We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty defined!”
Review of Mohamed Ali Mosque

Mohamed Ali Mosque
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$20.18*
and up
Private Guided Walking Tour of the Islamic Quarter of Cairo
Ranked #10 of 311 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Citadel, this mosque was built between 1824 and 1857 in the Ottoman style by Mohammad Ali Pasha, a ruler of Egypt.
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beauty defined!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a beautiful and awesome sight! It is quite obvious why this is called the "alabaster Mosque". We not only saw the outside but were able to see the magnificence of the inside as we'll. See this site if you are in Cairo!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tmt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    496
    130
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place you have to visit”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to see in old cairo the mosque of mohamed aly is great don't ever miss to visit if you in cairo . Its 1 of great . Amazing place . I got there more than 10 times & every time I like it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mizoo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Got lost leaving Mosque”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited the Mosque as part of a cruise excursion. It is a very beautiful Mosque built in a military compound. We walked as a group to the Mosque. Once at the Mosque we were on our own. Beautiful views of Cairo from outside the Mosque. We tried to walk back to our tour bus but got lost leaving the Mosque. The exit signs are poor to non-existent. Recommend staying close to the tour guide when leaving the Mosque to make sure you get back to the Parking Lot!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhinagar, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

One of the must see place in Cairo. Its beautiful and specially the central hall which is very huge and peaceful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NihitJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you are into history, assuming you would be from going to egypt, this place offers a lot. The Fort was built by Saladin, The mosque and palace, By Mohammad Ali Pasha. There is also the army museum which is in the palace and free. It goes through the egyptian history and wars they fought. It even has a pharaoh's charriot, one of few in the world. Recommended. Not far from town

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mohamed Ali Mosque also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Mohamed Ali Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing