We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“pretty rooms! very clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talisman Hotel de Charme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Talisman Hotel de Charme
Ranked #54 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretty rooms! very clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

we really liked the great style of the rooms and the common areas! You might find it normal but its rare in Egypt. So this is why we recommend it for style lovers!! Its also very clean!

We had given best ratings if the breakfast would not be so super simple. Even there is a lot of staff running around you cannot get fried eggs (just a boiled one). There is toast and jam but no honey. A glass of fresh orange juice is served though. The staff at the reception is friendly but must be awaken each time from watching utube. The most difficult thing was to find the hotel - its located in a huge dusty belle-epoque building on the 5th floor. Also a small sign indicates it!!!!

free WIFI :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank axel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
94
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Downtown Cairo is a bustling place. Lovely to find a quiet hotel in the middle of it to return to in the evening. Everyone's right about the entrance, but once you're inside it's perfectly fine. Lovingly decorated, a far cry from all the bland hotel rooms you normally get. Friendly staff, gave us good tips on restaurants etc. And most importantly: GO TO EGYPT, PLEASE! We are two ladies in our fifties and felt perfectly safe in Cairo. We were there from Xmas till New Years Eve 2012, Tahrir square was deserted, no threat at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dutchcoupleRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had booked this hotel several times over the past few years, only to have to cancel due to the unstable political situation. This time we were wary, but went ahead with our plans--and were glad that we did! The highlight of our stay at the Talisman Hotel besides the lovely decor, soundproof rooms with balcony, and personalized service, was the collaboration they have with the "Adventure in Egypt" Tour service. We were met at the airport by Hamdi, the Tour Operator and could choose our options for sightseeing over the next few days. Once again Cairo was in the midst of demonstrations and the hotel is quite near Tahrir Square in the heart of the city. But our Guide Shaima, and the very adept Driver got us to the Pyramids and were able to navigate the chaos of the city to provide opportunities for us to see everything that we had planned. We only hope that sometime in the future, Cairo will again be a stable and welcoming place for tourists.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a side alley rather than the main street and was very quiet. All rooms are on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Faith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Pros: The location is fantastic for sightseeing in Downtown, Islamic Cairo and Coptic Cairo. Hotel is clean, beautifully decorated and well soundproofed. Staff are very friendly. Free internet. Breakfast was fine 50% of the time (see Cons).

Cons: Breakfast is supposedly served until 11am. When we arrived at 9am on our second morning there was virtually no food left and no effort was made to replenish the buffet. We had to ask for bread. This is unacceptable in a hotel at this price level, and just came across as unprofessional and mean.

If location is important to you but you still want a degree of comfort, the Talisman is just about worth the price. For the same price you could stay in a more luxurious hotel where they don't run out of breakfast two hours before the end of breakfast time, but you'll probably need to get taxis everywhere and spend precious time stuck in hellish traffic. Your call ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The talisman was a nice find if you are searching for a cozy hotel in the heart of Cairo. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A short walk to the Nile, but be careful not to get run over crossing the street...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank juscyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I booked my two night's stay at The Talisman through I-escape and everything I read on beforehand turned out to be true; an unwelcoming facade and entrance area, an elevator fitting perfectly into a Agatha Christie novel before entering and old fashionable fifth floor where Talisman rules.

It's furnished with antiques, beautiful tapestries and colourful fabrics and my room was spotless as was a well equipped bathroom. Bed linen and towels are fresh and delicate. Every room has a safe and there's free wifi all over the hotel.

Breakfast is simple and tasty. Staff is super friendly and do all they can to make your Cairo stay a memorable one.

On a final note I must underline
Talisman's brilliant location. Nasser metro station is only a 5 min walk away as is Tahrir square. The Cairo traffic tends to be a nightmare so take the metro whenever you can.

If you have read as far as this, you have probably worked out that I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

When I go to Cairo I usually stay in one of the five star chain hotels in zamalek. I grew tired of some of their overpriced bad service and wanted to try something original. I was always afraid of trying small hotels in Cairo but this time I gave it a try, following the recommendation of a friend that I trust. I loved it. Great location, right off tahreer square, in the middle of the city. The rooms feel like chambers in an old castle, with grandeur but not preetentious, and as clean as it gets in Cairo, with large comfortable beds with beautiful covers. The bathroom is also in the same style. The hotel has a lot of small salon spaces, and they offer a simple, yet tasty breakfast, with cute little cumin croissants. I loved my stay here, and the staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MazenKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Belle Epoque
Villa Belle Epoque
#43 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gabriel Hotel
The Gabriel Hotel
#47 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#32 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Hotel de charme
Le Riad Hotel de charme
#42 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#93 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talisman Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talisman Hotel de Charme

Property: Talisman Hotel de Charme
Address: 39 Talat Harb Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Talisman Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Talisman Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing