We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cairo Khan Hotel - August / September 2008 - Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairo Khan Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Ranked #94 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cairo Khan Hotel - August / September 2008 - Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

1 September 2008, Where to start, best to do Pros and Cons I guess is the easiest way to rate the hotel

Pros

1. Close to everything it’s in the middle of Downtown, walking distance to Museum, Nile and Khan Markets
2. The room is ok has beds and a bath / shower, clean water, and Air Conditioning, clean linen daily
3. Room Service 24 hrs, meals ok and cost of meal is good, selection is limited
4. Friendly staff, but not all speak good English
5. Access to the Internet, speed slow
6. Good prices for room
7. Safe to walk around, police on every corner
8. Mc Donald’s is around the corner

Cons

1. The traffic noise is constant all night, wear ear plugs
2. The local streets are full of people all day and night
3. The surrounding area is not the cleanest to walk in
4. Breakfast in the restaurant is limited, we only ate there once and ate most meals out at the Nile Hilton or had room service bring Pizza
5. Were hard to contact, but I was assured they got my emails to confirm our booking
6. The entrance is not actually on 26th July Street, not a real problem unless like us we were walking to find it and got sent in the wrong direction by Police of all people

Overall our stay was good and we saved heaps of money I would recommend this hotel if you don’t mind living cheap, if not go stay at the Nile Hilton for $250 US per night compared with approx $70 US per night, the money we save allowed us to buy more gold and crystal.

Regards

Greg Young (Australia)

  • Liked — Location and cost of rooms
  • Disliked — Traffic Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GregYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nomansland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

Well where do I start. There was only one review of this hotel when I booked it so was rather apprehensive.

First off let me tell me just how much of a bargain it was - £100 for 6 people for one night b+b including pick up and drop off at the airport - that alone is amazing. Its bang in the middle of Downtown Cairo with all its noise, dirt, hustle and bustle, amazing shops, lovely people and great cafes and restaurants.

We were in a 3 bedroomed apartment on the 6th floor. Ok, it needs upgrading, but the bed linen was all clean and fresh and we could have had a disco in the lounge area alone it was so big. The apartment was all air conditioned throughout , telly in one bedroom room and another in the lounge.

There are 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette, we didnt use them very much. As the bathrooms and kitchen were so old it was impossible for them to be spotlessly clean, however the towels were clean, floors quite clean, toilets flushed well and it was only for one night so we weren't there a lot.

Masses of storage space and a birds eye view of the streets below where you can see daredevil road crossers making it to the other side after getting accross 7 lanes of traffic, brilliant!.

Reception was small but very efficient. The Manager Ahmed could not do enough for us, personally coming to greet us and offer his advice on Cairo, a charming and generous man indeed, I wanted to bring him home. His staff were probably the most polite and helpful I encountered in the whole of Egypt.

The lifts gave my kids the heebeejeebees so they kept fit going up 6 flights of stairs, they were small and the doors are those you open yourself, perfectly safe and fine.

Breakfast was included, it was on the 11th floor so great views if you looked beyond the dirty rooftops and satellite dishes. We did sit down for breakfast (croissants, toast etc) however I think the refrigerated cabinet wasnt working and our butter had turned to cheese, hence the kids pretending to be sick lol, but no matter, there was an American breakfast place accross the road, cheap and good.

As a big family the likes of the Hilton etc were out of our league but to be honest even if we did have the money we could not have beaten the Cairo Khan, it was a base for us to tour for 2 days and a comfy place to lay our weary heads and we didnt have to worry about the kids being down the hall in that mahoooosive apartment.

Do not expect luxury, do not expect super speed service in the cafe but expect clean comfy beds, space, lovely people, spectacular views, central location and excellent value for money.

I also have to say that the photos on their own website do not do the place justice, I will add some as soon as I have resized them for this site.

Any questions, get in touch.

  • Liked — Great staff, great location, price
  • Disliked — Just needs a lick of paint and a new bath or 2
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

@ first wen u check into tha hotel, it's kinda not a gd impression tink..u see..but hey, dont forget tat the hotel is situated at the very heart of cairo..great deals of bazaar u noe..=D wen i got into my hotel room, and since i'm wif my big family of 6, we gt the 3 bedroom suite..the accomodation was great..not too much to expect bt cozy..and the price was nt bad..(pissst..it's a 3* hotel)..quite a great view of the bz street..n i bet u really git to check out the nitelife..it last untill 3 am in the mornin' wif blarrin' honks hahakx..bt it's not a problem at all!! xpext the unxpected..it's near the Bazaar Khan El-Khalily wich has the most shop aroun' (4,000 shops) and the go for the lowest deal..unfortunately i kinda dislike the meals @ the hotel..it was alrite for 1st two daes bt every day the same..i gt sick man..bt wat the hack..in cairo u gt lots n lots of food aroun'..jus opp. there's a fast food rst , Al'Americaine and surprisingly there's a chinese rst. nearby too..okies2 gt to ciao soon..

Gt a secret 4 u...do xchange ur currency at theirs airport to Egyptian pound L.E...yar

Bubye..
Ami
Singapore

  • Liked — it's spacious suite and the strategic location
  • Disliked — the daily 3 times a meal..
  • Tips/Secrets — prepare sum tips and make sure to change to the local currency for better deals..
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank siGnoRinA-Ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
1.4 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
1.9 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#64 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#77 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#102 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mayorca Hotel
Mayorca Hotel
#91 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#86 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Khan Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Khan Suites Hotel

Property: Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Address: 12 Sitta-W Ashrin Yulyu, Cairo 1244, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairo Khan Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cairo Khan Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Khan Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing