We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Longchamps for four nights, after holidaying in Morocco. Cairo is a busy hassle city and this hotel was a gift to the weary. The room was large for a double, with plenty of storage/hanging space. The bed was a good large double and the breakfasts were more than adequate.
The physical attributes of the place were a huge welcome from the riads of Morocco; but the service was special.
The desk staff were brilliant and assisted us at every turn.
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Check the location of the balcony areas before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 591 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Longchamps for 5 nights when we were visiting our daughter in Cairo. It is a quiet, clean and well located hotel in Zamalek, close to lots of cafes and restaurants. We stayed in one room for four nights and then later on our vacation, one night in another room. The first room was bigger a bit quieter, but the second room had a balcony.

Heba and her staff were always very helpful. We had airport pick up with no problems and assistance getting a cab when we left. We also took advantage of one of their tours (to Giza and Saqarra)...which meant basically that Heba got us a great driver.

Breakfast buffet was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently completed a weeklong stay at Longchamps, split into two visits. First part was in one of the newly renovated rooms (#15) which was luxurious compared to other stays in Cairo. Room #2, not renovated, wasn't nearly as nice, but still comfortable. The real treat with Longchamps is the service and proprietor. Hebba, the owner, is obviously concerned with her guests experience in Cairo and their safety. Always on top of the situation and very good at arranging for guests' needs. Breakfast is complete and filling. Anything you want is possible at nearly any time of day. Hebba would often help us to arrange special meals, drinks, travel etc. The hotel is also very well located in Zamalek, the tony (by Egyptian standards) neighborhood of Cairo situated on a large island in the Nile. This is the embassy area, so it is also relatively safe. There was some hoodlum activity on Zamalek during our stay, perhaps orchestrated by the former regime to cause instability. The Longchamps is almost unnoticeable from the street, and the immediate surroundings belie the quite hotel on the 5th floor. It is near Alpha Market, a great supermarket, near 26th of July Street for shopping and dining, and near the Marriot, another respite from the streets of Cairo. Price is super reasonable by US standards, but perhaps a bit high for Cairo - still, you get what you pay for and I found it well worth the cost, although I personally wasn't paying for the room. I think that if you are a US traveler used to visiting countries like Egypt or the Middle East, then this hotel would be preferable over the almost sterile environment of one of the US luxury hotels in the area (Marriot for instance) since it gets you closer to the people and city and also affords more personal attention and the chance to meet other travelers (many of whom will be German it seems).

Room Tip: If you can afford it and they are available, go for one of the renovated rooms (#15 or 16 would be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftirduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Encouraged by the favourable reviews and non-extortionate prices, my girlfriend and I booked an executive room at the Longchamps for our first trip to Cairo (and indeed, Egypt) earlier this month.

After days off enjoying the the sights and sounds of a insanely busy (but also safe, so fear not) city, the Longchamps provided a welcome respite of tranquility. The room was large and provided everything we needed - an empty fridge for stocking up on drinks or food to consume in between meals, a safe, a comfortable bed, and most importantly, a decent shower. The veranda area of the hotel was also a welcome touch, and a nice place to relax with a cold beer after a long day.

Buffet breakfast was good (if not outstanding - not a fan of the filter coffee on offer), with a wide range of options available to suit different tastes.

Thanks to the proprietress Hebba, who often checked in with us to find out how we were getting on, and who was happy to provide us with invaluable ad-hoc tips and advice about the city whenever we had questions about anything. She runs a tight ship at the Longchamps, with friendly staff who clearly have customer service at the forefront of their minds.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danslenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean and efficient hotel. Spacious room with toiletries provided. Loved the decor, has a quaint feel to it.

A good English/Egyptian breakfast - choices may seem limited compared to the buffet spreads in hotels, but quality wise we really liked what was available. Only thing is that you can't really hang around the breakfast room for long as it's quite small, the waiters will ask you to leave if you've finished, though they explain it's because there're more guests that will be coming for breakfast soon.

WIFI drops a little if you're in your room, depending on how far away you are from the Wifi source.

Very near to shops/fast food & eating places - which are more 'Western' in nature. As it's in a higher-end district, the shops don't sell very cheap stuff. There's also a money exchange shop and banks nearby to do exchanges if you need - try to use the banks if possible as the rates at the shop are really bad.

Very convenient place to stay if you'll be exploring places around Cairo area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Longchamps twice (July 2012 and February 2013) and I would highly recommend it to travelers seeking a quiet, centrally-located place to stay for a week or two. I stayed here as a solo female traveler and felt extremely safe at all hours. It's within walking distance of multiple nice restaurants, shops, banks, cafes, etc. There is no Metro stop nearby, but it's easy to grab a cheap taxi to Downtown or elsewhere in Cairo right outside the front door. If you are skittish about the current security situation in Egypt, then Zamalek is a good place to stay.

Hebba and her team are professional and very customer-service oriented. The hotel is popular place and does book to capacity, so I recommend making reservations in advance. I booked by email and received a prompt reply. The hotel also handled my airport pick-up seamlessly.

Longchamps may be a bit pricier than other similar pension-type hotels in Cairo, but I think the location and excellent customer service are worth it. It is also worth paying the small additional room charge to stay in the "front" part of the hotel where the rooms have been upgraded more recently. I have stayed in three different rooms in the hotel - two were very nice with double beds, a large bathroom (one with a tub, the other with only a shower), and a large desk. The third room (in the older section of the hotel) was fine for a night, but a bit too dark for my liking and the wifi didn't work. Because the older rooms are in need of an upgrade, I have only rated the hotel with 4 stars.

The breakfast is okay, but a bit overrated in my opinion (it's not particularly fresh or "home-cooked" and the coffee is terrible). I didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but did enjoy having a glass of wine on the leafy terrace after a long day of work.

Room Tip: Stay in the front section! Much nicer and wifi didn't work for me in the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the basic room, which had not been updated, but was very clean and had a terrace attached. The internet access was the fastest I got in Egypt, the staff very helpful with drivers for us and the neighborhood is great for wandering around, even in the evening. The breakfast is a nice buffet, and available early, which was helpful when we had to depart at 7 am. Our room was also very quiet, as it faced to the back.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 & 12, which shared a terrace and are basic rooms, not fully updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 141 in Cairo
605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Riad Hotel de charme
Le Riad Hotel de charme
#50 of 141 in Cairo
68 reviews
2 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#36 of 141 in Cairo
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#40 of 141 in Cairo
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $78 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing