We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally adequate tourist hotel”
Review of Havana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Havana Hotel
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Totally adequate tourist hotel”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during the xmas holidays.
We found everything perfectly good at the hotel. We had 2 rooms both of good sizes and nice and clean.
Good breakfast in the morning.
Great help from the reception staff when our taxi to the Sinai that we had booked ourselves in Tahrir Square arrived and wasn't big enough!
We liked the area with good shops, great places to eat nearby and felt very safe.
We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaniemireille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
52
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Since im a woman and travelled to Egypt all alone, i was a bit worried about everything, but alhamdulillah i found the hotel and it's staff very great and inshAllah If I could travel to Egypt once again, I would definitely choose the Havana Hotel because I am totally satisfied with the hotel itself and with their staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocska_beata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights. The lobby gives a good appearance and the staff are generally welcoming. The room was spacious and well appointed for the money - almost a suite with a separate seating area. The window didn't close securely, though, and the shower was a bit mildewy. The bed was uncomfortably hard; we woke up sore. There was free wifi in rooms, but it was a bit spotty. Breakfast was complementary but kinda blah.
Ultimately, they didn't honor the special offer they advertised on TripAdvisor, claiming the price they quoted me well before I ever presented the coupon already reflected the discount. Once the receptionist refused to take off the discount at checkout, he then asked us to fill out comment cards, read them in front of us, then drilled us on why we marked certain things like breakfast and room maintenance merely 'fair'.
We were considering using this hotel as a regular base for project staff while in Cairo, but after this experience, we'll keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from both the stairs and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Best trip of my life!, definitely I recommend it to anyone coming to Egypt, everything that was specified on the Internet in Havana Hotel web page was fulfilled, great hotel, great quality of service and food, great tour guides at an incredible affordable price, looking forward to come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was in Cairo during my Christmas vacation ( for 12 days) to visit friends and take a short Arabic course and I was very happy I chose Hotel Havana. First of all, I love Mohandeseen, it is better than staying in the chaotic city centre and it has everything you could possibly need, and it is close enough to everything else by Taxi. It is true, as stated in other reviews that the hotel is on a busy street so it could be noisy to a light sleeper but I did not have this problem. The internet connection does exist and Wifi is free and throughout the whole hotel but I did have some connection problems which most of the time the staff was more than happy to help me with. The staff is really nice and the rooms are VERY clean. The breakfast is good although I would have preferred to have more fruit choices and actual fruit juice. I REALLY enjoyed the lunch, which I thought was very well presented and prepared. The restaurant staff is awesome and room service was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel, I think you really get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnabeya1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel occupies the two first stories of a residential building and seems to be in the past apartments that are transformed. That perhaps explains the arrangement of the rooms: two or three in the front of the noisy road but all others in the two sides with direct view to another side building with only few meters distance. So, the rooms are very dark and a little bit old. The furnitures are minimal and the beds are noisy and hardest than orthopaedics. The restaurant can be used only if you are very patient or have nothing to do in the afternoon...
However, it is clean and the reception staffs are friendly and the free airport pickup is appreciated (with “kamikaze” driver but it seems to be common in Cairo…).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roro-de-Bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked a room almost 4 weeks before my arrival. Received an email from management confirming my booking.
As I arrived in Cairo early, I left my luggage at the reception to do a bit of sightseeing. At the time, the reception guy checked my booking and everything is fine.
However, when I was back at the hotel at 1300 to check-in I was told by a different guy that they do not have a room for me!! Was told that they have a maintenance issue and the hotel is full.
They booked me into a different hotel and I have no choice but to accept it as I am desperate for a rest after almost 24 hour of no sleep.
Will stay clear of this hotel in the future.

ps. i noticed the hotel proudly display their 4 star tripadvisor rating on the reception wall. based on my experience, this is definitely overrated!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osama_azmi, General Manager at Havana Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are very dissapointed to here of your upsetting experience. In particular we are sorry you did not have the opportunity to experinece a stay at Havana which would have given you the chance to give a fair and more fully rounded review on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologise unrservedly on behalf of myself and our staff for the unfortunate situation that ended up with us bieng unable to provide you with a room. We had a maintenecae issue as explained to you which left us unable to give u a room to the standard that both you and we at Havana would expect. My staff did their best to find you an alternative hotel and we sent our bell boy Mahmoud to accompany you and your baggage by taxi, for which we paid. Our clients comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and when we fail to achieve this it pains us becuase we take these occurrences very seriously and personally. Once again, we are very sorry we were not able to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#77 of 138 in Cairo
72 reviews
2.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#71 of 138 in Cairo
162 reviews
2.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 138 in Cairo
380 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Hotel

Property: Havana Hotel
Address: 26 Syria St | Mohandseen, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo Egypt, 30 min to the pyramids. 25 air conditioned rooms with power shower in private bathroom. Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours, laundry, free wireless internet and conference room. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing