We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”
Review of The Karvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Karvin Hotel
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel. It's close to the airport which is very useful to avoid missing your flight cause you're stuck in Cairo's traffic. But the hotel is also really nice! Clean and neat. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

The hot water in our room was only enough for one shower, we found out.. Best to check the little thermometer thing on the water heater before you jump in.

Breakfast was very good and included some Indian things, which was a nice surprise. We had dinner at the Indian restaurant in the hotel, the food was really good but the atmosphere there wasn't so charming. No windows and a bit too smokey from cigarettes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linnea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
12
22
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall, a wonderful feeling of a home away from home. The staff was wonderful and the food was outstanding. I prefer business hotels, because they rely on repeat customers. The Kaval is that, but also a very good place from which to see Cairo and the surrounding areas.

The manager and his wife seemed always to be around, greeting everybody personally and making everybody feel at home. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Everyone spoke excellent English and helped us with numerous stupid tourist questions. We used the hotel driver, Esam, who was prompt, efficient, and courteous. The waitstaff in the restaurants were not just helpful, but eager to assist us. One even helped me with the seasonings to acquire a taste for the Egyptian fava beans (fuul?) and the boiled whole wheat for breakfast.

My wife and I had the best Indian food we've ever had at the hotel. The Chinese food was also excellent; in fact all the food we had there was superb. A nice feature is that you can order anything from any of the restaurants in any of them, even the rooftop bar. In the US, hotels pretty much serve food because it is expected and to get the markup on the beverege business, but at the Kaval, the food is a draw in itself. And the rooftop bar is a draw for the younger set, which seemed to be mostly locals.

There was some unrest in Egypt when we were there, but we felt safe and secure in the Kaval. It was close to the museum and other places we wanted to see, but out of the way. The staff and manager advised us on all sorts of things we needed to know, like shopping, money changing, etc. Also where and when to go safely to places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having experienced three separate stays in the hotel, I can vouch for the care and concern of the owner and manager and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The three restaurants are a plus, providing traditional, Indian, and Chinese food. I'm amazed at the popularity of the rooftop terrace. Of the approximately six nights I have visited the rooftop, it was full each time, with what appeared to be both hotel guests and Cairo residents. That certainly speaks for its appeal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I traveled to Egypt for the first time recently and stayed over 2 weeks at the Karvin, since it was centrally located to the universities and easy to access Tahrir square area, all places I needed to go to meet with folks to learn more about Egypt. What I loved about the Karvin was the incredibly warm and friendly staff who went out of their way to be friendly, generous with their time, and helped me get to know the country just a bit more. Having 3 restaurants, one on the roof (!) made getting food easy, and it was delicious. I walked the neighborhood a lot, and while crossing major streets is always a major challenge on foot in Cairo, there are quite a few little work-arounds so you can cover a lot of ground on foot and not get stuck forever waiting to cross a street! And if you need a taxi, the staff always assisted with lining up friendly drivers who made sure I got to where I wanted to go-even when I had less than perfect addresses! You can find fancier places, for sure, but few where you feel so warmly welcomed. I felt like I left friends when I departed, not a sterile hotel. Would definitely stay here again when I return, which I will!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregTuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

karvin hotel is a very convenient place to stay in while you are in business, however I do recommend if the owner or whoever responsible to change the furniture as it is too old and not comfortable enough. in the meantime, the TV sets should be changed for LCD or LED. for myself, I am always book at Karvin in all my business trips in Cairo.

Room Tip: book on south side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times now. It's my preferred place when I go to Cairo. It doesn't have a nice view but if you need a clean place with a decent room where you can rest , that is the perfect place. They have a couple of nice restaurants with nice food and again with a decent price. The rooms with the queen bed is slightly small but it's ok. The location is perfect if you won't go to the other side of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a medium range hotel, well located in Heliopolis, where all essential facilities can be found, in particular three good restaurants (Italian, Chines, and particularly the Indian one). The terrasse at the top floor is in itself a jewel, as you can sip a "mango lassee", a mint tea, or a beer, while watching the stars and breathing cool air at night. Staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel manager can give you excellent guidance on what to see in Cairo. Rooms are simple and slightly old fashioned. Bathroom also, and some fixtures and devices may not be always functioning properly. This is also why the price is still acceptable, for what is overall a very pleasant place to stay in.

Room Tip: Better higher up in the building, where nearby dogs cannot be heard, and fresh outside air can enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertrand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.0 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#107 of 138 in Cairo
37 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tolip EL Narges
Tolip EL Narges
#45 of 138 in Cairo
11 reviews
6.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#87 of 138 in Cairo
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#49 of 138 in Cairo
47 reviews
2.4 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#79 of 138 in Cairo
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Karvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Karvin Hotel

Property: The Karvin Hotel
Address: 11, Mohamed Ebeid Street, off Nozha Street | El Sabaa Emarat Square, Heliopolis, Cairo 11341, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Karvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karvin Hotel is "A Home Away From Home...."Conveniently located in an exclusive area of Heliopolis, Cairo. It is close to tourist destinations, Cairo International airport, the conference center and Cairo exhibition center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Karvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karvin Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing