We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best place in Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heliopolis

Ranked #43 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My best place in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This part of Cairo was built in 1904 and from my point of view it is one of the last remaining great and spacious areas in Cairo. It battles to keep the old architecture and design which it had for over 100 years. it has wide streets and a lot of green areas and the building specially in Roxy are still the same.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Khaledmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ancient Heliopolis at El Matariyyah”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The site was closed when I visited in April 2013 so all I could see was the Obelisk from a distance. Apparently it contains an open air museum with statues, a reconstructed tomb and sarcophagi. It is very easy to get to, just take the Metro to Matariyyah and take the street directly opposite the station. Turn right at the end of the street and you will shortly see the Obelisk and entrance gate appear on your left. Or you can take a tuktuk directly from the station, ask for "masallah".

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
842 reviews
426 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nostalgic of Cairo's better days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

It all started more than a century ago. A Belgian baron, obsessed with trains, came to Egypt. Back then Cairo was one of the most beautiful cities in the world. So he decided to stay. He built a new city, quite a distance outside urban Cairo, and he called it Heliopolis, city of the sun. He built an electric tram system that is still working till this day, established an electricity company and built homes for his employees as well as an impressive palace for himself. He built such an impressive model city with hotels, shopping boulevards, gardens, cafes, clubs and hospitals that Egyptians referred to it as the new Egypt which is the name more commonly used nowadays, Masr El Gedida.

Heliopolis got absorbed into greater Cairo however its beautiful history can be seen and sensed all around. It still has a unique charm and its people seem somewhat different.

Helpful?
5 Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I adore it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I like the distrit and I adore it, I have spent all my life in this area since being born, school and university time and after being married

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Asedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxor
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shopping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I;m afraid the only reason that we went to Heliopolis was to find a certain shop to buy some dress material. When i got there i was so impressed with the buildings and people that i plan to return one day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heliopolis also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing