need to spend there.

1  Thank lisajeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We visited Cairo in Sept 2009. I booked meramees based on recommendations on the blogs. And I'm glad I did.

Adil and his friends made us comfortable, were accomodating (tea at 530am - thanks), did not hard sell anything. The wifi was quick and always up!

The room was comfortable (the only niggle is that the toilet is dedicated but is accessible from outside the room) - Adil's english was fantastic (trust me!). Sanna (?) who picked us up from the airport was very nice and courteous and a good driver!

At 110 EGP, it was a lovely deal. If I ever go back to Egypt, I'll go back to them straight. Of course, his other friends who run it aren't as nice as he is, but that's partly the language issue!

PS: Despite being as stingy as we are - they were the only hotel we tipped!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maddash-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel is just of the side streets of Talat Harb, one of the main arteries to downtown Cairo. It is walking distance to the Nile, riverfront hotels, Egyptian Museum, and there are many eateries in the area at night when it is still bustling. Only a short cab ride away from the Old Fatimid Cairo.

The staff are young and very friendly and able to sort out things like mobile chargers, internet, and they have skype installed on their computers which is brilliant. The rooms are nicer then the Luna (nearby) and much quieter as well.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheikhSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed here for a few days in June. It was very hot, but we didn't notice because the AC worked so well. The rooms were clean and showers as hot as you want. We booked our pyramids tour w/ the hostel for 180 LE. You can get one cheaper, but the driver was good in an air-conditioned car, didn't make any needless stops, and we saw Giza, Dashur, and Saqquara. The staff was amazing. They were very helpful in helping us order food (pizza hut delivers), tell us where budget eats are (Kazza is a few doors down). The only downside is the wifi doesn't reach the rooms, so you have to use the common computers (there are only two and the staff needs to use them too) and it's non-air conditioned. This wouldn't be a problem in the winter.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gte926p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We got a double room with bathroom inside, staff was friendly and they don't push you to get the tours they offer, we were offered a tour but it was too expensive.
The building where is the hostel is a dirty, decrepit one, but at least the lift still works.
Is not too bad, but there are better options, we were recommended a place to eat cheaply in the same street of the hostel, a place called Kahzas, but the service was awful, I would not recommended it at all

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rulde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
8.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#89 of 139 in Cairo
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#67 of 139 in Cairo
81 reviews
8.4 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#17 of 131 in Cairo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 64 in Cairo
63 reviews
8.3 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#2 of 131 in Cairo
295 reviews
8.1 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#66 of 131 in Cairo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meramees Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meramees Hostel

Address: 32 Sabri Abou Alam Street | 5th Floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: $12 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Meramees Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meramees Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meramees Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing