We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gizeh Plateau

Gizeh Plateau
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.71*
and up
Private Giza Plateau and Pyramids Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

go early before the coaches arrive and the sun gets to hot. Loved the Pyramids and do tajke a camel ride or horse ride around the site its well worth the money and experience....but do haggle for best price on Camels and horses

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FUSSYTRAVELLER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    455
    112
    23
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amamzing but beware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were there as on a shore excursion from Alexandria. To stand beside and touch the only remaining wonders of the ancient world is an experience beyond description. For anyone who has an interest in ancient history or even engineering the pyramids are an absolute must while in Egypt. We found disturbing is the amount of garbage strewn around the pyramids and Cairo streets, I found it difficult to remember that I was standing in the presence of some of the greatest engineering marvels of history as I walked around mounds of garbage.

Be prepared for the trinket hawkers who will flock to you like vultures on a carcass. As others have said NOTHING is for free. Although I felt like I was being rude I found the best way to deal with these people is to avoid talking and looking at them. A simple and effective way to deal with hawkers who won't leave you alone is saying assertively NO, sometimes repeatedly if neccesary. Go directly to where you want to go and keep money and other valuables out of sight. If you do wish to enjoy a camle ride or pick up a souvenir know how much you want to pay. If you can't get the price you want walk away and find another merchant. If you enjoy haggling this is a great opportunity and you can get some great deals or enjoy a camel ride.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must-see archaeological treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Camel riding to the pyramids is really an experience - however be prepared for a difficult ride... Don't forget that nothing is for free. Don't accept anything anybody offers unless you're ready to pay for it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungälv Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A definite must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Gizeh Plateau has since my childhood been the scene and backdrop of how an adventurous place looks like. To visit is was a dream come true.

The pyramids are grand and well worth visiting, strolling around them and to marvel at them. We went inside the great Pyramid and even though the room that you eventually come to isn't that much to see it is an extraordinary experience to walk into these great structures. Defiantly go into the great pyramid.

The only downside is the vast amount of people hassling you while you visit the pyramids, they are trying anything and everything to sell you camelrides, guides and all kind of junk. If they would disappear the visit would be astonishing but now you have to bare with the hassel. We went there when they opened at 8 and then it was easier.

The Sphinx was interesting to see but not as grand.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting Egypt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The pyramids are even more massive than I expected with the largest covering 16 acres - that's a lot of stone! I didn't know that the Sphinx was carved from a single rock. We arrived at the Sphinx shortly before closing time, so I felt rushed. Also, you can't get as close as you can to the Pyramids. don't miss the Sun Boat and going inside the 2nd Pyramid. The short camel ride was an experience, too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gizeh Plateau also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Gizeh Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing