We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”
Review of Al-Azhar Park

Al-Azhar Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.75*
and up
El Moez Street and Al Azhar Park Day Tour in Cairo
Ranked #15 of 311 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The ambiance was lovely as you sit overlooking a beautifully landscaped park. The food was very good and I found it a delightful way to take a break from touring. The gift shop there is beautiful and one of the nicest I have seen

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn48236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    223
    61
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis of green in Cairo, stunning views of the Citadel”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Al-Azhar Park is an oasis of green and tranquility in the center of dirty, crowded Cairo. The park offers an unmatched panaromic view of cairo, specially islamic cairo and the Citadel. Visitors could easily wander the clean and green gardens for several hours, enjoying the local flora (helpfully identified by placards) and sparkling fountains. The landscape and architecture are done in the beautiful Islamic fashion with a modern twist. At sunset, head to the spectacular terrace restaurant overlooking the Citadel. The traditionally Egyptian food is quite good - worthy of the relatively high (for Cairo) prices. No alcohol, but lovely fresh juices and tea. We often take visitors on their last night in Cairo for a final glimpse at Cairo, so beautiful at night. Fridays and holidays are crowded. There is a nominal entrance fee. Though close to Islamic Cairo, you'll be safest to take a taxi there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelliemurfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent spot”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I rate this location with 5 stars, cause I can't actually think of anything bad to say about it. I live in Cairo, and my friends and I have been there on several occasions around sunset enjoying take-away food, chatting and relaxing. The park has an entrance fee (5-10 EGP depending on the weekday) and it's obvious that the money doesn't end in the black hole of Egyptian bureaucracy. It's very beautiful and well kept!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salgotarjan, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best to go in the evening”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Amazing place, a must visit! The best time to go is late afternoon, and wait and watch the sunset from the top of the hill with a birdview over the whole city of Cairo. A few hours can be spent here, easily, the park is absolutely huge' The castle-like restaurant on the top also worth a try. It is not the cheapest, the food is great. you can sit on the terrace and the view is amazing. Total realxation for an empty evening in Cairo. It can be reached with a taxi from the city, on the way back it is a bit tricky as the taxi drivers try to ask sky high prices, so it might take several approach and some negotiating skills to find a good deal for a taxi back. Still worth it though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_B954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with friendly people”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were there in November 2010 and loved this park. The views were incredible and the food in the restaurant was very tasty! We definitely stood out as white people walking around but we had constant people approaching us and welcoming us to their country. It was one of the few times in Egypt that I felt like people were genuinely welcoming, as opposed to wanting something (like money or trinkets) from us. I would highly recommend a visit to the park. You'll likely need a cab to get there - we walked and it was a LONG walk through some sketchy areas...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_alb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Azhar Park also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Al-Azhar Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing