We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe hotel even during political turmoils”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Ranked #2 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A safe hotel even during political turmoils”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A fine hotel, at the same time one of the safest as the City Stars complex is well protected, and near the airport.
Connected to the mall, restaurants, convention center
Thus you do not need to get out of the area
Nice parking lot for your car if you use a car
Very close to the airport in case you have a flight.
Near to the Cairo main exhibition area

Room Tip: Regular rooms are larger than the special rooms for membership program, the only addition for such r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehab_Heikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCitystars_Mkg, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear ehab210,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments.

Our guest’s security is one of the most important keys to make the best possible guest experience.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback.

Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy

Executive Assistant Manager in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    323
    75
    32
    26
See reviews for
214
170
93
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel but already after a couple of years of operations is showing a few rough edges. The staff remain excellent, attentive and courteous. The pool shuts when you are not at work which is irritating and the gym has no rowing machine but... The facilities are very good and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. In a hot market it he Middle East it remains average but with a few bits of tidying up could be back up there soon (and judging by the hammering they are working on it day and night!)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCitystars_Mkg, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sagsma,

Thank you very much for takin the time to write about your experience at the InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Our guests’ feedback is one of our key drivers to improve our services. We believe that we can only develop, improve and ameliorate our services through your feedback.

Please note that I have shared your comments with all team members who appreciated it very much.

Would be great if you would let me know through the below email when you plan to vistit us next time so maybe we can meet for a drink.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy

Executive Assistant Manager in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 10 nights on business. Excellent location close to offices and very conveniently located next to shopping mall. Hotel neat with reasonably sized rooms and very good service. Breakfast vast to service most tastes. For dinner there are many restaurants in the hotel and alternatives in the mall.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jaco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCitystars_Mkg, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jaco B,

Thank you for sharing the comments of your stay on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy

Executive Assistant Manager in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service was outstanding, and the accomodations were excellent. The lobby of this hotel is spacious and oppulent, the food was delicious. My room was very modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel is very conveniently located close to the airport and the hotel will arrange transportation. In terms of airport pickups, they offer service to meet you at the gate or after baggage pickup. Getting through customs is extremely easy so unless you have a wheelchair meeting at the gate is not necessary. Those with a US passport pay $15 US cash at bank kiosks to purchase visa, just before customs.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify non-smoking room if desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCitystars_Mkg, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Fred F,

I would like to thank you for choosing InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

We are most appreciative of your acknowledgment about our services and products.

Once again, thank you for your sharing such great comments and for taking the time also for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy

Executive Assistant Manager in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I am a regular guest in intercontinental city stars, needless to say about the friendly staff who try to do their best to please you e.g. I got early to the health club and used the hydro pool and no one was there except me the cleaning boy of the pool wanted to go to the pool to rub the surface but I was in he didn't even show me any sign that he wants to clean and waited till I came out and wrapped the towel around me and stayed for a while he then asked me if I wanted to bathe again I told him no then he went to the pool to clean it and after two min. another guest came and wanted to bathe the boy quickly came out and waited for the guest to take his bath. Also the esplanade restaurant was very nice with very friendly staff. In short the staff is the secret in this hotel after the many stays I had there.

Room Tip: of course the best is the intercontinental residence suites with spacious studios viewing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drhodsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICCitystars_Mkg, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear drhodsh,

Thank you for loyalty at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

I am so delighted to know that our team has exceeded your expectations and that you were so satisfied by our service at the health club and Esplanade.

Your nice comments were shared with the concerned team members and they were appreciative.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy

Executive Assistant Manager in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a Standard Room; overall our experience was really good. We arrived early to the hotel & expected to wait but we were given a room instantly. No Pool View rooms were available so we choose mall view instead of the street. The room itself was nice, not very big but not small either. The room had no view, only the rooftop of the mall as expected. The room service menu looked nice with lots of options in it but we didn't try it. The Breakfast was okay, it was nice but not very special but it had lots of options. The Service in the hotel was Outstanding! Whenever we asked for anything we got it in minutes, everyone was so polite & the friendly. The rooms were cleaned up twice a day which is always nice. The atmosphere in the lobby was really charming; there was a jazz band that played in the lobby at night. We asked for late Check out and were granted it with no extra fees. One of the big advantages of this hotel is the access to the mall, we used to go back & forth between the two which was really nice.

Bottom line, if you are going to this hotel expecting proximity to the Historic sites in Egypt, it's not close and you will be wasting your time stuck in traffic. But if you are going to enjoy the pool, the hotel amenities and the City Stars mall then you are defiantly in the right place.

We really enjoyed our stay so I guess we will go back soon :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear NEmile,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing InterContinental Cairo Citystars for your recent vacation to Cairo.

We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and to see our guests coming again and enjoying their stay each time.

Your lovely comments were shared with all the team and they were thankful.

I am looking forward to welcoming you in person for your next stay at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Overall, me and my family had a grand time.

The hotel is very nice from the inside, clean and organized.
The staff are all cheerful and polite.
The service was pretty good but could've been slightly faster I believe.
The location beside the mall makes it a good place and easy to find a taxi
The kids enjoyed the pool very much despite the cold weather.
The housekeeping did a good job and I liked their early availability so they could do my room while I was having breakfast.
The TV channel variety was good
The bathroom was very good but as a Muslim, I didnt like the bidet and wouldve preferred a proper washer hose.
The breakfast was something that definitely needed to be improved.
The check in process was pretty quick, the lady's name was Iriny I believe and she was very helpful.
The bellboy, I believe his name was Mohamed, was very polite and cheerful.
The front office lady at the residence suites, Christina, was always helpful, patient and cheerful.
The checkout process was fast too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmed_azmy, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ACube,

Thank you so much for your useful and detailed feedback. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at the InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

We will most certainly share all your comments with the team and on behalf of the whole team, thank you for taking time to write about your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in Egypt.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Director of Rooms Division
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
7.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
7.0 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Citystars Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Property: InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Citystars Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Cairo Citystars is part of the Middle East s largest retail and entertainment complex, giving you direct access to 550 stores and an indoor theme park. The hotel is ideally located seven minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo.Named Cairo s best business hotel by Business Traveller Magazine, it is also close to free time destinations such as the Egyptian Museum, Sakkara and the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Citystars Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing