We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Deal on the Nile!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arabia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arabia Hotel
Ranked #58 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Dwight, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Deal on the Nile!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Pros - I did extensive research for a good view of the Nile at a reasonable price. This place was by far the best deal. It is close to Christian Cairo and has a main street with shops and food nearby. The hotel restaurant was good and gave nice room service. Hotel was clean but not fancy. If you want fancy go to a five star place. TV had English news. We were the only non-Arabian guests, but the staff spoke enough English to be helpful. Subway and taxis were a ten minute walk. Some parts of area seem a little scethy by western standards, but this is actually a very nice neighborhood. We felt safe at all hours.

Cons - They take your passport at registration. And they forgot to give it back when I checked out. This resulted in a very stressful and expensive ride back and forth from the airport. Fortunately, our plane was delayed anyways. As angry as I am about their mistake, I also blame myself for not double checking my own documents/possessions before leaving the hotel. Cats are sometimes roaming the hallways, but the room seemed cat free (I'm allergic). Smoking is allowed in the lobby, so you are subjected to it every time you enter or exit hotel. Free wifi is only in the smoke filled lobby. Some annoying party boat plays crap music while going back and forth along the Nile at night. I imagine this could be a problem in 5 star places along the river also. The boat stopped at 11 or 12, so bring ear plugs (which all good travelers carry anyways, right ;-)

Overall, we spent so much time out and about touring Cairo that were not greatly affected by the cons of this place. The location and price for a balcony over the Nile were great so I recommend this place for heartier travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTLbikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

The hotel was great, great view of the Nile, close to the city center, really good price. only problem is that it had very old design and decorating plus WiFi is only available in the lobby

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostafafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 2-3 Feb 2012. The decoration of this hotel is very old. Room condition is acceptable in this price range. Wifi only available in lobby area. Balcony have nice river view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamlokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We booked from the net the night before we arrived at the hotel.
Staying with family in Cairo we just wanted a base to sightsee and grab some peace.
We paid £115 for 5 nights in a superior double which was on the banks of the nile.
13 floors up it was like being on a cruise ship
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The room was comfortable quiet and very clean.
The food was delicious and very cheap...a greek salad the size of a dustbin lid was £1
Breakfasts enormous.
We also had room service and it was all the same good quality.
We were able to acess all the sites and taxis were easy to find and £2 a journey

I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireStyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.8 mi away
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
#25 of 40 in Giza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.6 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#48 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Nile Tower
Grand Nile Tower
#45 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
2.8 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#44 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabia Hotel

Property: Arabia Hotel
Address: 31 Al-Malek Abdel-Aziz al-Su'ud Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arabia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arabia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing