We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, great location, friendly staff.”

Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Ranked #104 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed July 12, 2008

The hotel is in the middle of a great area. Close to shopping, museums, the nile and popular 'night spots.' The elevators were BOTH indeed functioning during my visit, but still incredibly slow. Several staff were fluent in both English & Arabic. They were incredibly kind and friendly, giving us sugguestions for restauraunts near by, activities we'd enjoy while staying, and helping me with my Arabic. The rooms are quite small, but have a great view. Our telephone didn't work the first night, but was replaced the next day.

Overall, I think Cleopatras Palace is a great place for those not looking to spend the day inside of the hotel. It's a nice bed to come back to after a long day outdoors discovering Egypt.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Canegyptian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2007

I was staying at this hotel from 1st to 8th of May 2007
Although the internet and the receptionist quoted USD 70 per night, I was able to get a room for USD 28 per night through
a travel agent Ms Zooha. Thanks to her.

The place is centrally located closer to the museum and shopping centres. The staff are courteous. Unfortunately I could not communicate with them since they could not speak English.

When I was checking out I was asked to pay fine of USD 20 for a broken washing basin in the bathroom. The basin was found broken when I entered the room. However they insisted that I have broken the sink. How can I break unless I hammer forcefully. There were marks of old brake in the was basin. However they did not accept. I was displeased the way they find me for an old broken wash basin.

The aircondition in the room was not working at all. Fortunately we were out of the room in the day time. Even the night was hot.

I will not recommend this hotel especially to foreigners

Najimudeen

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank najimudeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

I used 4 hotels in Cairo. Cleopatra Palace was the worst. There are 2 elevators: one is completely broken, the other has broken automatic doors (so someone has to push them closed). The stairwell was locked. Cockroaches! Very loud traffic all night long from Tahrir Square and from inside the building. The laundry service bleached my colored clothes. The hot water worked about 40% of the time. And they quoted me the foreigners price of $55/night for a single (although I received a lower rate). Egyptians pay $18.

Positives include central location near metro, friendly staff, and unlimited, albeit boring, breakfast buffet.

Bottom line: don't pay full price for this hotel! It's worth about $18 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inthewoods115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

Great location for the price, and wonderful views across the Nile from the upper floors.
It's a fairly run-down place that still has pretensions of grandeur. The lifts are manually operated and you sometimes have to wait a long time for them. When I was there the operator had to keep pressing the two doors together with his hands, otherwise the lift stopped between floors.
I was very concerned one morning to find the door to the staircase (the only means of escape in an emergency) securely locked. I complained, and after initially denying it was locked, the receptions staff brought a policeman to unlock it. The same thing happened a few days later.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianWhitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Hedi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: controllare il funzionamento del condizionatore, prima di accettare la stanza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaetano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrado_Roma_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
6.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
599 reviews
7 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 138 in Cairo
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mesho Inn Hostel
Mesho Inn Hostel
#58 of 131 in Cairo
27 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
6.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Address: 1 Al-Bustan | Tahrir Sq, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: $52 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing