We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location, service and rooms.”
Review of Santana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santana Hotel
Ranked #102 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very good location, service and rooms.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here in two different rooms and we loved it. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been one of the nicest we've had in egypt. The showers are nice and clean, blow dryer and the beds are soft! The location is great, lots of banks/ATMs, restaurants and stores all less then 10min walk. The only bad thing would be the hotel restaurant isn't the best!! Also getting to the hotel from the airport could be crazy depending on what time your flight gets in since traffic in Cairo is insane and 24hrs it seems like. Would stay here again though anytime and the hotel set us up with tours and a amazing driver.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good, but the top floors are always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raspberryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    27
    16
    12
See reviews for
7
17
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here with a group on a pilgrimage that was meant to give us an experience that included cultural contact. Our room was nice, beds comfortable. The food was average. We did experience some noise from the street below during the night, but we are sound sleepers so it was not a big issue. The shops in the lobby were very interesting. I took several different perfume oils home as souvenirs. The location seemed to be pretty close to the points we visited like the Museum of Cairo and a restaurant on the Nile. A minibus drove our group from place to place. No westerner should ever plan to drive in Cairo. It is crazy! I mean REALLY insane. It was definately the most excitement I've ever experienced simply driving around town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of G Adventures. It is in a nice location, within walking location to many services and restaurants. The room we stayed in were large and clean. Wifi was available for a fee, but the cafe next door has free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel looks like it was a fancy hotel. It has a spacious lobby, reception desk, staircase which give it a fancy look. Yet, it's missing character.
The rooms are also quite big, with comfortable beds for a perfect sleep. The bathrooms could use a renovation in certain rooms... check if you have hot water! In my first room, the bath tub could not be filled (leaking plug) and the window could not be closed.

The breakfast is a nice, regular buffet.

It's located 20 minutes on foot from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. All you need is within walking distance.

If you are looking for a short stay and a good bed, this could be the place you look for. I have no complaints about the attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Check the hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The hotel was clean, and the people there were kind. It is located in a calm area, and there are a lot of embassies around it. It is near to metro station, and there is a lot of supermarkets and fast-food restaurants around. The room were we stayed was spacious and very clean. It also has a balcony with nice view. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had to stay in this hotel out of necessity during the January Revolution. I could not get to my original hotel the first night. It was in a very quiet area (normally) and provided a sense of safety considering the sounds of the revolution not far away. Not the hotels fault.

I only stayed one evening and was not expecting much based on the lobby. I was pleasantly surprised with the room that looked much better than the pictures on their website. It' was clean, well maintained, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was nothing to speak of yet the staff was friendly.

I would not recommend staying there again as there are many other hotels offering better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank DHelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel is decntly located, but has pathetic room service and food for breakfast. Even the hotel staff is very rigid and not friendly. the hotel made us wait in the louge for close to 6 hours as we arrived earlier and never considered giving the room even though it was available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank johnphilipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
1.2 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
2.0 mi away
Dreamers Hotel
Dreamers Hotel
#54 of 137 in Cairo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.2 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#86 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#88 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holidays Express
Holidays Express
#96 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Safir Hotel Cairo
Safir Hotel Cairo
#6 of 41 in Giza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Hotel

Property: Santana Hotel
Address: 7 Ahmed El Melhy St. Dokki, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing