We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but... lacking in key services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairo 6th Of October
Ranked #36 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I'm a college student and stayed for one night in this hotel with a friend.

We catched a cab from the Cairo Airpot to get here but the driver didn't know where this hotel was and after talking to like more than 10 locals, we finally got to the hotel after 2 hours of searching for it...

The hotel is NOT in Cairo and it's located far away: somewhere in suburb.

The only good thing about this hotel was that it was new and clean + its price.

But after staying here for one night, we learned a good lesson: you get what you paid for.

If you are coming here for its affordability, then think again....

Catching a cab, hassling over its price, time, and etc... will cost you more eventually.

+ I was charged twice... which I had to resolve it after coming back to the states.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailortux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2009

Vey bad attitude from the hotel. You have to be Arabic, and then You wiull be treated differently. I wouldnt say that they have service. I have been there couple of times, and nothing changed. Unfortunately I couldnt choiose my hotel, because these has been business trips.
The rooms they are brushing almost every day (dreaming about vacume cleaner).
Normally in hotel YUou might find 2 or 3 persons who are not having right attitude. Here You can find 2 or 3 with service skills.
And if You are staying longer time, You might be sick because of dirtyness all over. First look is like clean, but soon You will see the truth. Luickilly we got some spray against moskitos which are all over.
Also swimming pool area is dirty, because not collecting garbage which locals are throwing there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

my friend decided to book this hotel for our trip to cairo to see the pyramids, museum, and downtown, unfortunately, she forgot to check where the hotel actually was. it's about 20-25km outside cairo, which wouldn't be so bad because of their shuttle bus twice a day to downtown. unfortunately, it was 'broken down' during our stay. there are no shopping centers within realistic walking distance, internet is charged at $25 per day, and their is an overzealous hotel taxi tout in the lobby who will try to get as much money out of you as possible to take a trip. the hotel staff were pretty snobby, noone helped us with our bags, and no one showed us to our rooms, which was the standard in all the rest of egypt, (a little baksheesh required of course). rooms themselves were fairly nice, with soft beds and good bathroom facilities, as well as CNN and BBC on the tele. breakfast was fairly standard, with a good choice of fruits and breads. the hotel seems to cater to the business crowd, but if you're a tourist i would recommend staying far away. i stayed in longchamps earlier in the same trip and that hotel, while not near as 'pretty', has easy access to downtown and tourist sites, a much friendlier staff, free wifi, has good clean rooms, and has free wi-fi to boot. unless you're in cairo to hang out in the 'burbs, stay far away from novotel 6th of october.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dethman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Location...
The hotel itself is located far from nowhere in the middle of the desert. Takes around 1-3 hours to get from the hotel to the city center and the pyramids depending on the traffic. The next supermarked is 10min away (by car). Taxiprices offered in the hotel are more costly than in Germany. For a 10min trip to the supermarked they want to charge me 110 Egyptian Pounds (15Euros). Also taxis driving past charge the comparable price as they know that you are highly dependend on them.

Staff:
Service at the reception is very disappointing. As the previous reviewer reported they want first to get the creditcard. I have booked over Expedia and had already payed the room charge in advance (showed them the voucher). Nevertheless they want me to pay again, "they have not recieved any payment from Expedia,... I must leave the hotel when i don't pay". It was quite cold and uncomfortable outside in the desert at 2am in the morning so I signed the creditcard reciept. I am still waiting to get back the amount for the douplepayment. Unbelieveable.... Checkout... They charged me some amounts for bar visits (around 50 Euro) but I never visited the bar. I asked them to show me the signature on the reciept It was signed by an arabic person with an completely different name and signature. OK, they deleted the amount from my reciep... but no excuse. Instead they complained that I should not be so accurate (What????).

Rooms:
Rooms are quite new and therefor OK (for Egyptian Standard), Problem is that an airconditioning system of an industrial building just beside the hotel is extremely loud especially during night.
Bath is OK and view to the pool also.

Facilities:
Pool is OK and fitness center is also mostly OK.

Alltogether I rate the hotel with 2 Stars as the room and the Pool are OK.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dirk0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

cLEAN HOTEL NO SERIOUS PROBLEM.Far away from city center
of cairo.i suggest it only for silence and no cars noise.If someone want to see cairo day and night should go to center.Also the hotel is close(not away from the pyramids).If someone wants can use the gym but is small and have 2basic machine only.The exterior of hotel is nice and clean and the restaurunt too.Food very very good no stomach problems.I ate everything from milk-chicken and salad.Everything ok.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ZUZUNITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

It is probably a mistake to use this hotel. In the desert at the edge of 6th October City it is 20 km down the highway from the edge Cairo. It is also about a half hour car trip round the ring road to the Great Pyramids. However, the hotel has nothing to offer the tourist visitor apart from the outdoor pool and there is no nearby entertainment.

For the business visitor to be fair the hotel has the advantage of being the nearest hotel to 6th October City and Smart Village. However, the hotel services and menu will disappoint . You are better staying in Cairo City Centre and having a longer drive. You are going to need to hire a car and driver anyway.

I stayed here for several weeks on a project in early 2007 and wish I had taken my own advise and moved earlier. Like all servcies in Egypt the staff try hard, are pleasant to all guests and look for bakseesh - but the hotel is incapable of reliably supplying the services advertised (and normally provided by the brand).

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GordonBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

We have just returned from our second trip to Egypt but first time to Cairo. The Novotel 6 Ocotber City is a small hotel situated approx 30 mins from the Pyramids and 60 mins from centre of Cairo. Please don't be put off by the location as after a day at the pyramids or central Cairo it is wonderful to be able to relax, without any hazzle in a clean enviiroment and there is a free shuttle bus to downtown Cairo.

The hotel is modern, spotlessly clean with a good choice of food (although the bar is a little on the small side). The pool is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and towels The staff are very helpful but not all speak good English so be paitent.

6 October City is a relatively new development with building work going on around you. There isn't much to do around the hotel but we didn't come to Cairo to stay in a hotel room and there is so much to see and do you won't have time to stay in your room. We were absoluely exhausted after sightseeing all we wanted to do at the end of the day was crash out by the pool.

Cairo is a fascinating city and we loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank GailMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
15.8 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#24 of 138 in Cairo
759 reviews
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
28.7 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 138 in Cairo
1,553 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
24.9 mi away
Fairmont Heliopolis
Fairmont Heliopolis
#15 of 138 in Cairo
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo 6th Of October? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo 6th Of October

Address: Ext. 26th of July St., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $111 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo 6th Of October 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cairo 6th Of October is a 4 star hotel located in 6th of October City, 25 km from the centre of Cairo. Ideal for a business trip with its prime location in the centre of the business district and 680 sqm of conference rooms, the hotel is alsoan excellent base for holidaymakers with an outdoor swimming pool and easy access to all major points of interest. Enjoy our bar and restaurant and the convenience of onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Cairo 6th Of October reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo 6th Of October Hotel Cairo
Cairo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing