We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Upgraded rooms are a necessity” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santana Hotel
Ranked #91 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Upgraded rooms are a necessity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I did a tour with G adventures and good thing they gave us the upgraded room. Felt clean and didnt have to use sandals in the shower which is always a plus! I did a post night when we arrived back into Cairo and I got to see what the original rooms looked like. Outdated, old, and dirty. We had one of the old school locks and we were locked out of our room multiple times. Dont book anything thru the front desk because they always overcharge for any taxi ride or excursion. We booked the step pyramid and luxor excursion thru the front desk but what they failed to tell us is that we paid them for only the trasnportation and not the entrance fees which was [--]. Luxor was closed and we received nothing back. The last day I had to take a cab to the airport and asked a cab driver how much it was. He told me 60 pounds. Later on I asked the front desk to get me a cab and this clown who had a nameless job came out of the back closet trying to negotiate with me. He told $110 and i told him we would do it for no less than $60 so he had to agree. I dont know who he was but he lost the Santana another star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ferenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
7
15
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour with G Adventures. Staff was nice, rooms were decent, good breakfast. Wifi in lobby that you paid for or got for free by buying something in the cafe. Can't comment too much on the location though as I had no idea where I was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Life1is2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel provided good accommodation at a handy location; walking distance to metro station (El Doki) and some restaurants, convenience stores and coffee shops a plenty in the area. (If you get time, the KFC around the corner only employs the hearing impaired so help out this worthy cause). The staff here were average, upon arriving, one staff tried to push on us a tour (way overpriced), and upon departing, another insisted that we pay for Internet that we had not purchased, despite us telling him that we had not bought any. However great rooms, and best hot shower I had in Egypt!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Millott87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here as the starting hotel for our tour through Egypt. The hotel was clean and tidy, rooms were of a good size. We arrived very early in the morning and they were able to check us in early which was great. The breakfast was good, but I recommend getting threre early as they did run out of some things. Also, be warned that a large numbrr of tour groups seemed to stay here. This meant a busy lobby or breakfast area art some times of the day. Beds were comfy and shower was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Santana is as close to average as they can get. Spacious lobby with plenty of places to relax. Free wifi with a purchase from the coffee shop; connection was average speed and reliable, but was lobby-only. Rooms are faded but clean, ample hot water. Location is several blocks from the Nile but is a little hard to find on foot. Average Egyptian breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discoshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here in two different rooms and we loved it. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been one of the nicest we've had in egypt. The showers are nice and clean, blow dryer and the beds are soft! The location is great, lots of banks/ATMs, restaurants and stores all less then 10min walk. The only bad thing would be the hotel restaurant isn't the best!! Also getting to the hotel from the airport could be crazy depending on what time your flight gets in since traffic in Cairo is insane and 24hrs it seems like. Would stay here again though anytime and the hotel set us up with tours and a amazing driver.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good, but the top floors are always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raspberryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here with a group on a pilgrimage that was meant to give us an experience that included cultural contact. Our room was nice, beds comfortable. The food was average. We did experience some noise from the street below during the night, but we are sound sleepers so it was not a big issue. The shops in the lobby were very interesting. I took several different perfume oils home as souvenirs. The location seemed to be pretty close to the points we visited like the Museum of Cairo and a restaurant on the Nile. A minibus drove our group from place to place. No westerner should ever plan to drive in Cairo. It is crazy! I mean REALLY insane. It was definately the most excitement I've ever experienced simply driving around town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.0 mi away
Arabia Hotel
Arabia Hotel
#60 of 141 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nile Season Hotel
Nile Season Hotel
#54 of 141 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giza
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
0.0 mi away
Pyramisa Cairo Hotel and Casino
0.0 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#84 of 141 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Hotel

Property: Santana Hotel
Address: 7 Ahmed El Melhy St. Dokki, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing