We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great hotel, helpful staff, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #20 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great hotel, helpful staff, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found this hotel to be very nice, the rooms were clean and well done. It was a 3/4* quality. the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. the staff was so incredibly helpful in writing down locations for us, helping us find taxis and making dinner reservations. The location was central enough, but in a neighborhood that felt safe. I would definitely stay here again if coming back to Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    146
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
236
80
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really laid back with decent rooms and a wonderful location in Zamalek.

The owner (a not so nice lady) has a serious attitude issue. One request she doesn't like and you'll wonder how anyone allows her to interface with a guest. Terrible arrogance.

Can't say the same about the staff though. They are all very helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fabulous stay - 10/10 Hotel Longchamps and so glad we chose to stay here.

Hotel is set in a quiet part of town with excellent rooms, very clean and tidy. Very full breakfast and all round great value. All the staff could not have helped more in making our stay a pleasant one and went over and above to help with safety and general advice.

Having stayed in hotels around the world, this is among the very best! Their attention to service and customer satisfaction is remarkable. If you are planning a trip to Cairo then chose to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert241056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A simple hotel, with very good service. Clean rooms and comfortable bed. The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood, being on an island. It has very quiet, quaint cobbled streets around.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellernot2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bon Aqua, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. The food was excellent. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Seeing the unrest now, I'm glad we went when we did. The city of Cairo does have an air quality issue, however. We coughed Egypt out of our lungs for two weeks after returning home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Longchamps is is a lovely, intimate, boutiquey-type hotel with very friendly service. Ideally located in Zamalek, all major Cairo attractions are within easy reach.

Email correspondence with the Longchamps was friendly, informative and rapid. The only disappointment was not being able to stay here for our two nights in Cairo as they were fully booked the first night - but it was worth moving to, and we were able to drop our bags off first thing in the morning before heading out for a day of sightseeing. When we returned, the bags were in our room and check-in took only a few minutes.

We really enjoyed strolling around this lovely area, which was safe and clean, and it was a lovely escape from the hustle bustle of Cairo - even though it is very central. (While we didn't use their airport transfer service due to logistics, the prices they offer are lower than any others I saw.)

Highly recommended for those who, like me, eschew the larger chain hotels and prefer smaller places with more character. Given the choice, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cairo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubakjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located in a posh neighborhood, this three star hotel has five star service. The rooms are clean, well appointed and quiet. The service in this quaint hotel is warm and personable yet very professional. Relax in the charming patio ( verandah) with a cool beer after a long day of sightseeing. This is the perfect home away from home. I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atiqazad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.8 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#7 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#41 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#11 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing