We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am sorry that it took me so long to write my review on this hotel. We stayed for 5 beautiful days and nights at Fairmont. We really loved Cairo as it was our first visit and the hotel made it even lovelier. The staff was exceptional, always ready to fulfill all our wishes. We stayed on the 8th floor (the gold section) with stunning views of the Nile. At the time we were staying at the hotel, the roof top pool was being renovated, so we did not have the chance to use it. We had a couple of dinners at Fairmont's restaurants, the food was divine. Very luxuriously elegant hotel, very clean with attention to detail. Many belated thanks to all the staff who made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Nile. Rooms on the 8th floor were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Rigaina,

Greetings from the Jewel on the Nile!

We were privileged to have you with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Land of the Pharaohs and Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    306
    90
    54
    64
See reviews for
302
449
155
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the world
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a Gem. The Fairmont is really classy, elegant and very clean. The service is impeccable and staff always ready to help and go that extra mile to exceed one's expectations. The roof top pool is really nice although a bit crowded when I was there, however the view of the river Nile is just impresssive. All facilities were up to a 5 star standard. Breakfast very good and there is a good mixture of restaurants where one can dine. Enjoyed really the lebanese restaurant, relaxing, chiling, with very good food, and wine. Next to the hotel there is a small mall with a cinema and shops. In the hotel itself there is a Casino. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience luxury with very good rates.

Room Tip: My Room on the 19th floor was very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikitheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from the Jewel on the Nile!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us.

We greatly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the land of the Pharaohs and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I love this Hotel! Nice views to Neil rocer and amazing staff! I will back sure!

One of the best thinks is the Gym!! All machines are ready for your workout time, fitness or cicling!

The breakfast was unbelievable, all kinds of food! One of the best buffets of my life! I Love it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mr. John,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your generous comments with the hotel team as it is a tremendous source of motivation for us.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here on a whirlwind trip to Cairo to see the pyramids. Post revolution cairo is not a great place to be from a tourist perspective - people were too scared to break the law while hosni was in power ( for all his faults ) they now is practically no law and it is every man for himself resulting in a challenging experience from the moment you get off the plane. Everybody is hustling you and on the take - and I mean everybody.

Checking into the Fairmont was an oasis in the middle of this and actually made the trip bearable. Rooms were great , wifi was fast and food was worth eating.

The concierge team were fantastic, in particular a young gentleman by the name of Badawa (sorry if I have not spelt it correctly - an ex employee of the 4 seasons)

Badawa took a personal interest in ensuring that we got the most out of Cairo (positively) an even offered some fantastic advice regarding what my wide should wear to avoid unwanted male attention whilst in the city. He was fantastic and when I offered a hefty tip at the end o our stay as a token of my appreciation he refused to take it citing that he was an ambassador of Egypt and wanted to show that not everybody in Egypt was on the take - what a guy! If the management at Fairmont are reading this please ensure he is rewarded appropriately for his dedication to his role.

Aside from this there are a few downsides to the Fairmont that would stop my staying there again. I was consistently served stale wine as being a Muslim country most staff have no knowledge of alcohol and how long a bottle can be opened for , in addition to most not having the knowledge to use a waiters friend to open a cork bottle.

Also for a 5 star business hotel I expected better language skills that were on offer in addition to compensation for things that did not go to plan . For example our room was next to a gentleman who was having a screaming match with his partner from 12 - 3 am - when we made mention of this to staff nothing was done o stop this and not were we compensated for this on checkout - this is not 5 star service .

Finally - the hotel is not in a great location - while being on the main drag you can't really walk anywhere. The streets outside are crawling with street urchins and dodgy folks which is not ideal if you are the type o traveller that likes to go for a walk instead . This is not a Fairmont specific comment, the same could be said for all downtown / central hotels on the Nile.

If I had my time again I would stay on zemalek as there is plenty to eat , drink and see on foot from the hotels .

Overall - we had a pleasant enough stay and felt safe and looked after the while time with just a few minor speed bumps that got in the way of this stay getting a 4 out of 5. I would say 3 out of 5 in cairo is a pretty good mark!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micx0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. Your kind comments have been conveyed to Badawy from our concierge team which was greatly motivational for him.

Regarding the wine and noise incidents, please accept our sincerest apology for failing to meet your expectation. We have addressed the issues with our colleagues at the hotel as your comments concur with our beliefs that the only way of exceeding guest expectations is through continuous training and accepting constructive comments as yours.

Once again, apologizes for any inconvenience this might have caused and we hope that these incidents will not mar your impression of Fairmont Nile City Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Since the revolution there is a lot less tourism in Egypt, so hotels now mainly make their living from events (weddings, engagements, parties etc) so almost any big hotel in Cairo will have a certain level of party noise on some nights.

But Fairmont Nile City offered us sleeping rooms on different sides of the hotel, away from the noise, letting us keep all our stuff in our room but go sleep in other rooms for the night in case the noise might disturb us - now that is problem solving = good customer service.

I had dietary requirements and they met them all, specially arranging with the headchef of each restaurant in the hotel so they would be ready for us and briefed. The management were always making sure we were happy and if there was any slight hiccup they would bend over backwards to fix things. This is especially important, as nothing in the world is perfect, sometimes there is a little something, but a hotel that deals with these efficiently, a hotel that is good at conflict resolution, that is a hotel that stands out in Cairo.

We had previously been regularly staying at Sofitel El Gezirah, but since the revolution it has changed, so it was amazing to try the Fairmont for the first time and to have such a good experience.

We got a very affordable deal on our stay by booking with alpha rooms from the UK, so the fact it was affordable meant that we really appreciated everything in the hotel and did not feel anything was overpriced.

We also signed up as Fairmont President Club members before our departure which meant we could have free wifi for the duration of our stay - it's free to sign up to the PC so I strongly recommend you do so before your stay, as wifi prices are otherwise quite dear.

On our departure, we reached the airport and realised we had left behind an item at the hotel, the duty manager (Mahmoud Abd El Aziz) immediately sent a fast driver with our item to rush to make it to the airport before our flight - now that is true service.

They didn't even bill us for it (though we tipped the driver of course) but the elegance of the service of not even asking for anything and just serving the customer really impressed us for a country where staff have no problem asking for tips. The staff at Fairmont never asked nor made us feel uncomfortable , unlike other 5* hotels where you can feel they will only serve you if you tip immediately.

Many of the staff were very good, though we do not remember all their names (we should have written them down) but there was one man at the sky pool who really stood out, Emad Girgis (I believe he is the supervisor) simply excellent in customer service and making us feel welcome and supplying to all our needs - he is absolutely faultless.

Yes security is tight, well that's a good thing.

My only small let down was the spa, you had to book 24hrs in advance for any type of treatment, you couldn't just be spontaneous and go over there one morning and get an appointment for the same day. (they only have about 3 therapists, despite a huge beautiful spa) But if you are an organised person and like to book at least a day ahead you should have no problems with this.

Overall, a great stay and a fantastically well-run hotel. This is an establishment that truly cares about their guests.

Taxi tip: you can get a metered taxi from the hotel, it just runs on the meter so it is not some crazy price, though the drivers of those metered taxis can sometimes do a few circles to get to a place (as we realised on the first day, when the meter ran to double the amount the hotel had told us it should cost, and when we returned it was much cheaper in another cab).
So we preferred to exit hotel and hail down a taxi straight from the street, and agree a fixed price, that way we knew they would get straight to our destination in the least amount of time. Don't be disheartened if first 2-3 taxis hailed try to agree a high fee, simply say no and move on to next taxi hailed, there are so many, you will no doubt find one that will be happy to do the reasonable normal price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City.

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were privileged to have you with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Your generous comments have been conveyed to Mahmoud Abd El Aziz and Emad Girgis which has greatly motivated them.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Fairmont is a 5 star hotel located in the heart of Cairo on the Nile River. It is elegant, classy, and clean The breakfast menu is expansive and filling, though heavy on bread and wheat based products. Most of the staff were courteous and helpful . A common problem among nearly all the hotels we stayed at on this trip was the wait staff removing or attempting to remove plates before we really completely finished eating.The Fairmont was the only hotel that required us to have a full time police/security officer with us during the day. Security was tight to get into the property. Tipping will drive you crazy as well. Everyone expects a tip. WHile the location is nice, you will need a taxi or arranged transportation to get around from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delbe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration. Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team as it is a tremendous source of motivation for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

1)It is a plus that the hotel is attached to a mall. You can go to the mall via hotel to go to the mall. The mall has restaurants, shops, and mobile shop where you can purchase a sim card.

2) The rooms are clean and nice.

3) Reception staff tried to sell us the breakfast/wifi package by telling us the price for the breakfast is US$30.00 per person. Later we found out it is actually around US$23.00 per person. How can he get that incorrect? Also, the lady on the far left at the reception gave an attitude when asked for change for a larger bill. Concierge lady seem nice but doesnot speak English much so could not really do her job.

4) Breakfast buffet was good esp coffee. But the staffs quickly remove your plates and utensiles so you would stop eating. That felt a little bit rude but I moved on since I was in Egypt.

If you are first time visiting Cairo, think again staying around this area. There is nothing to do without a car. Stay on the island where you can walk around. This is a very nice hotel but you cant really walk around.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yara E, Public Relations Executive at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City.

Firstly, please accept our sincerest apology for having failed to meet your expectations. Your feedback to us has been most valuable and we have discussed the issues with our management. We will also integrate this in our training programs so that it does not reoccur.

Once again please accept our sincerest apology and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,556 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Property: Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#6 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing