We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gizeh Plateau

Gizeh Plateau
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.71*
and up
Private Giza Plateau and Pyramids Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Go now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was my life-long dream to visit the pyramids and the sphinx and my friend and I did just that at the end of January 2014.

We waltzed in around 11 am and we had the whole place to ourselves. We also got tickets to go into the Great Pyramid which should not be missed. Magical! There have been books written on just that experience let alone all the other things that you can see and do in this place.

You pay a lot extra to go into the pyramids but it is worth it and if you can only do one, do the Great Pyramid.

We had no problems of any sort although there are security checkpoints and metal detectors everywhere now.

Do not let the camel owners take you out the back gate. They love to take you to some stupid gift shops where they no doubt get a cut. Now-a-days though, you can't get back in!!! We had to walk a couple of kilometres back to the front gate and then fight to be let back in. What a waste of time and energy. The camels are worth it but do not leave the property. Also, as with most Egyptians, just because you agreed to a price to start with, they will try and pull at your heart strings for as much money as they can get out of you. They will claim it was a longer ride or they took nice pictures for you, anything to get an extra ten, twenty or more dollars.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank earthhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    455
    112
    23
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Giza Plateau - stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Visited the plateau as part of my trip around the Pyramids and Sphinx. Sat away from the very few crowds that were present and had lunch and coffee overlooking the most wonderful sites of the Pyramids....wow! A very humbling experience and a trip you must all make sometime in your life. Made all the better by the fact that no one bothered us, took loads of pictures, had a quiet sandwich....and cake.....and marvelled at such historical sites. History has been made and is being made in Egypt currently - just visit....it is a wonderful experience and one I will never forget. Amazing!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelandCake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overwhelming experience to visit the plateau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

"Man fears time, but Time fears the Pyramids" As the saying goes, the giza plateu and the necropolis is beyond the scope of time and hence, when one visit it; feels unbelievable, unreal. Such was the reaction of ours, when we first ended up on the plateau. The three pyramids overseeing the necropolis is a wonder within itself and cannot be compared to any wonder of the ancient or the modern world.
Please do visit as soon as the complex opens to avoid the peak rush and allow yourself atleast 3-4 hours to explore the area. Make sure you have a knowledgeable egyptologist/ tour guide to accompany you as there are enormous amount of facts and stories on the pyramids. Try to get inside Pyramid of Khafre, to witness the structure inside out. Its a shame that all the mummies of the kings are stolen. Beware of the touts and people who offers and take most persuasive way to drag tourists to their camels and donkeys. Politely say 'No' to refuse and you should be ok.
Do not attempt to climb the pyramids and stay in a group. Stay Safe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

As soon as you enter the site you will be amazed by the pyramids and Sphinx aside. There is a low entrance fee to see the interior of small pyramids and if you wanna see the biggest one (Cheops) you will have to probably wait in a queue. If you have a cardiac health problems or you are claustrophobic do not go inside the pyramids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
271 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Unreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Unreal! Still cannot believe I've been there completely mind blowing! Do not worry that Cairo/Giza can be unstable get yourself there it is truly genius! We went inside one of the pyramids for a small fee & it was incredible. 10/10

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank petermckeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gizeh Plateau also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Gizeh Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing