We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An oasis of calm...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Encouraged by the favourable reviews and non-extortionate prices, my girlfriend and I booked an executive room at the Longchamps for our first trip to Cairo (and indeed, Egypt) earlier this month.

After days off enjoying the the sights and sounds of a insanely busy (but also safe, so fear not) city, the Longchamps provided a welcome respite of tranquility. The room was large and provided everything we needed - an empty fridge for stocking up on drinks or food to consume in between meals, a safe, a comfortable bed, and most importantly, a decent shower. The veranda area of the hotel was also a welcome touch, and a nice place to relax with a cold beer after a long day.

Buffet breakfast was good (if not outstanding - not a fan of the filter coffee on offer), with a wide range of options available to suit different tastes.

Thanks to the proprietress Hebba, who often checked in with us to find out how we were getting on, and who was happy to provide us with invaluable ad-hoc tips and advice about the city whenever we had questions about anything. She runs a tight ship at the Longchamps, with friendly staff who clearly have customer service at the forefront of their minds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danslenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    145
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
234
78
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean and efficient hotel. Spacious room with toiletries provided. Loved the decor, has a quaint feel to it.

A good English/Egyptian breakfast - choices may seem limited compared to the buffet spreads in hotels, but quality wise we really liked what was available. Only thing is that you can't really hang around the breakfast room for long as it's quite small, the waiters will ask you to leave if you've finished, though they explain it's because there're more guests that will be coming for breakfast soon.

WIFI drops a little if you're in your room, depending on how far away you are from the Wifi source.

Very near to shops/fast food & eating places - which are more 'Western' in nature. As it's in a higher-end district, the shops don't sell very cheap stuff. There's also a money exchange shop and banks nearby to do exchanges if you need - try to use the banks if possible as the rates at the shop are really bad.

Very convenient place to stay if you'll be exploring places around Cairo area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Longchamps twice (July 2012 and February 2013) and I would highly recommend it to travelers seeking a quiet, centrally-located place to stay for a week or two. I stayed here as a solo female traveler and felt extremely safe at all hours. It's within walking distance of multiple nice restaurants, shops, banks, cafes, etc. There is no Metro stop nearby, but it's easy to grab a cheap taxi to Downtown or elsewhere in Cairo right outside the front door. If you are skittish about the current security situation in Egypt, then Zamalek is a good place to stay.

Hebba and her team are professional and very customer-service oriented. The hotel is popular place and does book to capacity, so I recommend making reservations in advance. I booked by email and received a prompt reply. The hotel also handled my airport pick-up seamlessly.

Longchamps may be a bit pricier than other similar pension-type hotels in Cairo, but I think the location and excellent customer service are worth it. It is also worth paying the small additional room charge to stay in the "front" part of the hotel where the rooms have been upgraded more recently. I have stayed in three different rooms in the hotel - two were very nice with double beds, a large bathroom (one with a tub, the other with only a shower), and a large desk. The third room (in the older section of the hotel) was fine for a night, but a bit too dark for my liking and the wifi didn't work. Because the older rooms are in need of an upgrade, I have only rated the hotel with 4 stars.

The breakfast is okay, but a bit overrated in my opinion (it's not particularly fresh or "home-cooked" and the coffee is terrible). I didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but did enjoy having a glass of wine on the leafy terrace after a long day of work.

Room Tip: Stay in the front section! Much nicer and wifi didn't work for me in the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the basic room, which had not been updated, but was very clean and had a terrace attached. The internet access was the fastest I got in Egypt, the staff very helpful with drivers for us and the neighborhood is great for wandering around, even in the evening. The breakfast is a nice buffet, and available early, which was helpful when we had to depart at 7 am. Our room was also very quiet, as it faced to the back.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 & 12, which shared a terrace and are basic rooms, not fully updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

An efficient (German run!) hotel. Clean and friendly, in the centre of Cairo. And a good price ($79), with a good German/Egyptian breakfast. Free wifi, a nice terrace. It seems to be very popular, particularly with German visitors (no surprise there). We had to lodge in the less glamorous (but perfectly fine) Hotel Horus downstairs on several nights because the Longchamps was full. This still meant that we could use the communal rooms in the Longchamps and have breakfast there. Apparently it is cheaper to book the Horus rooms through the Longchamps ($55). Highly recommended when visiting Cairo. Beware of the traffic jams though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My Fiance and i stayed in Longchamps in December 2012 based on great reviews from Trip Adivisor.
Firstly we arrived a day late as my fiance was sick and unable to fly, so Longchamps only charged 50% rate that night, which i thought was nice as they didnt need to.
We also got the airport transfers and had a FABULOUS driver called Ferris. He was a local guy who had lived in Italy and was studying to be a Italian tour guide, but also spoke excellent English. He was super friendly and provided us general information on the drive back to the hotel. We then had him to a full day tour with us of the pyramids and he was great. Didn't go overboard on the history and just gave a good general understanding.

In terms of the hotel, it is certainly not 5 star, but the rooms are very clean and new and the location is fantastic. The area is filled with consulates and is quite leafy. we walked around one afternoon and felt very safe and its away from the hustle and bustle.

We would definitely recommend the hotel, and ask for Ferris as he is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenijohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

After reviewing tripadvisor reports extensively we finally decided on Longchamps - sharing other travellers experience is such a great help;
My husband and I (from Australia) stayed at Longchamps in February 2013.
I found Hebba and all the wonderful Longchamp's staff absolutely fantastic.
We had booked to stay 1 night and then a subsequent 4 nights, however 4 days prior to our planned arrival we received the delightful news that our daughter (currently living in London) was able to join us! In addition to meeting up with us she would require an additional night's accommodation - one email to Longchamps and all was sorted - although longchamps itself was completely booked out they sourced accommodation for the extra night in the same building at another facility and organised an upgrade for our stay to a triple room instead of a double.
The room was comfortably big enough for the 3 of us.
Longchamps was very clean.
The Hotel was close to great restaurants and we felt totally safe walking at all hours.
There is a restaurant on site which is also very helpful.
I read other reviews regarding the ground floor entry - but as this is not a part of Longchamps how can they be responsible for same. Longchamps is located on the 5th and 6th floors of the building. There is a lift going to the fifth floor.
We arrived at Longchamps after a 4 day desert safari so the shower and laundry facilities were our main priority on arrival - both of which Longchamps were able to meet the challenge.
The staff could not have been more helpful!! including assistance with late night tea and free Wi-Fi access. They all went out of their way to ensure we had the best stay possible.
Great close bye (walking distance) restaurants include; Chinese - Le Peking, Pizza - Maison Thomas, Egyptian - Abu el-Sid, Western slant - the Boulevard.
Great pastry, cupcake and sweet places within same walking area. Supermarket & Pharmacy 250m away.
This is truly a great find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.8 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing