We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way”
Review of Fairmont Nile City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Nile City
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November for 3 nights and were upgraded to the Fairmont Gold Club Floor. WOW WOW WOW!
The rooms were absolutely amazing. They had a wonderful view of the Nile and although you are on a pretty busy road, you did not hear any noise (the windows are double glazed). The urban chic decor was done perfect - there is not one thing that I could fault with the room or the hotel itself.
Complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea is included with Gold Club Floor rooms, and the Gold Club Lounge is a nice, open area where you can sit and read a book or just admire the views of the Nile. Breakfast was great, a good variety of hot and cold options.
Location in my opinion was also great. You were in a quiet location (there is only a very small shopping centre attached to the building but not what I would really call a shopping centre as there are not too many shops but there was Gloria Jeans). Traffic in Cairo is bad at any time, but it was still a short enough drive to the main city centre / Egyptian Museum.
The rooftop swimming pool was just what we needed - after travelling from Australia and arriving into Cairo at 3am local time, our first day was spent relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: Definately pay to get a Nile View Room - it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Executive at Fairmont Nile City, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hi Barina,

We were privileged to have your excellency with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were here as part of a tour group in December. The rooms are comfortable and modern. We had a king bed and Nile view for 2 nights by the luck of the draw and a city/partial Nile view with 2 queen beds for our last 2 tour nights. The Nile view is nice but both rooms (11th floor) were equally comfortable and quiet. We arrived the week before the referendum and tour guides, etc were a little cautious and encouraged us to stay in the hotel. The restaurants were all pretty good though not cheap. We enjoyed the Lebanese restaurant and Saigon and had very decent meals there. The included breakfast in the Napa Room (I think) was as mentioned by many superb with great Egyptian, American and other choices. We did not eat dinner there but some in our group who did said it was fine. We did eat little meals in the bar one night. It was okay but probably the restaurants out in the mall would have done just as well. Some of us had lunches while touring at restaurants in the middle of the Nile. The food was great there and worth a visit. The hotel offerings were fine but if things are not that tense, go out.
The hotel had extremely good service. We flooded our bathroom using the rainforest shower. When I stopped at the front desk the next morning to ask them to check the drain, they asked if we needed to use another room to shower until it was fixed. A lot of the restaurant staff does not speak English as well as they appear to and sometimes orders were not filled correctly. The waiters either brought over someone else who understood us better or replaced the wrong item even though we did not ask them to. I am not criticizing those who were not good English speakers, I am complementing how misunderstandings were handled-above and beyond what was necessary and with good faces. While not full, the hotel had guests from many countries and all received excellent service. There was also a little gingerbread house full of delicious cookies everyday for Christmas. I would stay here again and recommend the hotel. It is away from the downtown hubbub but not that far.
It was too cold to use the pool on the roof while we were there but do not miss the view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvmovielover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 7, 2013

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've been for a short stay in January 2013. A great warm reception once entered by Nady & Fahmy @Fairmont Gold. I was lucky to have a free upgrade from Nile view Deluxe room to Nile view suite. The overall stay was very relaxing in front the charming River Nile. Room dining was great. There is a Cinema & Starbucks just cross the lobby corridor @Nile City Mall. It will take you 20 mins to reach downtown, tahrir square (Museum) & almost 45 mins for Giza Pyramids.
Definitely would recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadyRadwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 7, 2013

Dear Shady,

Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which has greatly motivated them. Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on the last leg of our Egypt tour. I had been convinced that 5 stars in Egypt wasn't possible until we stayed here. The location is a little north of downtown, but easy walkable to restaurants downtown and in Zamelek. The rooms were immaculate, with marble bathrooms and Miller Harris amenities. Bed was divine. Breakfast was included, and while generally a hotel breakfast, you could still get what you wanted and an array at that. Just make sure you flag down the coffee early!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlemharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 7, 2013

Dear harlemharris,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fairmont Cairo is a stunning and impressive hotel. The hotel is modern and elegant, the rooms clean and spacious. The hotel is safe and secure, adding the little touches to make this a truly 5 star property. My other half particularly liked the welcome message on the television and the lights built into the closet. The bed...simply luxurious! Our room had views of the nile and the local establishments. The only complaint I could have is that I could have used a little more light in the bathroom but that really is a minor complaint. The hotel and rooms are beautiful. Above and beyond any "W" we have been to... and the W in Barcelona is very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the night club next door! We were on a high floor but the noise from the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FritoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Executive at Fairmont Nile City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear FritoG,

It is our pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Fairmont Nile City.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very new hotel that matches the five star properties in Asia. Nice bathroom with separate shower and bathtub, good location right next to a mall with a Starbucks. Good breakfast buffet and a nice rooftop pool. It was such a treat to return after a day of very tiring sightseeing in Cairo, which is dirty and noisy. I doubt there's a better hotel in Cairo. Make sure you sign on the the Fairmont points program (which is free) as that gets you free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your current stay at The Fairmont Nile City with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and can't complain about anything.
The nileview from the room was absolutely fantastic. Rooms always very clean and nicely decorated.
Staff at breakfast area was very helpful and friendly. They were very awake and took our dirty plates away after a few seconds.
Also reception staff was professional.
I would however not recomend to take the overpriced tours that the hotel offers to the pyramids, etc. Just get a driver with van (50$/day) and an egyptologist (50$/day) from any travel agency.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Executive at Fairmont Nile City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Greetings Gaserati,

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay with Fairmont Nile City.
We look forward to welcoming you again & we promise to re-visit our tours prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 141 in Cairo
1,723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Nile City

Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $142 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient wonders. On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings. With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River and views of the pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing