We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay...”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay...”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Longchamps is perfect for people who aren't into big impersonal chain hotels but are looking for more of a homely yet comfortable option. The guesthouse is located in a backstreet of Zamalek - a charming little area to explore in its own right. Our room was spacious and light, with what appeared to be a recently refurbished bathroom, the bed was comfortable, there was a balcony and the room was quiet. Hebba, the owner was friendly and helpful and obviously goes to great lengths to ensure the place runs smoothly. The public sitting areas were lovely and the breakfast was good. All in all, Longchamps ticked a lot of boxes for us. The only thing I would say that could improve the place even more is that in parts it is a bit dark. The place could do with a little brightening up - nothing a coat of some brighter colored paints wouldn't fix - more in line with the colors in the dining area. Mango and Cherry was what came to my mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
238
83
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I were walk-ins and stayed at the Longchamps for two nights in April 2014. Ms. Bakry, the owner, is very welcoming and accommodating. We immediately fell for the place thanks to her hospitality and professionalism. She also speaks four languages fluently: Arabic, English, French and German. The staff are very helpful and very polite, and don't interfere with your business.

We stayed in Room 5. It's a standard room with a king bed, a private spotless bathroom with a shower, and has access to a beautiful terrace that's shared with another room. Other rooms have baths so you can ask if that's what you want. Having Al-Jazeera English among other channels was very helpful given that my husband is a photojournalist. The room also has a small fridge, an AC, an electronic safe, and amazing WiFi service. Our room was very quiet, the bed very comfortable, and we slept like babies when we drew the curtains.

Breakfast is served between 7 am and 10 am, and is pretty good. They serve eggs, the traditional fava beans (foul), sausages, butter, jams, honey, fruits, different kinds of bread.. etc. Many delicious fresh juices are also served.

All in all, we loved the place and would highly recommend it to anyone.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When we tried to book online, the hotel always came up as fully booked. When we asked the owner about it after we got there, she clarified that she's NOT on Booking.com or any other similar online booking service. So we highly encourage people to email or call the hotel to make sure there are available rooms. Trust me, it will be worth your while.

Love from Lebanon

Room Tip: Call or email the hotel to book a room as it's not on any online booking service. It's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naziha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I feel so lucky to have found this hotel on TA!
I stayed here with two friends the first weekend in March at the end of our trip around Egypt. It was a nice touch of luxury after staying in B&B's. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, with a good size bathroom and powerful shower. We stayed in executive rooms and surprisingly, the only thing missing were tissues. There was an extensive continental breakfast in a lovely dining room and I really couldn't fault the place at all. In fact, I wished I had booked a longer stay.

The hotel is so quiet that it was hard to believe we were in Cairo. The roads are tree lined and there are plenty of local restaurants.

The staff were very professional and we met the owner, Ms Bakkri, briefly before she left on a trip. We found her to be extremely pleasant and very concerned that everything was satisfactory. I think that past comments about her have clearly been misunderstandings. As a regular visitor to Germany, I believe that she is the typical German hostess, efficient, direct and concerned about the comfort of her guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Longchamps, while vacationing in Egypt, in February of 2014. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is extremely helpful and always willing to answer any questions. Hebba, the owner of the hotel, runs a very tight ship, and it shows... everything was immaculately clean, even the floors of the outdoor terraces. I highly recommend the Hotel Longchamps. The hotel is conveniently located near many shops and restaurants, all withing walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelwild327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have been returning again and again to Hebba and her exceptional team who make everyone welcome. Quirky layout across the 5th floor, yummy breakfast, every room different. The faded grandeur of Zamalek is on your doorstep and there's lots of choice for places to eat. Hotel is elegant old style Egyptian plus something of a German connection (more than the French name suggests). Reception staff are so friendly. Airport pickup reliable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Given the press that Cairo receives internationally, it is nice to know that if you should find yourself in that city, there is a haven of peace and safety where you can turn. And it is affordable! Hebba runs an amazing hotel in Zamalek, which is a neighborhood that is itself an oasis of relative calm. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds. Some have views of the nearby apartment buildings, but there never was a noise issue from them. The breakfast was good, and the food-serving facilities were clean. Wi-fi worked well. We also had the management help book us a driver to take us out to the various pyramid sites and this was a good decision that helped keep us within our budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A cosy hotel in zamelek, nothing fancy but decent. Nice terraces on both sides of the floor. There are big differences in the quality of the rooms, some are renovated and nice, others are older and less nice. Owner of the hotel is very welcoming, but tends to interfere in her guests personal matters a bit too much!. Popular under Germans.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kri_Kri_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#42 of 138 in Cairo
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing