We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to see where it all started” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memphis and Sakkara

Memphis and Sakkara
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.60*
and up
Explore Memphis and Sakkara - Private 6-Hour Tour from Cairo
Ranked #12 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good to see where it all started”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Perhaps our expectations were a bit too high, as Memphis was a bit smaller and less impressive than we expected. However, as the birthplace of ancient Egypt, it is well worth the trip. Just seeing the alabaster Sphynx is worth it! And enjoy the trip out there as you get to see lots of the real Cairo.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    98
    33
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

There is something amazing and humbling about this site.. where you see the first constructed structure in the history of mankind. Very fascinating and truly an enigmatic feeling... especially when you are a civil engineer or an architect...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intrepid guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My excusion to Memphis and Saqqara through Intrepid travel was superb. Everything went as planned, but I must especially mention that the guide, Mariam, was wonderful. Her depth of knowledge communicated in an informative yet friendly style, made the trip worthwhile. From the statue of Rameses II to the windswept vista of the Step Pyramid, without any press of tourists, these days, gave a distinct feel to the ancient lonely memorials to the past. I cannot recommend the trip and guide more strongly

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved IT!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love studying Egyptian history, so there was no way I was going to miss a trip to Memphis and Sakkara. I went with Memphis Tours and we stopped for lunch at a terrific garden restaurant. We also visited a rug factory and my daughter got to help the rug artisan. I would recommend visiting Memphis and Sakkara as a side excursion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlscjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Memphis and Sakkara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

amzing sites to see . You are walking into an amazing open air museum. The drive there transports you back in time where ment or boys transport their produce on a cart dragged by the donkeys

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zaylahis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis and Sakkara also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Memphis and Sakkara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing