We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Hotel

Carlton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #94 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wish I could return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times when traveling to Egypt. I found it charming and very cheap. They worked to handle the needs of my family, and on one occasion the needs of a large group of college students. The remodeled rooms are very nice and clean, even by American standards. But the older rooms have a lovely charm of early 20th century Cairo. And the rooftop restaurant when it is open is wonderful. I hope the situation in Egypt improves so I can return sooner than later. Also, don't miss the old fashioned elevator. :-)

Room Tip: The newly remodeled rooms are much more to American or European standards, and the airconditioners a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amalleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
7
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ismailia, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I stay here if we need to stay in Cairo overnight. We live in Egypt and use this hotel because No.1 location and No.2 its cheap! I love the old charm, the wooden floor boards, huge staircase, old fashioned {and in working order whenever I'm there} elevator. The rooms are basic, good working tv, fridge and A/C but bathrooms let the rooms down as they are normally so small but it does depend on which room you get - and sometimes there's not even a shower curtain! You also get given 2 tiny towels so make sure you have your own. We normally have breakfast and its the basic boiled egg, croissant, jam and a cuppa tea. My favourite part of the hotel is its rooftop bar with inside and outside seating. Great for a drink, smoke some shisha and take in the views. If you just need a bed for the night in Downtown/Central Cairo then this is ideal... if you're happy with basic and no where near luxury!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shellby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

enough said. Dirty, gloomy, but pricy if u think ab the quality. A hostel I moved to was cleaner, although it was not!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eewwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, its very good and i like alot being very classic, and i don't have any comments regarding breakfast or food in general, room cleanliness is fine with me, about the other reviewers i think they solved all your problems, because the hotel seems very clean to me to be honest ! and concerning the old elevators, to insure my safety i asked the reception about it, and they told me that the engines are new and the ropes and everything, except the Cabin itself, they keep it that way in order to match the style of the hotel !! so its very safe and charming, like the rest of the Hotel.
and they also have a very nice roof cafeteria with an indoor and outdoor sitting areas, i would defenitely recommend this hotel to any one, its not just good for your budget, its also better than alot of hotels in the same area that have more expensive rooms !! and don;t have that charm that Carlton Poseses !!

Room Tip: choose class (A) rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Great reception...lovely staff.
The hotel structure is so amazing..with a bit of work, it would be amazing.
However, rooms are really old-fashioned and dusty. Bathrooms a little grungy.
Fine and with nice features like breakfast and dinner included. Fridge and A/C.
It seemed like a Ghost hotel...not destined to last...without a huge influx of $$$$
Let's just say, when we came back to Cairo, we did not pick it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

A hotel perhaps built around 1920 with much of its original charm and features, although cheap and basic in it's facilities, in a good location.Clean close to the Egyptian museum etc in the Talat Haarb area. We paid 200 le per night per room, including breakfast and either lunch or dinner. We didn't try the lunch or dinner but breakfast was croissant, toast jam boiled egg etc..Pretty basic but fine, in the charming dining room. Rooms has two single beds, bathroom with bath and a good shower. Big fridge in the room and lots of storage, air conditioning and telephone.
Outside there was a row of cars from the same period, all looking pretty dishevelled but beautiful. I would definitely go back there. There was something very romantic about it considering it's budget price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonSue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is an absolute dump! Actually my garbage can is cleaner than this place. We got there after a long flight. The sheets were stained and bloody. We asked for clean sheets and they said that they didn't have any!!! We had the same sheets for all our stay. After arriving in the middle of the night we were so chocked that the next day we really searched for a good hotel but all the good ones were booked out so we had to stay in this awful place. The bathroom and shower are so disgusting that it can not even be imagined in your worst nightmare! The staff are unfriendly and rude. The hotel car or "limo service" is an old car which is holding togehter with scotch tape and without safety belts but they will charge you as for a real limo service! And finally the beds are full of bedbugs. i got about 30 bites during our stay and they clothes that were on the bed had to be washed since they were infested with bugs. It has to also be pointed out that the breakfast they serve is disgusting and the jam was full of ants! Everything is dirty including the cups. The staff don't even know basic hygien so if you are looking for the horror experience of your life you can choose this hotel but I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#50 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#106 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 21-26th of July Street | Down town, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing